How to link your Toppy to a PC or Mac; networking your Toppy, Web-based EPG systems, DVD burning and file transfers

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

@Esling

Have you checked to see if there are multiple audio tracks on the files, or at least, that WMM thinks there are? Sometimes the wrong track is selected by default, and this may be blank. This would obviously cause the problem you have on your desktop, of not being able to hear the sound.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -CpFm+C0EgIPeUUsUuUyVyWf
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.5; MHEG Control B2; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 24/5/11
msteggalls
Frequent contributor
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:15 pm
Location: Ipswich, UK
Contact:

Post by msteggalls »

jakthelad wrote:Please don't tell me "Well, it all depends....."
Well, it all depends..... really on what software you are using. So there no just one way to do it - There are already a couple of guides in the Documents area of the website in the user contributed section

Making DVDs using MPEG StreamClip and DVD Styler - which also cover other software

Making DVDs with ProjectX and Nero (Windows)

Have a look at those and see if they help you at all

BTW: I used VidoReDo to edit and TMPGEnc DVD Author to create the DVD

Martyn
Model: TF5800 Silver; Disk: Samsung 300gb ; Firmware: 5.13.65 Patched; Purchased: 15-Apr-2005;
Autostart TAPs: Improbox (2.5) TF5000 Display (1.53a); Description Extender (2.23); Filer (2.21RC3); Extend (1.7); stirf (1.3Cbeta); EPGnavigator (6.10); UK Auto Scheduler (0.73)
TV: Panasonic TX-L37V20B LCD; Remote: Samsung Note 10.1 running Touchsquid
Updated 26Oct14
jakthelad
Frequent contributor
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:50 pm
Location: LB of Harrow; Probable Tx : Croydon
Contact:

Post by jakthelad »

Esling wrote:I seem to have the best solution which is that I can copy REC files to my laptop, edit them directly in Windows Movie Maker and then burn them directly to disk. It seems that the reason this works on my laptop, and not on anyone elses or even my desktop is because there are the right codecs installed on my laptop and try as I might I can't find out which ones they are.
If someone who understands these things is prepared to talk me through providing the information required then I am quite happy to oblige so that everyone can work in this simple way.
Thanks for that. Perhaps I'll try MovieMaker, although I have just been looking at VideoRedo which appears to be very straightforward. I have downloaded K-lite which is meant to include almost every codec you need but I don't know either which ones are involved.
I can use VLC to play back rec files on computer, but need to convert if I wish to play back on my DVD player or someone else's like my daughter's.
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyStuff 6.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; TAP Commander 1.34; Font Manager 1.0d; Power Manager v2.2; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 18/9/13
?
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

VideoRedo TV Suite is, no question, the simplest way to create DVDs from rec files, in one operation. However, it does require a payment, although this is a one-off. I find it worth the money, which I would only have wasted on food and shelter otherwise.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -CpFm+C0EgIPeUUsUuUyVyWf
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.5; MHEG Control B2; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 24/5/11
msteggalls
Frequent contributor
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:15 pm
Location: Ipswich, UK
Contact:

Post by msteggalls »

Darucla wrote:VideoRedo TV Suite is, no question, the simplest way to create DVDs from rec files, in one operation.
Ah yes forgot VideoRedo TV Suite does it all - I've got the older VideoRedo Plus, which while it will read .rec files, doesn't author/burn DVD's....

Martyn
Model: TF5800 Silver; Disk: Samsung 300gb ; Firmware: 5.13.65 Patched; Purchased: 15-Apr-2005;
Autostart TAPs: Improbox (2.5) TF5000 Display (1.53a); Description Extender (2.23); Filer (2.21RC3); Extend (1.7); stirf (1.3Cbeta); EPGnavigator (6.10); UK Auto Scheduler (0.73)
TV: Panasonic TX-L37V20B LCD; Remote: Samsung Note 10.1 running Touchsquid
Updated 26Oct14
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

Yes, I paid the upgrade fee, when they introduced the new edition, several years back now. It is very quick, primarily because it does very little to the original recording. The disc burning is normally the longest part. Although I believe the final recordings do not exactly meet DVD standards, they play on any recent DVD player that I have tried.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -CpFm+C0EgIPeUUsUuUyVyWf
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.5; MHEG Control B2; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 24/5/11
jakthelad
Frequent contributor
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:50 pm
Location: LB of Harrow; Probable Tx : Croydon
Contact:

Post by jakthelad »

I have also found the Guides on this site and they look good too.
One question has arisen for me for which I'd be obliged for a steer.

