For discussion of how to use, install and choose TAPs - additional software packages that run on your Toppy

Moderator: Technical

Post Reply
stuey
Frequent contributor
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:09 pm
Location: East London/Essex border

Post by stuey »

sboldy wrote:Is there any chance of modifying this tap so that there is an option to "delete all channels"?
2nd'd!
TF5800, IA Off, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; QuickJump 1.72; TF5000 Display v1.51a; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B4.1a - last updated: 24 Jul 2011
FireBird
Frequent contributor
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 10:47 pm
Location: Vienna/Austria

Post by FireBird »

sboldy wrote:It would have been easier if they could all have been deleted without having to do a factory reset and losing all the timers.
The timers are linked to the channels. You can't remove channels without losing the timers.
chunkywizard
MyStuff Team
Posts: 9319
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Contact:

Post by chunkywizard »

you can delete by UHF Channel number, so just enter the 6 muxes channels on your transmitter and away you go, eg Crystal Palace is:

uhf=22
uhf=25
uhf=28
uhf=29
uhf=32
uhf=34

HTH

CW

[edit] after Firebirds answer you might as well do a factory reset! [/edit]
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
sboldy
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:54 pm
Location: Chippenham

Post by sboldy »

Thanks.

I suppose asking for additional options to "save timers and delete all channels" and an option to "restore timers" is out of the question?

Steve.
BP250GB - 5.12.88P
Taps: Power RestoreV0.7.3
EPGn v4.1
DE 2.1
chunkywizard
MyStuff Team
Posts: 9319
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Contact:

Post by chunkywizard »

UK Timers can export and import timers, this in conjunction with ChannelRemover should do what you want. One thing though, if your LCN changes for a channel that you have a timer set on your need to adjust it or it will record the wrong thing,

HTH

CW
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
vroomfondle
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1338
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:34 am
Location: TX: Hannington

Post by vroomfondle »

chunkywizard wrote:I sent you three files, let me know how you get on,
CW
Thanks for the files. I tried the radio one (renamed it 1st)
Copied to Toppy ProgramFiles with tap.
Tap runs ok and pops up that box but still doesn't seem to see config file, doesn't deleted any LCNs :-)

Gone back to manual method of deleting unwanted channels
5800 (400Gb, fan cooled). Firmware: 5.13.40PHT2a Taps: MyStuff5.21a, Mediamanager1.3
Other: ASUS WL-500gx + Olegs (1.9.2.7-7f) + ftpd-topfield (0.7.4) + rt2mei0.63
chunkywizard
MyStuff Team
Posts: 9319
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Contact:

Post by chunkywizard »

Why did you rename it?? It was already the correct name....

CW
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
vroomfondle
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1338
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:34 am
Location: TX: Hannington

Post by vroomfondle »

chunkywizard wrote:Why did you rename it?? It was already the correct name....
Doh! I assummed it had to be called ChannelRemover.txt even for radio. Never looked again at readme for this as I don't use my Toppy for radio.

Actually, looking at code makes me wonder if my ftp transfer program (ws_ftp) munged the TV file somehow by transferring it in ASCII mode.. I'll check later.
5800 (400Gb, fan cooled). Firmware: 5.13.40PHT2a Taps: MyStuff5.21a, Mediamanager1.3
Other: ASUS WL-500gx + Olegs (1.9.2.7-7f) + ftpd-topfield (0.7.4) + rt2mei0.63
weeble
Regular contributor
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 8:00 pm
Location: South Lincs

Post by weeble »

Hi.

For me this TAP works well by defining UHF and LCN numbers in the text file, but I can't get it to work by channel names. I've checked the syntax, i.e. "NAME=XXX" without spaces either side of the "=", and the spelling of the individual channel names but to no joy.

Anybody got any suggestions? Thanks

I'm using version 0.4 with the Bastille firmware.
charley
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1563
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:05 am
Location: Belfast

Post by charley »

regards Charley
Toppy: TF5800PVR250GB &300GB;Firmware: ; Remote: Harmony 655; Tx:Divis; Autostart TAPs: MEISearch 1.35, MyStuff 6, AutoReboot V2.2, epg2mei, Power Manager v2.0, TAP Commander 1.2, TF5000 Display v1.50, MHEG_State; Other:
weeble
Regular contributor
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 8:00 pm
Location: South Lincs

Post by weeble »

Thanks Charley - I had seen it already and had tried copying and pasting it into my file but it still doesn't remove them.

