For questions, answers and tips aimed at new users, or those thinking about buying a Toppy

Moderators: General, Technical

tombar
Regular contributor
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:42 pm
Location: Kendal

more noise on TV with Toppy on Freeview than with Humax on F

Post by tombar »

Is it normal for a Toppy connected to Freeview to make far more background noise at the TV than a Humax connected to Freesat? This is what happens on my setup.
,?
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3490
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Do you mean noise through the speakers or from the box itself?

How is each device connected? If using scart leads, are they both the same quality?
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

Do you mean disk drive noise, or noise coming through the TV speakers?

If the latter, how is the Toppy connected to your TV? (I assume the Humax is using HDMI; obviously the 5800 isn't.) Have you re-seated all the cables? Have you tried using different cables?

Julie

P.S. If your signature is up to date, you should update to MyStuff 6.4 and MyInfo 5.6. MS 6.4 has an important fix that will reduce the likelihood of a disk wipe in certain situations with poor signal, and MyInfo 5.6 understands the recent changes in the way the EPG channels are handled. If you use the MyStuff installer, you'll get both (together with some useful Utility TAPs).
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3555
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Re: more noise on TV with Toppy on Freeview than with Humax

Post by alan_m »

tombar wrote:Is it normal for a Toppy connected to Freeview to make far more background noise at the TV than a Humax connected to Freesat? This is what happens on my setup.
Audio noise or picture noise?

The simple answer is .... not on my Toppy/Humax set-up. However, on both platforms the amount of audio compression used by the broadcasters on some of the lesser channels does produce some pretty poor sound.

Are you comparing the SD TV on the Toppy and the HD TV channel on Freesat? The sound quality can be a lot better on some channels if your TV can decode surround sound. SD carries stereo sound (or mono on some channels) whilst HD can have Dolby 5.1 surround.

How have you connected your Toppy box to the TV, SCART or aerial cable? For instance, if your Toppy is connected via the aerial cable from its own modulator the sound will only be mono, and not stereo as from the SCART etc.

Does you TV have a pseudo surround round mode that is getting completely lost decoding mono or poor stereo? When you perceive noisy audio does switching to mono or stereo (rather than surround sound) make a difference?

Often audience sounds in game shows, Xfactor etc, can sound overpowering when over-compressed audio is decoded by a AV amp to something other than stereo.

Define what you mean by "background noise". Is it a hiss or is it buzzing on the TV that may changes with picture content?

Is it a mechanical buzz or rattle from the Toppy box itself?

Is it a type of shhh noise on speech when someone pronounces a s or t sound?

Does your TV have separate configurable parameters for each of its inputs? If so, are the Humax sound (Bass/Treble) audio controls set to something sensible whilst the setting for the Toppy's input is for full treble?
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
tombar
Regular contributor
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:42 pm
Location: Kendal

Post by tombar »

What a lot of replies! Have just come in and had a quick read.

Both are connected by SCART leads, though probably not the same quality. The toppy one is a black one and the Humax one a silver one.

The noise comes from the TV. The "background noise" is a medium-to-loud buzzing on the TV that changed with picture content, adverts, and probably speed of forward wind.

Both are not on HD channels - if that's SD, that's what they ae

For all the other suggestions, I'll have to work though them one by one.
,?
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

tombar wrote:The "background noise" is a medium-to-loud buzzing on the TV that changed with picture content, adverts, and probably speed of forward wind.
This sounds like the symptoms of 'vision on sound' which one got in analogue days if the tuning was off. Not sure how a digital TV reacts.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

tombar wrote:Both are connected by SCART leads, though probably not the same quality. The toppy one is a black one and the Humax one a silver one.
So lets say you currently have
H <--C1--> S1
T <--C2--> S2
where H is the Humax, T is the Toppy, C1 is Cable1, C2 is Cable2, S1 is the SCART connector on the TV that you currently use for the Humax, and S2 is the SCART cable you're currently using for the Toppy.

The obvious things to try are:

H <--C2--> S1
T <--C1--> S2
If the problem moves to the Humax, C2 is an inferior/faulty cable.

H <--C1--> S2
T <--C2--> S1
If the problem moves to the Humax in this case, then S1 on the TV is inferior/faulty/needs different config.