I recorded the fabulous performance of Hamlet by David Tennant; it is a full 3 hours and the rec file is 6Gb; will that all go on 1 DVD ?
If not, how do these programs deal with splitting on to more than one disk?
Clearly I would want some careful and thoughtful input into where any split should occur, but is it otherwise automated by these programs? I don't see any suggestion of how this is achieved.
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyStuff 6.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; TAP Commander 1.34; Font Manager 1.0d; Power Manager v2.2; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 18/9/13
?
msteggalls
Frequent contributor
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:15 pm
Location: Ipswich, UK
Contact:

Post by msteggalls »

jakthelad wrote:it is a full 3 hours and the rec file is 6Gb; will that all go on 1 DVD ?
Not on a standard single layer DVD - they hold about 4.7gb. There are Dual layer DVDs which would hold about 8.5gb (although I've yet to successfully create one - getting the split correct between the layers seems to be a bit of a black art, unless I'm missing something)
jakthelad wrote:If not, how do these programs deal with splitting on to more than one disk?
Either edit the programme (at a conventient point) into two segments and make 2 DVDS - or create one DVD image and the use a programme such as DVD Shrink to reduce to image to a size so that will fit on a one single layer DVD, although as this is done by compression, quality may suffer a bit.

Martyn
Model: TF5800 Silver; Disk: Samsung 300gb ; Firmware: 5.13.65 Patched; Purchased: 15-Apr-2005;
Autostart TAPs: Improbox (2.5) TF5000 Display (1.53a); Description Extender (2.23); Filer (2.21RC3); Extend (1.7); stirf (1.3Cbeta); EPGnavigator (6.10); UK Auto Scheduler (0.73)
TV: Panasonic TX-L37V20B LCD; Remote: Samsung Note 10.1 running Touchsquid
Updated 26Oct14
underquark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1793
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:52 pm

Post by underquark »

If you save the output to files (VOB etc.) in a directory on your hard disk then you can use DVDShrink 3.2 (free download) to create an .ISO file that can be burned to a standard (single-layer) DVD. Shrinking from 6Gb ought to mean not too much loss of quality.
A 5800 and a 5810 still in use with various dead ones and bits lying around, one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.6; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; Various remotes - URC1056B01 (my fav.), URC11-7140 R02 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
jakthelad
Frequent contributor
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:50 pm
Location: LB of Harrow; Probable Tx : Croydon
Contact:

Post by jakthelad »

Reporting back on transferring Hamlet.rec to DVD.

I downloaded a trial full version of VideoRedo and after a short struggle with getting to know and understand the rudiments of how it works, I am pleased to report that the whole program has been successfully transferred on to one disk which appears to play without problem on my DVD player (cheap one made by LG).

I am now about to attempt loading all 5 rec files of the Royal Institute Chistmas Lectures on to one disk.

One real bonus of being able to transfer to DVD is it eliminates the need to upgrade to a 1 Tb disk since I can release space from my existing disk.
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyStuff 6.5; EPG2MEI v0.96; TAP Commander 1.34; Font Manager 1.0d; Power Manager v2.2; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 18/9/13
?
Doct0r
Frequent contributor
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:47 pm
Location: Birmingham

Post by Doct0r »

I wish I'd had the fortune to buy a Toppy earlier and so buy VideoReDo when the conversion rates were better (Plus is roughly £34 and the TV Suite is £52). Looking at the Australian reseller, they show a V4 when the main site still shows it as V3.

I read someone saying it's a one-off payment, does that mean a free upgrade from V3 to V4?

I'm also more inclined to go for VideoReDo if it takes less time, it's easier if I buy the licence for my laptop, at least I could leave it on overnight if necessary (less noise, more convenient with running a USB lead 24/7 and cheaper ). Also, from the 20 pages I've read, it appears to do conversion from .rec in one easy step with little or no sync problems.

Since having my laptop, I rarely use a desktop except for projects that require more processor/graphics power. With the other methods described, are the conversion methods processor hungry, or do any take into account the graphics processor?
TF5810, , F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R2UUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/5/11
?
Shannock9
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 4:04 pm

Post by Shannock9 »

These look like questions for the Video Redo Forum on the Vendors site.
Do let us know what happens.
ryclark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: Shropshire

Post by ryclark »

No, unfortunately the upgrade from VideoRedo TV Suite v3 to v4 isn't free. However they are giving a prerelease special upgrade offer at the moment.

http://www.videoredo.net/msgBoard/showt ... hp?t=15759
If you are upgrading from a previous version of TVSuite or Plus, we have special discounted pricing during the pre-release period. When you install TVSuite V4, an upgrade utility will search for your existing registration and if found present you with an upgrade purchase option and a registration tool. If you've switched systems and haven't yet registered your old version, simply run the VRDUpgradeWizard.exe utility that's in the installation folder and it will lead you through the upgrade steps. And, if you've misplaced your old key, simply email us at support @ videoredo.com and we can look up your existing registration information. If you've changed your email address, let us know the original one used when you purchased.
Last edited by ryclark on Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
jumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4731
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:25 pm

Post by jumbo »

On their website they state clearly that minor upgrades such as 3.2 to 3.3 are free for the life of the particular version and that major upgrades such as 3 to 4 are subject to a fee.

I think the trial version is (always) v3 but when you buy then it upgrades to v4. It's best to ask VideoRedo directly before paying. You can download v4 here.
Last edited by jumbo on Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:28 am, edited 2 times in total.
ryclark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: Shropshire

Post by ryclark »

V4 is quite a major update since it now includes encoding/decoding/editing for H264 mpeg4 HD video. But still some facilities missing in the prerelease version.
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
Post Reply