For technical discussions, work-arounds and fixes - not for general moans

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

MarkPax
Frequent contributor
Posts: 520
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:56 am

Toppy can't see HDD, not PSU

Post by MarkPax »

Hi, main toppy can't see its HDD. It just shows live TV. "record" and "format HDD" options greyed out in the native menu. Apparently not the PSU:- I tried swapping in the PSU from my spare, known good, Toppy & still no dice. Similarly I swapped the "bad" disk to the spare Toppy and the problem goes with the disk.

Disk makes all the right spinny noises.

I've tried leaving unplugged overnight & a factory reset, nothing changes.

Needless to say laptop software (TopManager, MacTF) can't see it either

Thanks for any help

Mark
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PeR0UUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; TommyFF v2.1; BlankStuff v2.5; MyInfo B5.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; TF5000 Display v1.53;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/5/11
shenson
Frequent contributor
Posts: 572
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:41 pm
Contact:

Post by shenson »

Is it set up as master?
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm+EvEzMPeUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TAP Commander 1.34; UK Subtitle 1.9;
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

I guessing that the disk is physically knackered (I'm assuming that if it was just the file system, the toppy would offer to reformat it - but I could be wrong!).

You could try connecting it to a pc and using TopfHDRW to see if it can read it (unless you have one already, you will need to get something like the adapter that I used)

If TopfHDRW won't read the disk then you just need to forget what is on it and source a replacement disk. Make sure you read https://sites.google.com/site/juwlztopp ... hard-drive

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
MarkPax
Frequent contributor
Posts: 520
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:56 am

Post by MarkPax »

Yes I think the drive is toast, the problem goes with the drive, neither Toppy can see the drive at all. Haven't got a caddy or a desktop. Ordered a new drive from eBay, hope that fixes it.

We had lots of power cuts during the storms, I bet those fried it.

cheers
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PeR0UUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; TommyFF v2.1; BlankStuff v2.5; MyInfo B5.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; TF5000 Display v1.53;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/5/11
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Please don't install a new disk into a Toppy unless the PSU capacitors have been repaced. The failing PSU may have caused the disk to fail, and will probably do the same to a new disk..
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Geoff Bacon wrote:You could try connecting it to a pc and using TopfHDRW to see if it can read it (unless you have one already, you will need to get something like the adapter that I used)
...but don't pay £96 !
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

I think I paid around £6; the £96 price is probably just the supplier keeping the listing but changing the price because he is out of stock,

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
MarkPax
Frequent contributor
Posts: 520
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:56 am

Post by MarkPax »

andyfras wrote:Please don't install a new disk into a Toppy unless the PSU capacitors have been repaced. The failing PSU may have caused the disk to fail, and will probably do the same to a new disk..
Yeah you are probably right, the voltages are all within a couple of % of your nominal values but belt & braces I suppose. I'll install the new disk, check it works, then decide whether I need to just send you the PSU or the whole Toppy for major surgery. Watch out for an email.
cheers
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PeR0UUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; TommyFF v2.1; BlankStuff v2.5; MyInfo B5.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; TF5000 Display v1.53;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/5/11
MarkPax
Frequent contributor
Posts: 520
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:56 am

Post by MarkPax »

Yep new disk formats & works fine. I got a like for like WD2500AVJB off eBay for £24. In fact I've just ordered another one, too cheap to refuse. PSU service time now.

Thanks all
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PeR0UUuWfZ
TAPs: TAP Commander 1.34; TommyFF v2.1; BlankStuff v2.5; MyInfo B5.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; TF5000 Display v1.53;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/5/11
jleverto
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:12 pm

Post by jleverto »

Seems I have the same problem.
Toppy boots but all disc/record options greyed out....
Any way of checking the state of the Toppy and knowing whether another visit to andyfras is required/worth it? Or do I need to start looking into HD PVR options?
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

jleverto wrote:Any way of checking the state of the Toppy and knowing whether another visit to andyfras is required/worth it?
If your forum join date is any indication of the the age of your Toppy, and if the PSU capacitors have not been changed, that is definitely the first thing to try. With luck your disk may be OK once the PSU is fixed.

If you have a multi-meter, you could check the voltages to confirm, but if the capacitors have not yet been changed, some have definitely failed by now.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

jleverto wrote:Any way of checking the state of the Toppy and knowing whether another visit to andyfras is required/worth it?
Not without opening it up and investigating with a multimeter. See Toppy Repairs

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
jleverto
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:12 pm

Post by jleverto »

andyfras wrote:
jleverto wrote:Any way of checking the state of the Toppy and knowing whether another visit to andyfras is required/worth it?
If your forum join date is any indication of the the age of your Toppy, and if the PSU capacitors have not been changed, that is definitely the first thing to try. With luck your disk may be OK once the PSU is fixed.

If you have a multi-meter, you could check the voltages to confirm, but if the capacitors have not yet been changed, some have definitely failed by now.
Hi Andy - you've seen this Toppy twice before, in 2010 and 2012. First time the disc had it's boot records corrupted by the capacitors, which you changed. Second time, the front panel had failed and you spotted some dodgy capacitors and changed them too....
Could be capacitors again, but sounds a bit less likely this time...
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

jleverto wrote:Could be capacitors again, but sounds a bit less likely this time...
Very unlikely - I've never had to change them a second time.

In that case, it is probably disk corruption or failure. You will need to remove the disk and connect it to a PC running TopfHDRW/Doctor. This may fix the corruption with no, or little, loss of recordings. If not, the disk hardware has probably failed.

http://www.topfield.cc/files/Firebird/T ... _Setup.zip
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
jleverto
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:12 pm

Post by jleverto »

andyfras wrote:
jleverto wrote:Could be capacitors again, but sounds a bit less likely this time...
Very unlikely - I've never had to change them a second time.

In that case, it is probably disk corruption or failure. You will need to remove the disk and connect it to a PC running TopfHDRW/Doctor. This may fix the corruption with no, or little, loss of recordings. If not, the disk hardware has probably failed.

http://www.topfield.cc/files/Firebird/T ... _Setup.zip
Thanks Andy - I'll look into that.... Time to investigate turning my NAS into a PVR, I think...
Post Reply