For technical discussions, work-arounds and fixes - not for general moans

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

How to stop reboots due to corrupt file?

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

After my several reboots as documented here, my Toppy started randomly rebooting during use. It happened while watching live TV and while watching a recording. I have a backup of all crucial files and recordings, so rather than try and fix it late on Friday night before hoping to record the Rugby the following morning, I reformatted the hard drive. I'd previously copied across the whole of the ProgramFiles folder, so I simply copied it back after the format. All my searches and timers were still there, just none of the recordings. It will take me a while to copy them back :(

My question is if there was any other way to get around the reboots. One that has caught me out in the past is a corruption in an MS file. Even recovering a previous version from within MS doesn't work, so I have previously gone in with Antares and renamed the old files before copying new versions back in. This has worked before, but not this time. Is there anything else I could have tried before the "nuclear option"?
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

You obviously won't have any recordings after a reformat!

Did you mean that you had no recordings before you reformatted? If so, the file system was corrupted. This is typically caused by a poor quality signal (use TM PcControl| Measure Signals) and/or a failing power supply
Note: All quality values on each mux need to show 98, 99 or 100 (signal values can be much lower)

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Having owned a Toppy for 14 years, I'm quite well aware that formatting its (or any other) disk will remove any files stored on it. :roll: Hence why I backed up the ProgramFiles directory before doing the format and reinstalling it immediately afterwards.

I had a 1Tb disk nearly full of recordings, which was how I was able to watch one when it rebooted. I should have mentioned that I checked the file system and there was nothing major to report, though I did get an error about incorrect files being in the root directory, so something had gone amiss at some stage, but not necessarily last week. I'm 99% certain that the Toppy was rebooting due to something dodgy on the disk. And the fact that it's been 100% reliable since then (he says, touching wood), tends to suggest that I was correct. That's why I asked that specific question.

FWIW I haven't touched the connections and the signal strength now is fine as it has been for the past several years. I was watching the main BBC channel when it rebooted, and that has never been anything other than full quality for years since they turned off analogue. Normally it's set to ITV4+1 so that the disk will spin down if there's no activity. It sometimes comes up with a Toppy warning about that channel when tuned to it, but only because it's not sending any data - the quality is fine. The only MUX with poorer quality is the local one, but I make sure that none of the channels on there are available in MS by excluding them from my favourites files.
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Your corruption could have occurred when you were watching your "poor quality" local channel and only showed up later.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Indeed it might. And several other probable or improbable things might have caused it to fail. But the fact that it has been rock-solid for months and then started failing immediately after I mistakenly cycled the power several times makes it far, far more likely that the corruption occurred due to repeated cycling.

But whatever the cause, it still doesn't answer my question
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
Post Reply