General chat about the TF5800 and TF5810 PVRs, along with other European Topfield models, customer service, plus other Toppy issues not covered elsewhere

Moderators: General, Technical

Post Reply
PeterC
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 2:20 pm

Cycles through key presses

Post by PeterC »

Toppy starts up as usual but when I press any key it starts to cycle through options without stopping. It is as if the key on the controller is stuck. I have three controllers -- same effect with each.

I also have two Toppies one I use regularly and an older one that sits in the cupboard unused. So I tried switching the hard drives -- probably a mistake to not check first of all that the older one worked OK. Anyway unfortunately they now both show the same problem. Really mystified -- what is going on and how can I get things working again? I don't understand how both machines have got into the same state -- although i suppose it's my fault.

They are both TF5800PVR -- the older one has old style power connector. Mystuff 6.6 I think although I can't get any useful information from either of them at the moment because of the key-cycling problem. I use a SATA drive in the newer one and PATA in the old.

Thanks.
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Try booting tapless (hold down the zero key when powering up) and see what happens.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
PeterC
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 2:20 pm

Post by PeterC »

ccs wrote:Try booting tapless (hold down the zero key when powering up) and see what happens.
Thanks. It starts OK tapless but then pressing almost any key produces the cycling problem. For example pressing the V+ key once, it goes all the way up to max rapidly without stopping. Worse, pressing menu it flashes between showing the menu and not without stop. The only key that calms things down is >>, but then pressing any other key after that you get cycling again. Same with any of the 3 controllers
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Sounds like the front panel has developed a fault.

Are you saying both toppies have this problem, or both discs in the same toppy?
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
PeterC
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 2:20 pm

Post by PeterC »

ccs wrote:Sounds like the front panel has developed a fault.

Are you saying both toppies have this problem, or both discs in the same toppy?
Yes, I'm pretty sure I tried both disks in both Toppies (all 4 combinations) and found the same problem in each case. I'll be a bit more systematic and check again.

Thanks.
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Have all the capacitors in the toppy power supplies been changed? (and oi mean all)

If not, then this likely to be the cause of your problem (pm andyfras for details of his repair services)

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Another slight possibility is that something in the room is causing interference with the remote - even lcd tv's can be a problem.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

I think LED lights and/or a "wireless" phone can also cause problems.

Even if the caps are not the cause of this problem, they need to be replaced if they haven't already been done (and as a matter of urgency to prevent damage to other components and/or corruption of the disk.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
PeterC
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 2:20 pm

Post by PeterC »

Geoff Bacon wrote:Have all the capacitors in the toppy power supplies been changed? (and oi mean all)

If not, then this likely to be the cause of your problem (pm andyfras for details of his repair services)

Geoff
Thanks everyone:

I have two of the newer power supplies. One of them has AJF 7-9-12 marked on the bottom. I'm assuming this is andyfras's mark and he replaced them all then. The other one hasn't had any capacitors replaced. The older style power suppliy on the older toppy has no new capacitors either. Anyway, I get the same problem with all of them.

If I use the circular control disc and the menu button on the front of the boxes, I don't get this cycling effect, but there's not much you can do with the button and the control disc.

It's odd that both boxes and all 3 power supplies have the same problem. I suppose it could be the IR receiver failing on both boxes -- at the same time?
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 869
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

I can't see a mention of it in the thread. Have you considered that the remote may be the problem? Maybe it's sending repeated keypresses. Have you access to another remote to try?
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

First post says he tried 3 controllers (but perhaps not each time)

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
PeterC
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 2:20 pm

Post by PeterC »

YorkshireJumbo wrote:I can't see a mention of it in the thread. Have you considered that the remote may be the problem? Maybe it's sending repeated keypresses. Have you access to another remote to try?
Yes, I looked at the effect of controller key-pressing using the camera on my phone. Short press produces what appears to be a a singe pulse. Certainly not a continuous stream. All 3 controllers behave the same way.

I'm going to let this issue rest for a few days (probably a week) and come back to it then.

Thank you everyone for your interest.
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Just checking: are these proper toppy remotes?

Perhaps contact andyfras to see if he has seen anything like this

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

If all 3 remotes are in the room at the same time, it only takes one button to be stuck down for all the remotes to appear faulty.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
jorly
Frequent contributor
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:59 pm

Post by jorly »

Hi good to see site still exists, I’ve just had exactly the same problem and booting tapless has cured the mad scrolling so what’s the cure? if you want taps thanks
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -Ab+CwDeOtSlTdXl
TAPs: Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; (MyStuff 6.6); (Channel Organiser B2.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 26/9/15
?
Post Reply