General chat about the TF5800 and TF5810 PVRs, along with other European Topfield models, customer service, plus other Toppy issues not covered elsewhere

Moderators: General, Technical

Post Reply
bugbear
Frequent contributor
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 9:47 am
Contact:

Post by bugbear »

gomezz wrote:What MUXes does the Toppy try to tune after using FastScanGUI?
FastScanGUI didn't appear to "know" anything about this latest freq change, so, having looked at (and only half understood) it's interface, I didn't proceed.

BugBear
I think the hard thing about all these tools is that it takes a fair amount of effort to become proficient.

Bill Joy
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 28/5/16
bugbear
Frequent contributor
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 9:47 am
Contact:

Post by bugbear »

andyfras wrote:For the Tacolneston transmitter, try manually tuning RF C39. This mux moved yesterday, so FastScanGUI will be unaware of it.

If your aerial is quite old (from analogue era), it is probably a Group C/D which will have a poor response at C39, so you may need to upgrade to a Group E aerial (or wideband for future compatibility with Com7 & Com8).
Well, the Sony telly-box picked it up, so there's some hope.

I assume by manual tune, you mean the basic toppy built in one?

BugBear
I think the hard thing about all these tools is that it takes a fair amount of effort to become proficient.

Bill Joy
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 28/5/16
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

bugbear wrote:I assume by manual tune, you mean the basic toppy built in one?
If you've previously used FastScanGUI, it will remember which muxes to use.

To get it to forget, Factory reset, Reboot, and Factory reset again, then tune.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

The tables in FastScanGUI are out-of-date.
Suggest you use TopManager or ChannelOrganiser.

Alternatively, if you want to stick with FastScanGUI, google for the muxes that you need to use and run it in Manual mode (I have previously patched the tap on my PC to use the number I wanted but now I just use TopManager)

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
bugbear
Frequent contributor
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 9:47 am
Contact:

Post by bugbear »

juwlz wrote:
bugbear wrote:I assume by manual tune, you mean the basic toppy built in one?
If you've previously used FastScanGUI, it will remember which muxes to use.

To get it to forget, Factory reset, Reboot, and Factory reset again, then tune.

Julie
Yes, this was (indeed) the problem.

I spotted it when trying to do a manual retune (in basic toppy mode) and noting than only 6 frequencies were available to choose from.

I worked round it by manually adding ALL the frequencies in FastScanGUI.

I now have many channels :-)

Edit; as a service to anyone searching this thread:

http://www.ukfree.tv/txdetail.php?a=TM131958

currently shows C55, C59, C50, C42, C45, C39.

BugBear
I think the hard thing about all these tools is that it takes a fair amount of effort to become proficient.

Bill Joy
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 28/5/16
bugbear
Frequent contributor
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 9:47 am
Contact:

Post by bugbear »

andyfras wrote:For the Tacolneston transmitter, try manually tuning RF C39. This mux moved yesterday, so FastScanGUI will be unaware of it.

If your aerial is quite old (from analogue era), it is probably a Group C/D which will have a poor response at C39, so you may need to upgrade to a Group E aerial (or wideband for future compatibility with Com7 & Com8).
I have a green cap on my aeriel, so (yes) it's Group C/D.

But my toppy is happily reporting 99/99 strength and quality for Film 4.

So no aerial upgrade needed :-)

BugBear
I think the hard thing about all these tools is that it takes a fair amount of effort to become proficient.

Bill Joy
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MyInfo B5.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 28/5/16
DX
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2697
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 4:09 pm

Post by DX »

The gain on C/D aerials does drop off a bit at lower frequencies compared to a wideband but isn't anything like the cliff edge you get on A or B. At channel 39 a C/D is probably only a few db down on a wideband.

There are some gain curves here if you are interested

http://www.aerialsandtv.com/gaincurves.html
Post Reply