For technical discussions, work-arounds and fixes - not for general moans

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
steve1000
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:41 pm

Cannot access archive

Post by steve1000 »

Can anyone help please?
When I turn on my 5800 I get a window come up saying "WARNING. ALL DATA WILL BE LOST! Proceed with Format?" Then either OK or CANCEL. I've always cancelled! But then I cannot access the recordings archive. I can still programme for record but don't know if anything is actually recording.
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Have the PSU capacitors ever been replaced? If not, they need to be now. Leave it unplugged from the mains until the PSU is repaired.

See: http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19103

The disk has probably been corrupted by a failing power supply. Do not say Yes to a reformat, the corruption can probably be fixed by connecting the disk to a PC running TopfHDRW.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
steve1000
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:41 pm

Post by steve1000 »

Turbosat repaired the 5800 in August 2010 - "fully re work psu" plus they loaded 5.13.65N firmware.
Unfortunately I have no knowledge of electronics. Is there someone [near Guildford] prepared to look at it, or is it better to take it back to Turbosat?
albertd
Frequent contributor
Posts: 588
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:07 am

Post by albertd »

steve1000 wrote:Is there someone [near Guildford] prepared to look at it, or is it better to take it back to Turbosat?
Yes, very near. Andy is at Fleet and is good at it.
Now toppyless. 2/4/2018
steve1000
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:41 pm

Post by steve1000 »

Andy, could I bring the PVR down to you in Fleet please? Any idea how much it would cost at this stage?
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Turbosat only did the minimum they could get away with - now you need to change all of the capacitors.

Best thing to do is to PM andyfras, who did mine a while ago. Search for a user called andyfras and click on the PM button.
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

Andy posted on this topic here (2nd post).
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Hadn't noticed that :oops:
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
Post Reply