For discussion of how to use, install and choose TAPs - additional software packages that run on your Toppy

Moderator: Technical

Post Reply
EMJB
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3645
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 9:43 am
Location: Maldon Essex

Post by EMJB »

ccs wrote:Is this still the link for freeview.dat? (Looking at the file contents I'd say it is.)
Yes.
ccs wrote:(CO download link not working.
Should be OK now - sorry about that.

EMJB
Silver 5800, Board Rev 1.2, MS recomm F/W, Sudbury Tx, varying TAP config
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

My Freeview.dat file lacks LCN 61 and LCN42 is out of date. My file is dated 10/7/13, is there a later one somewhere? Strangely I have 61 on the EPG.
Edit: OK Got it sorted now, have 42 on board.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

I ran Channel Organiser this morning to update the move of LCN63 to 34 and I lost LCNs 20 and 42 which CO thinks are shopping or whatever, so I did another scan to restore them and it said there was an error in my Freeview.dat file. Would this be because said file still thinks ITV3+1 is at 63 but has now moved? I have the latest files as dated on the EMJB website (as of his morning)?
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
EMJB
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3645
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 9:43 am
Location: Maldon Essex

Post by EMJB »

Bizman wrote:I ran Channel Organiser this morning to update the move of LCN63 to 34 and I lost LCNs 20 and 42 which CO thinks are shopping or whatever, so I did another scan to restore them and it said there was an error in my Freeview.dat file. Would this be because said file still thinks ITV3+1 is at 63 but has now moved? I have the latest files as dated on the EMJB website (as of his morning)?
I was just about to release an update when the BBC 1 name change rather threw things into chaos. You should have an error log file in /ProgramFiles/Logs (can't remember precise name) which details the errors, but they will include the BBC1 name and ITV3+1.

EMJB
Silver 5800, Board Rev 1.2, MS recomm F/W, Sudbury Tx, varying TAP config
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

Ok thanks for the info. I am preparing the ''Picks of the Week' at the moment so I will investigate later.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
gramps
Frequent contributor
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:46 pm

Post by gramps »

Does freeview.dat now need updating for the various channel changes that have taken place so far this year? Looking at the version in the link here it still has all the TopUpTv channels listed. Can these be safely removed now?

Also how should the freeview.dat file be updated to cope with the local TV channels when they all start transmitting on LCN 8?

Gramps
TF5800, 1TB HDD, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+MPeScZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0;

My Logo Packs
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

I gather that EMJB is indisposed at the moment, but will be doing an update when the opportunity arises.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
EMJB
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3645
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 9:43 am
Location: Maldon Essex

Post by EMJB »

Bizman wrote:I gather that EMJB is indisposed at the moment, but will be doing an update when the opportunity arises.
"Indisposed" isn't quite the word that springs to mind as describing being in the middle of redecorating the room where the Toppy & PC normally live, but on reflection quite apt!

EMJB
Silver 5800, Board Rev 1.2, MS recomm F/W, Sudbury Tx, varying TAP config
EMJB
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3645
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 9:43 am
Location: Maldon Essex

Post by EMJB »

gramps wrote:Does freeview.dat now need updating for the various channel changes that have taken place so far this year?
Yes, hopefully next week, but if you use the latest B2 version the problems are displayed so you can judge how important the changes are, and make the changes yourself if you see that as important.
gramps wrote: Looking at the version in the link here it still has all the TopUpTv channels listed. Can these be safely removed now?
Yes, provided you don't still have them on your Toppy.
gramps wrote:Also how should the freeview.dat file be updated to cope with the local TV channels when they all start transmitting on LCN 8?
If you want to keep using B1.2, you will need to change it yourself. B2 has some logic that may allow it to cope depending on what they are called.

EMJB
Silver 5800, Board Rev 1.2, MS recomm F/W, Sudbury Tx, varying TAP config
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

I'm getting nothing in the EPG for a couple of the BBC Red Button LCNs (can't remember which :oops:) Do I need to edit Freeview.dat if I want to catch up on the Olympics coverage?
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
EMJB
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3645
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 9:43 am
Location: Maldon Essex

Post by EMJB »

YorkshireJumbo wrote:I'm getting nothing in the EPG for a couple of the BBC Red Button LCNs (can't remember which :oops:) Do I need to edit Freeview.dat if I want to catch up on the Olympics coverage?
Can't see anything in the current Freeview.dat that would explain this. Not in a position to investigate at the moment (see earlier posts) so suggest you look at your EPG2MEI.ini, and correct it if it is wrong.

EMJB
Silver 5800, Board Rev 1.2, MS recomm F/W, Sudbury Tx, varying TAP config
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

My Toppy (native EPG) says 'This is BBC Red Button' for 302 until 7th after which it says 'Winter Olympics. 303 simply says 'This is 303', but with lots of gaps.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Thanks. I'll have a furtle around in them both to see what might be the issue. Can't do it till tomorrow, though...
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
EMJB
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3645
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 9:43 am
Location: Maldon Essex

Post by EMJB »

New Freeview.dat file now available from here - install in /ProgramFiles/Settings/.

EMJB
Silver 5800, Board Rev 1.2, MS recomm F/W, Sudbury Tx, varying TAP config
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Had my furtle, and discovered that LCNs 1 :shock:, 200, 300, 301, 302, 303 were excluded in epg2mei.ini, as well as ITV4+1 and 5later. The header said it was updated by TopManager, which would have been a couple of days before when I rescanned for the new channels.

No idea why 1 was excluded. I've re-included any channels which have an EPG and am now getting Olympics EPG data, so nothing to do with Freeview.Dat
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
Post Reply