For questions, answers and tips aimed at new users, or those thinking about buying a Toppy

Moderators: General, Technical

Post Reply
100949football
Regular contributor
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:52 pm
Location: Falkirk, scotland

Upgrading firmware using latest Mac OSX Mavericks

Post by 100949football »

I've had cause to have the capacitors changed (separate issue) and since then I've found old software is on my Toppy TF5800.
When I do a channel scan the programmes are all over the place and I'm advised to install the latest firmware. BBC is on channel 1 / BBC2 on Channel 2 but ITV starts at channel 1001
When I try installing the latest firmware with my Mac using "Tofi" software installer it simply won't work giving message :You can't open the application "Tofi" because Power PC applications are no longer supported".....!!!!

How else can I get the new firmware onto my Toppy using a Mac running 10.9.3?

Thank you, anyone!

Bill
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3545
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Re: Upgrading firmware using latest Mac OSX Mavericks

Post by alan_m »

100949football wrote:I've had cause to have the capacitors changed (separate issue) and since then I've found old software is on my Toppy TF5800.
When I do a channel scan the programmes are all over the place and I'm advised to install the latest firmware. BBC is on channel 1 / BBC2 on Channel 2 but ITV starts at channel 1001
When I try installing the latest firmware with my Mac using "Tofi" software installer it simply won't work giving message :You can't open the application "Tofi" because Power PC applications are no longer supported".....!!!!

How else can I get the new firmware onto my Toppy using a Mac running 10.9.3?

Thank you, anyone!

Bill
Does something like MacTF still work?
http://www.noates.com/mactf.html

If so you can transfer the new firmware as a file (plus all the patches) to the Toppys hard disk, then transfer the HDFW TAP to the Toppys hard disk. Running HDFW on the Toppy will then install the firmware.

http://www.toppy.org.uk/~r2-d2/hdfw.html
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
Lau
Regular contributor
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Porthcawl

Tofi doesn't work on Maverick

Post by Lau »

Looks like ive got the new firmware detected bug. The toppy won't start up. I think I've fixed this before by reloading the firmware. I'm trying to load emptysettings.tdf I can't do it without tofi. Is Toffi going to be updated? Can anyone help?
TF5810, New PSU caps. Apple Mac. TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TAP Commander 1.34; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/10/11
Lau
Regular contributor
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:27 pm
Location: Porthcawl

Post by Lau »

I should have thought of this before. I have Tiger install on another hard drive. I can use tofi on that. If you get desperate that could be a way to go. I hope this helps.
TF5810, New PSU caps. Apple Mac. TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TAP Commander 1.34; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/10/11
cazlar
Frequent contributor
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 10:25 pm
Location: Back in Sydney!

Post by cazlar »

I don't use a Toppy at all these days (though I have it somewhere in the house), and thus don't really frequent these forums much, but just let me know by email if there are issues with getting ToFi or MacTF to run and I'll see what I can do (though I may not be able to test changes).

In the case of ToFi, v1.1 was recompiled for Intel, so should still continue to work, unless I have stuffed up something, or PPC/Intel fat binaries are no longer supported. Are you sure you have that version?

I can have a go at recompiling again for 10.9/10.10 if needed...
Post Reply