How to link your Toppy to a PC or Mac; networking your Toppy, Web-based EPG systems, DVD burning and file transfers

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
wjohnm
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 7:08 pm

Windows 10 Altair Antares and z4t problem

Post by wjohnm »

Hi All, good to be back after 13 years, lost login if I had one so now on current email.
All been working well but getting noisy and full so thought better consider a new disk, that will be another question later after going through the great long list of advice.
Problem here is that my computer with Altair died some time ago. Having tried all the links from here to find Altair
Topfield sites dead
Google driver download etc sites when checked all indicate either viruses or spyware.
Thanks to qubits and http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17286
So took risk of Antares, but could not install the needed z4t on my Dell XPS13, however no way to allow it to install even using the forum advice as per the link above
(DisableDriverSignatureEnforcement)
I had to dig out an old Futisu laptop that struggles to do much and had dead keys!
Anyway it all worked well on that, however every time the computer reboots it needs z4t driver rerun, having disabled enforcement. It does force these windows updates although can be delayed a few times, but it took me nearly 3 days to backup, with all the jamming and locking of the PC.

Anyone found any other way of copying files as I need to use a more modern PC before the old one totally gives up.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/5/20
â„¢
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

I've only once had to reinstall z4t on my Windows 10 pc so there must be something funny about your setup i.e. there is no requirement to install z4t each time you want to connect.

What version of windows are you using?

Re the disk noise: are you sure it is the disk? Try touching the toppy case to see if the noise stops (sometimes, it is just the position of the toppy on what it is standing and the noise can be reduced by using felt pads or similar).

Obviously, if the disk is full then you either need a bigger disk or need to delete some files.

Have all the capacitors in the psu been changed?

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
wjohnm
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 7:08 pm

Post by wjohnm »

Geoff,
I guessed the disk as it starts quiet, then gets more noisy, and as it is 15 years old may be time, hence may get new disc, and would help with size, but looks a bit complex with PATA/SATA issues.
It maybe the Fujitsu Win10 had not been updated for 6 months so the update updated all the drivers including z4t (whatever that changes)
None of the capacitors have been changed, didn't even know that was an issue, so must look to see if I can do that.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/5/20
â„¢
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Your capacitors are a must. Contacy andyfras for details of his replacement services (board swap, replace caps or a kit to replace your own).

It probably was about 6 months ago that Microsoft did a major update that required z4t to be reloaded; it has been fine since.

We have no idea what you are running on the toppy so I suggest you post your "MyInfo Log.dat" file (the easiest way is to use TopManager | Display and cut and paste)

Might also be useful to run \ProgramFiles\Utilities\fsCheck and post the results in the fsCheck Reports thread
This will show the state of the disk.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
wjohnm
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 7:08 pm

Post by wjohnm »

Geoff Bacon wrote:Your capacitors are a must. Contacy andyfras for details of his replacement services (board swap, replace caps or a kit to replace your own).

It probably was about 6 months ago that Microsoft did a major update that required z4t to be reloaded; it has been fine since.

We have no idea what you are running on the toppy so I suggest you post your "MyInfo Log.dat" file (the easiest way is to use TopManager | Display and cut and paste)

Might also be useful to run \ProgramFiles\Utilities\fsCheck and post the results in the fsCheck Reports thread
This will show the state of the disk.
Possibly it was 6mths ago so maybe that explains it.
Only running 2 TAPs EPGNavigator 5.10 QuickJump 1.72
Although looking at my backup files I obviously tried a few others.
I must look into TopManager etc, and firmware but have been inclined to let sleeping dogs lie, or working Toppy work.
It has been a good machine for longer than my Pace twin.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/5/20
â„¢
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

wjohnm wrote:None of the capacitors have been changed, didn't even know that was an issue, so must look to see if I can do that.
https://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19103
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Post Reply