Just a thought - does "NAME=BBC1" (for example) remove just the 1st "BBC1" it finds or all channels with that name? I just ask as I've realised that although I receive duplicates of all channels only one of each of the "named" channels remain after I run channel remover.
Andy K
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3520
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:19 pm

Post by Andy K »

HELP :cry:

I used this wonderful TAP over a year ago (ver 0.4).

I have now added new channels to get the new five channels and also gained all the bloody pay channels.

I tried running this TAP v0.4 but I would not remove any paychannels (except 1 maybe). I assume this is because they don't have a $ next to them.

I created a new file with the channels names in from a few pages back in this thread. and also tried the new version 1.4 but it won't delete them.

I was rather stressed with other things and gave up.

Could someone confirm the exact file name that should list the removal channels in

and suggust any obvious mistakes I am making,

Thanks.
Autostart TAPs: Jags 3, Bookmark 2uk, Quickjump 1.71, Power Manager 1.1, Description Extender 1.5/2.1, MEI2Archive ß3.8l6, Tap Launcher 3.5a, Tap Commander, AccurateBMExtend 0.3, RemoteExt 1.5, TunerRecAR.2
Launched during EPG scan: Crid, SeriesLink ß0.35
TF5800 Version 5.13.65 PHT2UFXp5Xw3RpPcE2Bf2BqRsRh3Pf1Ec2ErEfHe1 Ra3Cf2Ct
Samsung 400Gb+Fan
moley6knipe
Frequent contributor
Posts: 863
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:05 pm
Location: Spalding, Lincs, UK

Post by moley6knipe »

Andy, in my experience it's much better to use LCNs and UHF numbers to remove channels
Firmware 5.13.65 patched; Waltham TX; Samsung T133 Series 400LD 400Gb HDD
jumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4731
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:25 pm

Post by jumbo »

I use the file ChannelRemover.txt (Note Upper/lower case) containing

Code: Select all

cas=yes
name=8
name=UKTV Gold
name=TCM
name=UKTV Style
name=Discovery
name=Eurosport UK
name=QVC
name=The Hits
name=UKTV Br'tIdeas
name=f tn
name=TMF
name=Ideal World
name=bid tv
name=price-drop tv
name=DiscoveryRTime
name=UKTV Food
name=UKTV Bright Ideas
name=Ftn
name=Xtraview
name=Quiz Call
name=Men & Motors
name=CBBC Channel
name=CBeebies
name=Cartoon Nwk
name=Boomerang
name=Toonami
name=Sky Sports News
name=Community Channel
name=TMF
name=The Hits
name=QVC
name=bid tv
name=Yooplay
name=ideal WORLD
name=price-drop tv
name=Men and Motors
name=Quiz Call
name=Bloomberg
name=Teachers' TV
name=Television X
name=Red Hot
name=Teletext
name=Ttext Holidays
name=Teletext Holidays
name=Teletext Cars
name=Teletext on 4
name=YooPlay Games
name=4TVinteractive
name=CITV
name=BBC Parlmnt
name=Sky Spts News
name=smileTV
name=SETANTA SPORTS
name=Five US
name=Five Life
name=Community
name=ITV Play
name=Sky Text
name=TopUp Active
name=tvtv DIGITAL
I have created a directory called Utility on the Toppy where I keep my one-off TAPs and (if appropriate) their associated configuration files. In this case I keep the TAP and the ChannelRemover.txt file in the same directory. Make sure the file is created using NotePad as somebody pointed out that WordPad does something unexpected to the end-of-line and carriage-return characters which some TAPs are allergic to.
Andy K
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3520
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:19 pm

Post by Andy K »

As the only time I am likely to use this is when LCN's have moved I liked the idea of using names.

Infact LCNs move more time than I run this TAP !

I wouldn't use wordpad for it.

I got the filename correct :(

I have added the CAS line as I didn't have it but don't think it's that. Will give it another go.

Thanks.

Maybe try with LCNs then.
Autostart TAPs: Jags 3, Bookmark 2uk, Quickjump 1.71, Power Manager 1.1, Description Extender 1.5/2.1, MEI2Archive ß3.8l6, Tap Launcher 3.5a, Tap Commander, AccurateBMExtend 0.3, RemoteExt 1.5, TunerRecAR.2
Launched during EPG scan: Crid, SeriesLink ß0.35
TF5800 Version 5.13.65 PHT2UFXp5Xw3RpPcE2Bf2BqRsRh3Pf1Ec2ErEfHe1 Ra3Cf2Ct
Samsung 400Gb+Fan
Post Reply