General chat about the TF5800 and TF5810 PVRs, along with other European Topfield models, customer service, plus other Toppy issues not covered elsewhere

Moderators: General, Technical

dgc188
Regular contributor
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: S Yorkshire (Tx: Emley Moor)

Post by dgc188 »

Thanks Geoff

I began this thread when I had issues with getting Altair to connect and things have moved on quite a lot with regard to one of my Toppys.

I can't recall what I did to get Altair working, but it now works but following a disk crash (total!) I found an old PC drive (60Mb) and installed it on the off-chance it "might" work and get me out of a jam - luckily it did. But...... there's always a "but".

Like nun-headman I couldn't get My Stuff to install and as I wanted series linking I ventured to put the 14.09T onto it - and it works fine. But..... (another one) I still want to get My Stuff back onto this (spare) Toppy so that it matches the original Toppy in the main room.

So, it looks like your comment above and your "new" installer might be the answer (once I've put 13.65 back on).

So thanks Geoff for keeping the Toppy alive. Good to see it's not dying without a fight!

Dave
TF5800; IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +B2MPeR2UUuWf
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Geoff Bacon wrote:
If you don't want the "lost" recordings then you can reinstall MyStuff. To do this you will need to use my GCBMyStuff installer (from my website - see my signature). Use this in preference to the BuildMyStuffInstaller linked by ccs.
Tbf, the GCBMyStuff installer is described in big red letters in the first sentence of the link I posted.
Last edited by ccs on Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

Hi Geoff

I have given up for today.

I have been using the same IBM T60 running XP as an off line reader for the Toppy for years and it gets used for nothing else

I simply cannot get a USB connection to the Toppy

I will have another go tomorrow

Best

Andy
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

@ccs - Yous are right but it didn't until I added it after checking the link you posted.

Actually, I think BuildMyStuffInstaller will probably work fine; it is just that I have completely reworked the installer in the GCBMyStuffInstaller (should be a faster, fewer questions to answer and the log/display shows what it has modified).

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

Hi

Back to this now.

Can anyone remind me how to solve the Toppy USB not recognised under XP?
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Check that the pc beeps when the toppy is connected to it (this proves that the pc can see the toppy)

On XP, you need to connect it via the USB port that you previously used (this used to allow me to have the three different styles drivers on different USB ports) i.e. find the port you used last time it worked.

If you still can't get it to work, use Z4t to load the WinUSB driver

Irrespective of whether you use Z4t, don't bother with Altair - use Antares instead (from haselgrove site)

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
dgc188
Regular contributor
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: S Yorkshire (Tx: Emley Moor)

Post by dgc188 »

If I can add my two-penneth...

Never yet used Antares - but I'm a bit of a Luddite and if Altair works for me (which it does), then that's good enough! One day, maybe I'll try Antares.

As Geoff says, try using the same USB port as the last time it worked, though I don't think I've worried about that - or maybe I've just been lucky and used the same port each time (all depends on what is already plugged in).

But I presume you relate to Altair not running/connecting to the Toppy on XP - Toppy side of screen greyed out (??) and also are you trying to run Turbo mode on both?

Have you used the updated sys & dll files? I say 'updated', as these were released years ago well after the original versions. You need these:

NcGen.sys 21/05/2007 21:17 ver. 1.6.4.6
TfBulk.inf 31/05/2007 22:26
TfBulk.sys 31/05/2007 22:11 4.7.5.31
TfDll.dll 02/06/2007 19:18 ver.1.0.0.6

I think these files need to be in your system drive in \windows\system32 - might run with them in the altair.exe folder, can't recall now, but I have them in the system32 folder and it runs from there.
The dates/times on these may differ - the times in the zip file are one hour less that these, and on my XP machine (which runs in a VM on Win10) these details are different, but the version numbers are most likely the important detail.

Do a search for 014_TFDN-USB_8402.zip or 018_Topfield_USB_Driver.zip.
If you're stuck getting these, PM me and I'll email a copy to you.

Dave
TF5800; IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +B2MPeR2UUuWf
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

If you are using the XP or Vista mechanism and they work then there is no issue in staying with them.

However, if troubleshooting/starting again, you should use the WinUSB provided by Z4t.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

Good morning

I think it's the basics that are screwed up – the USB port on the Toppy seems to be loose on its mounting - I suspect is not making a proper connection to the motherboard.

It's beyond my skills to do that bit of soldering I think

Andy
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

@nunhead_man

Anyfras can probably repair it.

What exactly were you intending to do if the connection had worked? For instance, I could recover files and reinstall MyStuff if that was the reason (you could then just bung the disk in).

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

OK - I will contact Andy - I seem to have an email from him for about four years ago which I will now try

If I had gotten in I would have trimmed channels and reinstalled MyStuff
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

Hi

As it happens I have now connected two nights in a row.

Disc was wiped but now trying to recover
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

I'm sure you are aware I can recover a corrupted disk (and reinstall MyStuff).

As you are trying to recover, I'm assuming you don't need me to do that.

You will need to run my GCBMyStuffInstaller to reinstall BobD's MyStuff. (use option 1; "everything")

Having installed MyStuff and associated taps, use TopManager | Tools| Install Files| PcControl and reboot the toppy

Then use TM| PcControl| Signal Measurement; Select a period of at least 10 seconds and BOTH tuners. Having measured the signals, right click the mouse in the results table and "Copy As Padded Text". Then paste the results into this thread.

The reason I am asking for the signals is that a poor quality signal is typically a cause of a corrupted disk and, if yours is bad, you are liable to get another wipe.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

@nunhead_man

I forgot to say...

As you said your USB connector on the toppy is "loose on it's mounting", I suggest you leave the USB cable permanently in the toppy - just coil it up behind the toppy when not in use (assuming not permanently connected).

This will drastically reduce the number of times you have to apply pressure to the connector. It will also help you in that you only have to retrieve the cable end instead of scrabbling around the back of the toppy.

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
Post Reply