For technical discussions, work-arounds and fixes - not for general moans

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

problems

Post by C Nile »

Sorry folks, but was busy trying the disk replacement idea and didn't receive the suggestions.
Anyway put in the 80gb laptop drive and was prompted to reformat as I expected so I did it, next step was the installation of channels which brought up the hundred plus, so then I installed mystuff and unplugged a couple of times.
When I plugged the unit back in up came the blue screens of what it was adding etc, and this time the un-compressing and re-compressing of the firmware went faultlessly, so then into TM and channel deletion which also was fine, so its now running for a while showing BBC 2 news, we'll see how it goes.
Will see if there is anything on the drive I took out later after lunch.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/9/20
â„¢
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

problems

Post by C Nile »

well within a couple of hours the system went from a screensaver I had set-up in MyStuff showing, to the basic native radio screensaver, and back to the native toppy menu, which showed a greyed out file list once more.
Am I to assume the mysuff app is loaded onto the hard drive and this is the reason it reverts to native when something causes the disk to "die".
Have sent a PM to andyfras to ask if he is willing to have a look at my toppy, before I go down the Humax or Manhattan route
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/9/20
â„¢
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

All MyStuff related stuff is on the HD, only exceptions are the firmware, channel tuning data (like a tv) and actual timers (which MyStuff creates) and probably one or two others,
and are stored in non volatile memory/ram or whatever it's called. :)
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

Problems

Post by C Nile »

Latest scan figures after Mr Fraser has done a bit of work to my toppy

Code: Select all

               Strength T1    Quality T1     Strength T2    Quality T2
  Channel      Min  Ave  Max  Min  Ave  Max  Min  Ave  Max  Min  Ave  Max
  47 (PSB1)     97   97   98  100  100  100   78   80   82  100  100  100
  44 (PSB2)    100  100  100  100  100  100   73   74   76   99   99  100
  36 (COM5)     89   90   95   95   96  100   62   62   64   93   93   95
  33 (COM4)     82   82   84   94   96   98   54   55   56   65   74   83
  48 (COM6)    100  100  100  100  100  100   86   87   89  100  100  100
I sent it to Andy because it seemed to have a mind of its own
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/9/20
â„¢
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Like you I'm on Emley Moor and am seeing the same problems with the same MUXes. I wonder if it's an ageing Toppy issue or a transmitter issue that the signals are bad on 33 and marginal on 36. A couple of recordings on the latter have been a bit flakey over the past few days - the quality comes and goes, I guess with the weather. All was fine till the rescan late last year. Now I cannot record or watch anything on 33 and have resorted to recording the HD versions on my youview box.
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
jimi
Frequent contributor
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:25 am
Location: The Sunny Kingdom
Contact:

Post by jimi »

My guess would be either an aerial/signal/transmitter problem rather than a Toppy tuner problem, 33 is terrible and 36 very marginal, they will give you problems. Is there no other repeater in the area you could try other than the main Emley Moor transmitter ?
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 16/12/20
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

I think it is, as I have the same problems on my youview box. At least that doesn't crash due to poor signals.

I suppose I could use another transmitter, but Emley Moor transmits Yorkshire programmes, whereas the only other one in range transmits 'North-East'. I could try using different transmitters for different MUXes, but I'm not sure they all transmit the same selection on each MUX.
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

problems

Post by C Nile »

Update:--
It has worked fine since its return, recording when required and everything seems to record even on the channels with lower strength.
One exception
If I am watching the TV channels and want to switch to the radio using the TV/RADIO button on the remote, all goes well, and vice versa as long as the screensaver is not active on the radio channel. Have tried various savers and even "no" saver and if any of them are running or displaying at the time of pressing the TV/radio button, it appears to sort of freeze the saver and insert a small picture in the top left corner of the frozen screen ( a bit like a miniature PinP effect ) and trying to get away from this screen causes a re-boot and the V F & F and we start up again as if nothing had happened.
As long as the screensaver is not active the button for changing between the radio and TV works as it should, and it always works fine going from the TV to radio, obviously because the TV does not have a screensaver mode.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/9/20
â„¢
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Screen saver is available for both tv and radio.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

Problems

Post by C Nile »

I know but never set one so that it interrupts whilst watching the TV
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/9/20
â„¢
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Screen saver on tv never gave me any problems, odd it happens on radio.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4662
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

@ C Nile

Have you tried the [M] Mystic Dreams patch?

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

problems

Post by C Nile »

So now its a month since Andy worked his magic on my toppy, and it seems to be fine. Works on all channels with no pixellation which was my real problem before the aerial man did his bit, followed by Andy doing his.
Its working with an old 160Gb SATA laptop drive at present. so I guess its time to dive in, and send Mr Bacon my 1Tb drive for his attention in the next few days. Once he has repaired my big drive, I will change over the drives and go from there.
Thanks to all for their help and suggestions.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/9/20
â„¢
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4662
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

pm sent
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

problems

Post by C Nile »

Last Friday I got a message on the TV telling me that Pick was moving to Ch 34 from Ch 11, so this morning i hooked the wifes laptop to the toppy and ran channel organiser to effect the swap, or so I thought.
A list of changes arrived in a panel at the bottom of the page telling me of the changes to channel layouts, but no mention of Pick, so I then noticed there was no Ch 34 in the list of changes OR in the newly loaded channels on my PVR, but I finalised the new set-up and left Top Manager.
My toppy now has no channel at position 11 at all, so I then decided to re-tune my TV, and even though the aerial is the same feed just daisy chained thro to the TV, my TV has 11 now as Sky arts and a blank screen ( probably cos I aint got Sky ) and ch34 is definitely Pick and working fine.
Anyone any ideas why the TV "sees" a channel on the same feed that the toppy doesn't.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/9/20
â„¢
Post Reply