For technical discussions, work-arounds and fixes - not for general moans

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
mw2510
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:48 pm

5810 started playing about

Post by mw2510 »

hi everyone. I was hoping I would be able to get some advise about my 5810. it has been unresponsive to the remote for several months now and I have lived with it, on Monday it suddenly lost all channels and had to be retuned. on Tuesday it refused to record, does this sound like the caps need replacing? thanks in advance,
mark.
p.s it is 4.5 years old now.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R0
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 22/8/14
?
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Sounds like you should have changed the caps last weekend.

Get them changed asap, and don't switch the toppy on again until you have.

Andyfras can supply a kit, or do the job for you for a very reasonable price.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

See Toppy Repairs for more info.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

5810 probs

Post by C Nile »

Sorry if this is the wrong place, but noticed the 5810 link on the page. My problem is that even though my 5810 has worked great for years, and has been as good as new since a set of caps was replaced app 16 months ago obtained from Andyfras, I foolishly decided to do a Freeview re-scan last Friday, And since then it don't do a thing. The usual VFF comes on and after that finishes, the remote wont operate the unit, even though I can notice a flashing segment adjacent to the channel numbers position. ( batteries were changed with no effect ).In case of a corrupt tap, the unit was also re-booted with 0 held on the remote, but no change to my circumstances. Help me please
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

5810 probs

Post by C Nile »

Sorry if this is the wrong place, but noticed the 5810 link on the page. My problem is that even though my 5810 has worked great for years, and has been as good as new since a set of caps was replaced app 16 months ago obtained from Andyfras, I foolishly decided to do a Freeview re-scan last Friday, And since then it don't do a thing. The usual VFF comes on and after that finishes, the remote wont operate the unit, even though I can notice a flashing segment adjacent to the channel numbers position. ( batteries were changed with no effect ).In case of a corrupt tap, the unit was also re-booted with 0 held on the remote, but no change to my circumstances. Help me please
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

I suggest that you disconnect the HDD to see if your Toppy works OK as receiver. If it works, a factory reset and retune would be a good idea. It may also be worth manually deleting some of the unwanted channels at this stage.

If possible, connect the disk to a PC running TopfHDRW, which will hopefully sort out any corruption.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
C Nile
Regular contributor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Doncaster

Me 5810

Post by C Nile »

Once again Andy, thanks for the assistance.
As suggested I disconnected the Hdd, and powered up the unit and everything worked OK. It was then I found that I had at least 3 or 4 versions of each station, probably making the system "hang" due to 3-400 channels being available. I then manually deleted the duplicates of Tv and Radio stations and all the junk associated with them. Once the unit seemed to function as it should, I powered off, reconnected the Hdd, and restarted.
Back to square one, unit working great, so thanks for your help.
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

On all Toppies it's vital to do a factory reset to clear old channels before standard retuning, as the Toppy does not do this itself.

Top Manager and Channel Organiser clear the channels first before retuning, so these are the recommended method. They are also the best way to ensure that only a single transmitter is scanned too.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

@C Nile

As you have found, manually scanning of channels is error prone (as is manually deleting channels when more than one transmitter is present).

Please post the output of the MyInfo tap so that we can check your configuration is now correct.

For future scans, you should use TM or CO as these eliminate most problems. They are also much much much easier than doing it manually.

Note: TM can also set up a forum signature for you.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
Post Reply