For questions, answers and tips aimed at new users, or those thinking about buying a Toppy

Moderators: General, Technical

Post Reply
Blunham Palace
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:05 pm

HDD Failure - how to confirm.

Post by Blunham Palace »

Hello, I think I know where this may be going as I've read around the forums a bit but wanted to check before I take the wrong action.

Returned from holiday to find my 5800 locked up. On reboot it went into a screen asking me to agree to a HDD format. It now does this every time I power off and on.

Obviously no TAPs working and when I connect PC to Toppy using Altair it cannot see the device at all.

I've now removed the HHD from the Toppy and plugged it into my desktop. The disk management tool sees the HDD but lists it as Unallocated. I can't see the drive from explorer.
I also tried running TopfHDRW on the desktop but it doesn't find the drive that way either.
If I use TopfHDDR to select the drive then I get the message 'The selected disk seems to be a PC Hard Disk. Performing a check on a PC Drive will destroy all partitions. Did you choose the correct drive?'
I was hoping to salvage thedata from the drive so haven't proceeded any further.

So..checking my logic.
It seems apparent that for whatever reason the HDD has been corrupted/wiped, however given that I can still see the drive the physical device may not have failed completely. My data is lost.

Step 1 - I will need to reformat.

The reason for the failure could be due to caps. Before I replace these are there some voltage checks I can make in the system to identify if this is the issue.
Is there anything else that could result in the same thing ?

Step 2 - depending on outcome of checks replace caps (andyfras).

Thanks for any inputs,

Chris
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: HDD Failure - how to confirm.

Post by andyfras »

Blunham Palace wrote:The reason for the failure could be due to caps. Before I replace these are there some voltage checks I can make in the system to identify if this is the issue.
There is a lot of information in the wiki

You can check the voltages on the PSU connector, which is labelled with the voltages (approximate). The key voltage is 5V, if it goes low, the others go high - this is a definite indication of capacitor failure.
Is there anything else that could result in the same thing ?
If your Toppy is few years old (I'm guessing about 4.5 years), it's worth replacing the capacitors as a first step.
Step 2 - depending on outcome of checks replace caps (andyfras).
Here I am. :D

As TopfHDRW is not seeing the HDD when attached to your PC (check that it is set to Master, some USB adapters don't recognise it otherwise), your only option is format. If that works OK, load the HDDInfo TAP and check for any disk hardware problems, such as reallocated sectors.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
jumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4731
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:25 pm

Post by jumbo »

The chances are that your hard drive is OK although it may have some bad sectors which could be sorted using TopfHDRW. You should, as suggested by Andy, suspect your PSU. Check that before proceeding with anything else. Andy provides a DIY kit for faulty PSUs. He can also do the work for a fee if you send him the PSU or the Toppy itself.

What size/make/type is your hard drive? You can always use the drive manufacturers utilities to check the drive. Persevere with TopfHDRW. It does work but may well be a bit sensitive to your OS and/or the way you've connected the drive to your desktop.
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

jumbo wrote:Persevere with TopfHDRW. It does work but may well be a bit sensitive to your OS and/or the way you've connected the drive to your desktop.
I needed to use it recently, and couldn't get it to work on my 32-bit Win 7 PC, but it was fine on my old 16-bit WinXP netbook. If you have a choice of PCs to try, give it a go on a different one.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
Monode
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:31 am

Post by Monode »

Hi, first post here as I just discovered the Topfield.

Firstly DON'T USE Windows!!! It does all sorts of nasty things to bare drives, writes signatures, marks sectors as bad, keeps trying damaged data until the drive's firmware locks up or just dies and can't see pretty much anything other than FAT16, FAT32 and NTFS so if the Toppy uses any of the innumerate file systems (like journal format) out there then windows will actually damage the file structure.

The best thing is to download something like Hirens Boot CD which is Linux, Free and contains about 400 utils. Burn the ISO to CD, boot off it and it will find your USB / IDE / SATA drive and mount it. You should be able to recover damaged boot straps, MBRs, partitions even striped data - I've done this before with RAID containers, it saved my life!

If you insist on using Windows then try the free tool Recuva to get your files back.

Hope this helps.

Monode
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

Monode wrote:Firstly DON'T USE Windows!!! It does all sorts of nasty things to bare drives, writes signatures, marks sectors as bad, keeps trying damaged data until the drive's firmware locks up or just dies and can't see pretty much anything other than FAT16, FAT32 and NTFS so if the Toppy uses any of the innumerate file systems (like journal format) out there then windows will actually damage the file structure.
Windows on its own won't even be able see a Toppy hard drive, which has a proprietary format (and NOT "any of the innumerate files systems" you mention).

That's why TopfHDRW was written (and AFAIK, there is no equivalent for any OS other than Windows), which does understand and can repair Toppy File Systems.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3550
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

Monode wrote:Hi, first post here as I just discovered the Topfield.

Firstly DON'T USE Windows.
Nothing wrong with windows as long as you use the support software that reads/writes using the proprietry format that Topfield use on their disks.
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
Post Reply