How to link your Toppy to a PC or Mac; networking your Toppy, Web-based EPG systems, DVD burning and file transfers

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
jumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4731
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:25 pm

Post by jumbo »

Get V4 here for $95. A bit steep!
Doct0r
Frequent contributor
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: Birmingham

Post by Doct0r »

I've tried MHEG Streamclip, pretty fast conversion but I've got to find the correct codecs (vanilla laptop, still got to put all the programs on it I want). Will the K-Lite series of codecs provide the necessary ones or is there another complete package which will do the honours.

BTW, I used QuickTime Alternative (v1.81 then upgraded to latest 3.22). That gives you the necessary mheg codec (and weirdly QuickTime Pro information). When I find time (never enough in the day) I'll see if it works, has the correct sync rather than buying VideoReDo.
TF5810, , F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R2UUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/5/11
?
ryclark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: Shropshire

Post by ryclark »

Get V4 here for $95. A bit steep!
Perhaps a bit but V3 TVSuite is now $74.99 so it is only $20 more for the addition of HD H264 support.

I'll compare that with how much I paid for the upgrade when I get home this evening.
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
Doct0r
Frequent contributor
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: Birmingham

Post by Doct0r »

I'm running the trial of VideoReDo and it's easy as pie. One concern, the running time is not correct. It believes a one hour program is fifteen minutes or less. I've got to find time to watch an hour to make sure it plays back correctly but something is hinky.
TF5810, , F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R2UUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/5/11
?
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Some trial software only allows a limited amount of conversion time.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Doct0r
Frequent contributor
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: Birmingham

Post by Doct0r »

This is meant to allow full software but just for 15 days to test it out.

The size on disk is correct for an hour's worth but run in media player, it doesn't show the correct time. When edited in VideoReDo, it shows the full hour (or just slightly less). It's only going to become an issue if I burn it to DVD and find it doesn't play back properly.
TF5810, , F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R2UUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/5/11
?
ryclark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: Shropshire

Post by ryclark »

From VideoRedo site:
If you want to remove the 15 minute limitation request a trial key either from help menu or the pop-up screen
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

I have the full version of VRD4 and have no problems with time shown or actual.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -CpFm+C0EgIPeUUsUuUyVyWf
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.5; MHEG Control B2; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 24/5/11
David Herrick
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:05 pm

Post by David Herrick »

Hi,

I've had a Toppy for years, but have only just got around to trying to transfer a programme to DVD, following the Mpeg Streamclip / DVDStyler guide document. The programme was from BBC 2 and was about 3 hours long clocking in at just over 4GB. It was a very easy document to follow and I successfully made a DVD but there's a doubt in my mind as to whether the programme was reencoded or not as to my eye there are noticeably more MPEG artefacts when I play it back from the DVD compared to playing it back from the Toppy direct. On the other hand, it only took DVD Styler about 45 minutes to create the DVD which suggests to me that it wasn't reencoded. I would say that the majority of the time (over 30 minutes) was taken up with this stage from the log:

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Seems stream 0 codec frame rate differs from container frame rate: 50.00 (50/1) -> 25.00 (25/1)
Input #0, mpeg, from 'C:\Documents and Settings\David\My Documents\Toppy\TestProg.mpg':
Duration: 03:08:54.24, start: 1.000000, bitrate: 2605 kb/s
Stream #0.0[0x1e0]: Video: mpeg2video, yuv420p, 720x576 [PAR 64:45 DAR 16:9], 15000 kb/s, 25 fps, 25 tbr, 90k tbn, 50 tbc
Stream #0.1[0x1c0]: Audio: mp2, 48000 Hz, 2 channels, s16, 256 kb/s
Output #0, mpeg2video, to 'C:\Temp\dvd-cache\entry001.vob.m2v':
Metadata:
encoder : Lavf52.61.0
Stream #0.0: Video: mpeg2video, yuv420p, 720x576 [PAR 4:1 DAR 5:1], q=2-31, 15000 kb/s, 90k tbn, 25 tbc
Output #1, mp2, to 'C:\Temp\dvd-cache\entry001.vob.audio0':
Metadata:
encoder : Lavf52.61.0
Stream #1.0: Audio: mp2, 48000 Hz, 2 channels, 256 kb/s
Stream mapping:
Stream #0.0 -> #0.0
Stream #0.1 -> #1.0
frame= 339 fps= 0 q=-1.0 size= 6375kB time=13.19 bitrate=3959.9kbits/s
frame= 556 fps=547 q=-1.0 size= 10003kB time=21.68 bitrate=3779.0kbits/s
frame= 761 fps=502 q=-1.0 size= 13009kB time=30.08 bitrate=3542.4kbits/s
frame= 1000 fps=496 q=-1.0 size= 16773kB time=39.59 bitrate=3470.9kbits/s

