For questions, answers and tips aimed at new users, or those thinking about buying a Toppy

Moderators: General, Technical

Post Reply
Biscuitman2
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:40 pm

Connection issue

Post by Biscuitman2 »

Hi
My daughter managed to format my 5800 and I'm now having great difficulty in getting my PCs to connect with the toppy.

Altair finds the toppy ok. It just shows 3 old recordings, no other folders - is this right?

However when I try to run the Mystuff auto installer it comes up with
TTW Error unable to detect toppy directories
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

Did she use the Toppy to do the format or a PC? The formats are different.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
Biscuitman2
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:40 pm

Post by Biscuitman2 »

Bizman wrote:Did she use the Toppy to do the format or a PC? The formats are different.
She did it with the toppy remote
Biscuitman2
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:40 pm

Post by Biscuitman2 »

just checked a guide to installing TAPs and it seems to suggest that there should be three folders on the toppy when viewed by Altair

DataFiles
ProgramFiles
MP3

I cannot see these folders, is there an issue with the drive?
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

Not knowing how old the Toppy is, it could be the PSU capacitors causing supply voltage problems.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
Biscuitman2
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:40 pm

Post by Biscuitman2 »

Bizman wrote:Not knowing how old the Toppy is, it could be the PSU capacitors causing supply voltage problems.
It's probably between 2-3 years old, a panther black 250Gb 5800
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Re: Connection issue

Post by ccs »

Biscuitman2 wrote:Hi
My daughter managed to format my 5800. Altair finds the toppy ok. It just shows 3 old recordings, no other folders - is this right?
This doesn't really make any sense. The old recordings shouldn't be there. Are they in the datafiles folder?
I'd be tempted to reformat and try again.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Biscuitman2
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:40 pm

Post by Biscuitman2 »

There isn't a datafiles folder, there are NO FOLDERS AT ALL

there are just three (now 2) old recordings. I deleted one just to see if I could

have feeling it may be dying :(
Biscuitman2
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:40 pm

Post by Biscuitman2 »

after another format as suggested hard drive detected! Fingers crossed hope that Mystuff will install - it has!

Many thanks everyone!
Post Reply