Read about the latest site updates, feedback and support

Moderator: General

Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

It always used to work for me too.
I've tried all the board styles; they all have the same effect.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Very strange - it works as expected on my wife's computer ie it is something specific to my similar desktop but I can't think what (I haven't placed any restrictions on what the site pages can do).

I'll just have to live with it; Many thanks to those who gave suggestions

Geoff
testing
Last edited by Geoff Bacon on Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
jimi
Frequent contributor
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:25 am
Location: The Sunny Kingdom
Contact:

Post by jimi »

Browser specific perhaps ? I know I see differences between how Firefox & Chrome handle certain sites
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 16/12/20
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

It works ok in Edge!
In Google Chrome - add to a thread. On exit, the item is correctly starred. Read the post and exit it; refresh - the item is still starred.

Do the same in Edge and the item is no longer starred after reading the post and refreshing.
Then refreshing the Google Chrome browser, it still shows the thread as starred.

I'll just live with it cos there aren't a lot of posts nowadays (and I don't really want to switch to another browser)

Stay safe
Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
jimi
Frequent contributor
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:25 am
Location: The Sunny Kingdom
Contact:

Post by jimi »

Have you tried refreshing the page using Control + Shift + F5
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 16/12/20
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Yep (for those who don't know, this bypasses the cache when refreshing the page)

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
jimi
Frequent contributor
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:25 am
Location: The Sunny Kingdom
Contact:

Post by jimi »

I've had occasional problems with Chrome where I get stuck in a sort of login loop i.e. I go to a site (that I use regularly) enter my usename and password, click login and the page refreshes back to the same login page without logging me in.
When this happens sometimes Control + Shift + F5Control + Shift + F5 clears it, sometimes not.
Sometimes opening an incognito window and logging in there works, even after closing the window, sometimes not.
The only thing that seems to work consistently (but again not always) is Chrome menu/more tools/Clear browsing data and selecting cached images and files only
Very frustrating when it happens.
I tend to default to Firefox but also use Chrome regularly.
When I'm doing site/forum admin work I usually work in Firefox but have Chrome open to the same site (but not logged in) that way I can see how changes I make are working without continually logging out and in.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 16/12/20
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4669
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Thanks Jimi

Just started trying to use Edge as default browser.
Turned off Myfeed and the background.
This works ok for this site (it is based on Chrome) and also appears fractionally faster (perhaps they just blink the page to make you think something is happening?)

I'll switch back to Chrome if the need arises

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 869
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

I use Brave, which is built on Chromium with additional security options. It is obviously close to Chrome but without all the Google handles. Chrome extensions work, for instance. The red stars work as expected for me.
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2693
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Geoff Bacon wrote:Toppy2

Has a little red asterisk against unread posts
FWIW, tonight (using MS Edge), view latest post takes me to

https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewto ... iew=newest

which actually goes to

https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewto ... 464#274464

when it should have been

https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewto ... 472#274472
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Post Reply