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

with hundreds of the lines starting "frame=" being generated. Does this indicate reencoding or not?

I was also concerned that the lines "Stream #0.0 -> #0.0" & "Stream #0.1 -> #1.0" were in red - making me wonder if something was wrong and wondered whether "Seems stream 0 codec frame rate differs from container frame rate: 50.00 (50/1) -> 25.00 (25/1)" was an indication of something being wrong.

I would be very grateful if anyone was able to clarify any of this for me.

Thanks,

David
Black Cloud
Frequent contributor
Posts: 300
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:03 pm

Post by Black Cloud »

I can confirm that it is normal to see more artifacts after transfer to DVD, even though re-encoding has not taken place.

My theory for this is that either the Toppy has an anti-mosquito noise filter built in, or the video output of the Toppy is softened a little.

Meanwhile, transfers by USB to DVD remove none of the detail and none of the noise, so all the grot associated with low bandwidth mpeg2 gets through. Then you play it from a DVD player which removes no grot because it expects DVDs to be pristinely clean, and you get the full force of Freeview in yer face.
HW: TF5800 Black Panther 1.5TB. FW: 5.13.65 Patched
SW: TAP Commander 1.32, Goldfish 0.5, Font Manager 1.0d, SecCache v0.4, EIT Sub v0.6, EPG2MEI v0.96, Extend v1.7, TF5000 Display v1.53, MyStuff 6.4, MHEG On/Off A3, WSSkiller V2.12d
David Herrick
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:05 pm

Post by David Herrick »

Thanks for the advice - I guess that must be what I'm seeing then.

Cheers,

Dave
Doct0r
Frequent contributor
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: Birmingham

Post by Doct0r »

Has anyone had issues with the updated version of VideoReDo V3? I've had to downgrade as it's caused me problems.
TF5810, , F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R2UUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/5/11
?
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

what kind of problems?
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -CpFm+C0EgIPeUUsUuUyVyWf
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.5; MHEG Control B2; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 24/5/11
Doct0r
Frequent contributor
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: Birmingham

Post by Doct0r »

Files that had previously burnt to DVD refusing to even be re-encoded. One set of files that would comfortably fit on a disk, about 3GB, being re-encoded to only 1GB, making it very pixelated.

As soon as I downgraded from 3.20.2.609 back to 3.1.5.564, all problems went away. I'm surprised they've done an update, two years since the last one.

I've posted on the VideoReDo forums but thought I'd ask here, see if anyone re-encoding .rec had issues.
TF5810, , F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R2UUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/5/11
?
tricki
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:07 pm

Post by tricki »

I have found a good free program for getting the Toppy files to DVD (and many other formats).

You will need the following 2 programs installed:

http://www.soniclife.byethost7.com/zips/ProjectX.zip
http://www.freemake.com/free_video_converter/

1 - Use Project X to create an m2p file, see the guide below for a how to (section 2).

http://www.toppy.org.uk/documents/Make_DVDv0F.pdf

2 - Rename the Project X m2p file to mpg using windows explorer
3 - Open the renamed mpg files in Freemake Video Converter
4 - Select the "to DVD" option
Post Reply