If the problem stays with the Toppy throughout, then there's an issue with the Toppy or its SCART connector. Which SCART connector are you using on the Toppy?

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3555
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

Bizman wrote:
tombar wrote:The "background noise" is a medium-to-loud buzzing on the TV that changed with picture content, adverts, and probably speed of forward wind.
This sounds like the symptoms of 'vision on sound' which one got in analogue days if the tuning was off. Not sure how a digital TV reacts.
I agree it does appear to be similar to the analogue tuning problems of the past.

tombar, what is the Toppy set for? Menu -> System Settings -> A/V output settings -> Video Output

The signals over the SCART lead are analogue so maybe the levels are too high.

The Toppy can output over the SCART lead:
Composite (CVBS)
Component (YUV)
Red Green Blue (RGB)
S Video

Ideally the TV should be connected RGB or Composite (via a SCART to component cable) but if tombar already has his Humax on RGB the other SCART input on his TV may not support RGB and maybe the Toppy input is via the inferior Composite standard. If this is the case it is probably a tuning issue and adjusting the TVs fine tuning when viewing the Toppy's output may solve the problem.

Alternatively, if there is no RGB support on a second TV SCART input socket consider an alternative method of connection. If you TV has separate component inputs try a scart to component cable or a s-video cable.

Also swap the scart leads to see if the problem changes. There are poor scart leads and better quality fully screened scart leads. Price is often not an indication of quality as fully screened scart leads can be purchased for £3 to £5.
http://www.admac.myzen.co.uk/scart2/

The shells of most scart leads are only clipped together (maybe with a screw collar where the leads enter) so you can usually dismantle the leads you have to establish if you have fully screened of poor quality cables.

My prefference is for ribbon cable scart leads as they put less stress on the connections at the back of the boxes
http://www.admac.myzen.co.uk/scart/
Available these days for a few quid from many sources on the web.
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
ryclark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: Shropshire

Post by ryclark »

How are you adjusting the volume, on the TV or individually from each set top box? Are the audio levels from the Toppy and the Humax similar or do you have to turn one up or down when you select between the two of them?

These sort of problems can occur if the volume on the set top box is set too low and you have to turn up the TV volume to compensate. Generally the volume should be set to more or less full level on the Toppy and Humax and the volume adjusted via the TV (or amplifier if you have sound going via a separate system).
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
nvingo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:54 pm
Location: Norfolk

Post by nvingo »

The symptom as described would be interference from the video signal on the audio signal.
This could be by the scart cable having common earth for both signals, or by crosstalk between the video conductor and audio conductor in a scart cable without individually screened conductors.

As to whether the TV can accept RGB signals on both scart sockets or not, the devices could be connected thus:
H<--C1-->T(aux.scart)/T(tv.scart)<--C2-->S1
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+Pe
TAPs: toppypal v3.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; Surfer v0.14; PcControl X25a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/4/12
?
arrow57
Regular contributor
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 8:33 pm

Post by arrow57 »

Hi all, I have just bought a second hand topfield 5810 and although the picture quality is good the sound is appalling. The sound is a mixture of a boiling kettle hissing, a log fire crackling and someone gargling. There is speech in the background but it is indistinguishable from the rest of the noise. I have searched the forum for an answer but, whilst it was interesting as always, it gave no answer. I have checked the scart cables and the arial connections but they are good. The recorded programs now are obscured by the noise and I am fast becoming desperate. Any help or advice would be good.
arrow57
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Have you tried an hdmi lead?
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

My first reaction was that I didn't think 5810s HAD a SCART connector. Seems I remembered wrong though (we use HDMI for ours anyway). In fact, the reason we use the 5810 instead of the 5800 these days is BECAUSE of the HDMI cable, which allows us to plug it into the 8 HDMI-port sound system, and also (via that and some other bits of kit) distribute the signal to other TVs around the house.

https://sites.google.com/site/juwlztopp ... 00-vs-5810

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3490
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

A secondhand 5810 may not have had its PSU capacitors changed, or its front panel clock battery replaced.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
arrow57
Regular contributor
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 8:33 pm

Post by arrow57 »

ccs wrote:Have you tried an hdmi lead?
Hi, sadly I am waiting for my old (no HDMI) TV to break, I live in hope, but I will test it on my daughters lovely modern TV, I'll let you know how I get on.
arrow57
Post Reply