For discussion of how to use, install and choose TAPs - additional software packages that run on your Toppy

Moderator: Technical

Andy K
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3520
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:19 pm

Post by Andy K »

Don't worry about adjusting the ini file.

I have used extend with various different paddings without issue.
gramps
Frequent contributor
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:46 pm

Post by gramps »

cawright1 - Just to clarify your original post. Which tap are you asking about, 'Timer Extend 8.11' or 'Extend 1.7'. Most of the replies so far are talking about the 'Extend' tap.

Never used Timer Extend but reading the author's comments it looks like it automatically adds padding to timers. A bit like what Mystuff does but possibly without anything to help resolve timer clashes.

Just checking we're all talking about the same tap.

gramps

Edit - Reading some old posts. 'Timer Extend' does not resolve overlapping timers after the padding has been added. So it will mean some timers will fail to record anything when they do overlap.
TF5800, 1TB HDD, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+MPeScZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;

My Logo Packs
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

I am confused here, there are two taps, one called Extend and the other Timer Extend. When I last tried Timer Extend it started, popped up a message saying to the effect that it needed a signature or password and was closing down. Extend didn't seem to do anything when I tried it.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

@Bizman

Extend won't appear to do anything if the broadcaster's are sending the correct signals; it really only comes into play when they miss a signal (or it is delayed because the program overran)

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
gramps
Frequent contributor
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:46 pm

Post by gramps »

@Bizman - Didn't mean to confuse, just wanted to make sure which tap @cawright1 was intending to use.

Interesting that you say Timer Extend may need a key/password to run. It seems it auto pads timers for you and was written long before Mystuff came on the scene. Never used it so can't say how it works.

As Geoff has said the Extend tap just sits in the background and monitors recordings looking for the end of program marker from the broadcaster. It the end of the program does not turn up it extends the recording until it does. Well that's my take on how it works it's magic.

gramps
TF5800, 1TB HDD, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+MPeScZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;

My Logo Packs
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

Thanks guys for the clarification, I will give Extend another go.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

All you need in extend.ini is

Code: Select all

File updated by Channel Organiser B2.1 on 28/3/2015 at 10:37

[Control]
PrePad = 2
PostPad = 6
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

@Bizman

Except, as you aren't using MyStuff, you probably want

Code: Select all

[Control] 
PrePad = 0 
PostPad = 0
These values tell Extend what paddings you are using on the timers; the default MyStuff ones are 2 and 6. (You may find it doesn't matter in practice)

You can check what Extend did by looking in \ProgramFiles\Auto Start\Extend.log (this is really a debugging aid for R2-D2 and is of no use now so can be deleted periodically to prevent the file getting too large)
In fact, if you try without using a .ini file, you could look in this file to see what it is defaulting to.

Geoff



Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

Well the log file doesn't mean much to me at present:

Code: Select all

-
- 2015-05-27 18:49:26 (0d 0h 0m 7s) -
Extend v1.7: Hook=801ACF3C AppBE=801ACB68 BE=806D2F4C net=200 ts=196 srv=18 name=40
Extend: added hook
Maybe it needs more time to grow.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

That is just it starting; when it starts extending programs, it will add more info.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

deleted
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Re: Timer Extend Tap

Post by juwlz »

cawright1 wrote:oh my, that all sounds too complicated. Hence why I've never used mystuff or timer extend. :cry:
The TAPs are coded to do the complicated stuff automatically so that you don't have to.

Extend just sits in the background and does its thing - extending overrunning recordings by comparing the signals from the broadcaster with what it was expecting based on the timers you've set. It needs a bit of setup information to be able to do that correctly, and as the majority of Toppy users also use MyStuff, it uses the MyStuff default settings as its default settings. If you're using both, you don't need to do anything to either. If you're NOT using MyStuff, then Extend needs to know that, or many of your recordings will be 2 hours long, because the settings that work for MyStuff padded recordings will be wrong for unpadded recordings.

MyStuff automatically adds a bit of fixed padding for you (as long as that doesn't prevent other recordings from happening), so you don't have to adjust timers manually or miss the start or end of programmes that don't start or finish on time. MyStuff can automatically reschedule clashing recordings for you.

All of this saves you hassle, and means you don't have to micro-manage your Toppy. The TAPs are doing all the hard work so you don't have to.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

As juwlz says, the TAPs do fiendishly complicated things, but they just work. If you want to, you can delve deeper into the options of MyStuff and change things, but the defaults work fine and will do all that you have asked for, as well as making loads of other things much, much easier and/or clearer

It's like your mobile phone, which does loads of complicated things to allow you to make a call. It can also perform loads of other things like texting, changing backgrounds, emailing, playing games and so on. You may (or may not) use some of these functions on your phone, but it still works fine as just a phone
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
cawright1
Frequent contributor
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:24 pm

Post by cawright1 »

ah, ok, so, I currently have mystuff tap installed. But it neds to be renamed back so that it works. Once i do that and it loads from boot, can I take it that without any other it will automatically pad out all my progs, UNLESS there is a prog directly after it on same channel - or any other channel that could cause a problem?

I mean, if I record something for an hour on one channel at 2100 and then there is something ekse starting recording on another channel at 2200 would mystuff know that it cannot add time to the 2100 prog?
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
?
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

MyStuff will add padding whenever it can. In your simple example, both programmes will be padded, -2 +6.

If you do rename MyStuff to get the tap working, reboot, and allow MyStuff to run for about 30 minutes before touching the remote.
This will allow MyStuff to fully populate the epg.

You'll also need to delete all your existing timers (do this before starting MyStuff for the first time) , and then recreate them using MyStuff.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Post Reply