General chat about the TF5800 and TF5810 PVRs, along with other European Topfield models, customer service, plus other Toppy issues not covered elsewhere

Moderators: General, Technical

Post Reply
anthony2l
Frequent contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:37 pm

Volume not changing on 5800

Post by anthony2l »

Just been finishing setting up a 5800 for my sister and the one thing that is not working is the volume control. The volume display shows on the screen and moves as the volume buttons are pressed but they make no difference to the sound levels which come out at TV volume levels.

Using the TV control works fine as expected.

Am I missing something?

I have her defunct 5800 and the volume was working fine on that. Is there a simple component swap I can carry out?
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]â„¢
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

I suspect you have the "Vd Volume Disable" patch in the firmware (probably installed by a previous owner)

Suggest you make sure any such file is removed from "\ProgramFiles\InstallerFirmware\Add\" and it sub directories and then re-flash the firmware

Easiest is probably to delete all the files in the "...\Add\..." branch and then run GCBMyStuffInstaller (from my website) - use Option 1 (this will ensure everything is at the latest version and reflash)

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
jimi
Frequent contributor
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:25 am
Location: The Sunny Kingdom
Contact:

Post by jimi »

It may also depend on the TV setup, I have the TV internal speakers disabled and use the optical output to drive a sound bar and sub. Both THE TV & Tippy volume controls behave as described, only the sound bar remote has any effect.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 16/12/20
anthony2l
Frequent contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:37 pm

Post by anthony2l »

Geoff Bacon wrote:I suspect you have the "Vd Volume Disable" patch in the firmware (probably installed by a previous owner)

Suggest you make sure any such file is removed from "\ProgramFiles\InstallerFirmware\Add" and it sub directories and then re-flash the firmware

Easiest is probably to delete all the files in the "...\Add\..." branch and then run GCBMyStuffInstaller (from my website) - use Option 1 (this will ensure everything is at the latest version and reflash)

Geoff
No such patch in the folder or subfolders.

I had run your GCBMyStuffInstaller a few weeks back before I delivered the machine to my sister. I don't think the last owner did much with the Toppy.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]â„¢
anthony2l
Frequent contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:37 pm

Post by anthony2l »

jimi wrote:It may also depend on the TV setup, I have the TV internal speakers disabled and use the optical output to drive a sound bar and sub. Both THE TV & Tippy volume controls behave as described, only the sound bar remote has any effect.
Just the SCART connecting the two. Very basic setup.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]â„¢
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Check the SCART cable is securely in place at both ends

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
anthony2l
Frequent contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:37 pm

Post by anthony2l »

Well I hope I had. I've tried both the previously working cable and the heavier cable that came with the replacement Toppy. I suppose there is a possibility that the Toppy's SCART socket is damaged.

My sister is some 20miles away so I'll have to have a look at some future stage and maybe try the composite to rule in/out the SCART.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]â„¢
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

I was testing a disk I repaired using ToppyDiskMedic (only 3 days ago) and that also didn't have any volume (I could see the control being changed). I initially thought it was because the corrupted disk came from a toppy that hadn't had any caps changed (it was manufactured in 2005 and andyfras had posted that all the caps were out of spec).

As a last resort, I checked the SCART cable at the TV end and it all worked fine after I had fully pushed it home i.e. just because one has a good picture doesn't mean the SCART cable is fitted correctly

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
jimi
Frequent contributor
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:25 am
Location: The Sunny Kingdom
Contact:

Post by jimi »

Geoff Bacon wrote:I was testing a disk I repaired using ToppyDiskMedic (only 3 days ago) and that also didn't have any volume (I could see the control being changed). I initially thought it was because the corrupted disk came from a toppy that hadn't had any caps changed (it was manufactured in 2005 and andyfras had posted that all the caps were out of spec).

As a last resort, I checked the SCART cable at the TV end and it all worked fine after I had fully pushed it home i.e. just because one has a good picture doesn't mean the SCART cable is fitted correctly

Geoff
^^^
More common than you would think, if it's not pushed in squarely (ie slightly out at one side) then you can end up with no sound and and a perfect picture, I've even come across it with sound and no picture, although the first is more common.
Funny how things change, I'd forgotten about some of the joys of SCART leads
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 16/12/20
anthony2l
Frequent contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:37 pm

Post by anthony2l »

The volume seems to have come back of its own accord. I suspect that the cause may well be a dusty SCART socket as the unit had been stored unused in an attic and certainly had a layer over its circuitry. I'll give it a blast of switch cleaner and a good jiggle next time I visit.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 12/2/20
Waltham Tx
Caps 31/07/13; Turbosat 500Gb SATA[/size]â„¢
jimi
Frequent contributor
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:25 am
Location: The Sunny Kingdom
Contact:

Post by jimi »

Excellent, your probably correct about the scart connection, I'd give both plugs and the TV socket a blast while your at it. 8)
Last edited by jimi on Sat Mar 14, 2020 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 16/12/20
MikB
Frequent contributor
Posts: 295
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 8:44 pm
Location: West Midlands
Contact:

Re: Volume not changing on 5800

Post by MikB »

anthony2l wrote:The volume display shows on the screen and moves as the volume buttons are pressed but they make no difference to the sound levels which come out at TV volume levels.
Another reason is possibly that one of the SCARTs (the TV one, TOP) respects the volume slider, and the other one (marked VCR, BOTTOM) always carries audio at nominal level. This is so that when you mute/raise/lower the volume you don't affect the output being copied to tape ...

Which SCART were you using (and did you inadvertantly swap between them?)
Toppy Taps: http://toppy.signal11.org.uk

TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -AbCkEeEfEpHeKtRaRhRsSdStSyTeTfTpTsVr+Pf
TAPs: DescriptionExtender 2.1; MeiSearch 1.30; EPG Clean V1.01 Dev Version; EPGnavigator v5.1c; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/15
Post Reply