How to link your Toppy to a PC or Mac; networking your Toppy, Web-based EPG systems, DVD burning and file transfers

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
jumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4731
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:25 pm

Post by jumbo »

birdman wrote:
jumbo wrote:You can use any Linux-based gizmo for which you can compile ftpd-topfield, have a spare USB slot available (to connect to the Toppy) and of course a driver for Toppy USB - if needed.
ftpd-topfield is the driver. It just talks to the USB device (as does puppy).
I meant the lower level hardware or device driver that enables the Toppy USB to be seen by lsusb, for example!
adrianlodge
Regular contributor
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 11:51 am

Post by adrianlodge »

I think I may have got the wrong end of the stick with regard to networking.

What I was wanting to do was to play video files that are stored on a server (Windows Home Server 2011) on the Toppy. That is, access files on a server from the Toppy. Is this at all possible?

thanks
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -PeXl
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.5; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 1/9/12
?
birdman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1765
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:03 pm
Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath

Post by birdman »

jumbo wrote:I meant the lower level hardware or device driver that enables the Toppy USB to be seen by lsusb, for example!
There isn't one. It's on the USB bus. That's it.
There is a user-level library (libusb) to talk to USB devices.

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
biggsd
Regular contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 10:56 am

Post by biggsd »

@narrowgauge -
In case anyone else wants to do it, and more and more TVs are coming on the market with an ethernet port, the trick is to change the extended mode setting from station to ethernet bridge in the wireless/advanced settings on the Asus.
Wow! Thanks for the tip! My Blu-Ray player is now hooked up to t'internet, much to the squabbling delight(?) of the family.
Presumably it becomes self-aware tomorrow and become another small element in Skynet...
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 13.65AbBfBqBrC0CeCfCkCtCwCyDeDsEcEfErEsFGmHHeIKtMhNfOtPPcPfRRaReRhRpRsSSdSlSrStSyT2TdTfTsWfXpXw
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub v0.6; UK Auto Scheduler v0.73.1; EPGnavigator 6.0.5; MyInfo B4.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/9/09
Tinpusher
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:28 pm
Location: Yorkshire

Post by Tinpusher »

jumbo wrote:You can use any Linux-based gizmo for which you can compile ftpd-topfield, have a spare USB slot available (to connect to the Toppy) and of course a driver for Toppy USB - if needed. The PogoPlug has been successfully used. Of course the Asus (three models) are tried-n-tested and consequently easier than most to setup.
Do you think, then, that it would be possible to set up a NAS box (e.g., QNAP TS-410), with the Toppy plugged into its USB port, to do the same job as the Asus?
birdman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1765
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:03 pm
Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath

Post by birdman »

Tinpusher wrote:Do you think, then, that it would be possible to set up a NAS box (e.g., QNAP TS-410), with the Toppy plugged into its USB port, to do the same job as the Asus?
I'd expect so - provided you can login to a command line.

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
Post Reply