How to link your Toppy to a PC or Mac; networking your Toppy, Web-based EPG systems, DVD burning and file transfers

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Have you tried reinstalling Antares? (I've read through the thread but can't see if you have done this).

The fact that TM can access the toppy indicates that there is nothing wrong with the driver.

Note: TM uses the predefined Embarcado TPrinter unit, i.e. not something I wrote, and this requires a printer to be defined. If you don't have a physical printer you can define, try installing CutePDF (this allows you to send printer output to a PDF file). You should be able to close TM normally once a printer is defined.

Note 2: Z4t includes both 32 and 64 bit drivers; the installation kit installs the appropriate one for your system. TM is 32 bit only but as far as I am aware, can communicate with whichever driver is installed on the system. As you had 64 bits originally, I would expect that both your driver and Anatares will be 64 bit. One possibility, although I don't know how, is that your version of Antares won't work with the installed driver.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Re: Antares and Windows 10

Post by ccs »

Poppa Mintin wrote:I've been using Antares for a few years now without a hint of a problem.

That's with OS Win.7, 64bit... I've been trying for a couple of hours now to get it to work with Win. 10. (Still 64.bit).
Have you upgraded your win7 pc to 10, or are you using a different pc?

The run time libraries for C++ and .NET appear to have changed.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
fhjones
Frequent contributor
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:59 am

Post by fhjones »

Post deleted.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +UUu
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 12/1/21
â„¢
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

I was expecting Toppy communication problems after upgrading my Eee to Win 10 from Win 7 (32), but it went without a hitch.

I installed Z4t and was asked to confirm installing a non-signed driver. Antares then worked with no problems. I have also successfully used Altair, Top Manager and TopfHDRW (run as administrator). I've not yet tried TFDN_USB.exe - I suspect that it won't work with Z4t drivers, as on my previous XP laptop, it would only work on one of the USB ports (presumably using an original Topfield driver).
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

andyfras wrote: I've not yet tried TFDN_USB.exe - I suspect that it won't work with Z4t drivers, as on my previous XP laptop
An up-to-date Antares replaces TFDN_USB - it has the same functionality.
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Ah yes, I'd forgotten that; I've never tried it.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

andyfras wrote:Ah yes, I'd forgotten that; I've never tried it.
For info only:
http://www.admac.myzen.co.uk/EmptySettings/
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Thanks Alan; that's saved me a search. :D
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
arrow57
Regular contributor
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 8:33 pm

file transfer from TF5800 to PC or Mac

Post by arrow57 »

Hi Andy
I am trying to transfer recordings from my TF5800 onto my mac mini or MacBook pro or windows 10 laptop, so far many hours have resulted in Zilch.
Is it possible to to do this, I cannot connect my 5800 onto the wifi or via a cable. I think I maybe doing something utterly silly in a numpty kind of way so any help would be appreciated and lead once more to marital harmony.

Regards
Arrow57
alan_m wrote:
andyfras wrote:Ah yes, I'd forgotten that; I've never tried it.
For info only:
http://www.admac.myzen.co.uk/EmptySettings/
arrow57
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Re: file transfer from TF5800 to PC or Mac

Post by alan_m »

arrow57 wrote:Hi Andy
I am trying to transfer recordings from my TF5800 onto my mac mini or MacBook pro or windows 10 laptop, so far many hours have resulted in Zilch.
Is it possible to to do this, I cannot connect my 5800 onto the wifi or via a cable. I think I maybe doing something utterly silly in a numpty kind of way so any help would be appreciated and lead once more to marital harmony.
Forget Mac mini or Macbook pro. Use your windows 10 PC/Laptop.

First download and install the usb drivers Z4t

http://haselgrove.id.au/antares/z4t.html

Next download and install on your Win10 PC/Laptop the Antares program
http://haselgrove.id.au/antares/

You now need to directly connect your windows 10 Pc/laptop to the Toppy via a USB to USB cable. You will need a USB A to USB B cable, as used also to connect PCs directly to many printers. Be aware that anything approaching 5 metres in length could be very unreliable so don't go too mad on length.

When you now start up Antares one window pane will be your PC and the other will be the hard disk on the Toppy. You can then copy files in both directions.

Note:
In the Antares web page - Download and installation - Installation procedure:
you can probably ignore steps 1 and 2 as these will probably already be on your win10 computer. Step 4 is the z4t installl.
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
arrow57
Regular contributor
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 8:33 pm

Post by arrow57 »

Hi Andy
as ever the case your advice is spot on, I did exactly what you suggested and yippeee I now have total control of my Toppy instead of it controlling me. I can now get to work on releasing 92% of the disk space by transferring "stuff" onto my windows laptop.
Household peace ensues, many thanks.
Arrow57
arrow57
Post Reply