For questions, answers and tips aimed at new users, or those thinking about buying a Toppy

Moderators: General, Technical

Post Reply
JP70
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: West Yorkshire

Uk Digital Switchover

Post by JP70 »

:?: PVR 5800 - Hangs after UK Digital Switchover - have updated F/W to 5.13.65F
jumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4731
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:25 pm

Post by jumbo »

See other posts. Lots of detail given by others. What makes you different? Telegraphic posts get this reply 8)
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

You MUST do a factory reset before retuning in order to clear the old channels.

If you are running MyStuff, delete all EPG Data (EPG.mei, EPG.raw, EPG_diff.mei).

You may have to hold down the 0 button while rebooting in order to do the above as your Toppy is now hanging.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
JP70
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: West Yorkshire

Post by JP70 »

Hi Andy - Perhaps I have a genuine fault - but it was OK before I teied to load channels on digital switchover? Please see previous reply- many thanks
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Re: Uk Digital Switchover

Post by juwlz »

JP70 wrote:have updated F/W to 5.13.65F
5.13.65F??? Never heard of it. What you need is 5.13.65T (otherwise you'll have problems with the scan, which you probably haven't seen yet because you haven't had to scan in the last 2-3 years since the problem was found and fixed), and you MUST then do a Factory Reset and scan for channels again.

1. Update firmware to 5.13.65T (typo corrected)
2. Factory Reset
3. Scan for channels
4. Delete duplicates

Julie
Last edited by juwlz on Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
Wallace
Frequent contributor
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:18 am

Re: Uk Digital Switchover

Post by Wallace »

juwlz wrote:
1. Update firmware to 6.13.65T

Julie
Version 6, lol.

Typo me thinks.....
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
?
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

We really need your configuration so we know exactly what you have.

Assuming you have a windows pc, please load TopManager (link in my signature) and use The "Connection|Settings" to create a USB connection and "Connection| Open" to access the toppy.

Please copy and paste the output of "Display| MyInfo Log". If it is "greyed out", use the "Tools| Install Tap| MyInfo", reboot and wait 2 minutes before retrying the Display command.

Note, if you have never accessed the toppy before via your pc. you will need to install driver software first. However, if you have previously accessed the toppy with Altair, then your existing drivers will be ok (assuming you connect the usb cable to the same socket).

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Re: Uk Digital Switchover

Post by juwlz »

Wallace wrote:
juwlz wrote:1. Update firmware to 6.13.65T
Version 6, lol. Typo me thinks...
:oops: Now corrected.
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
vonclimax
Regular contributor
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 9:16 am
Location: WestMids (Sutton C'field Tx)

Post by vonclimax »

Returning home after 14 days absence on 7 Sept we found all the Toppy timers set had been recorded. When selecting them from the archive however, MyStuff flagged something like:
"This is part of a merged recording & cannot be played as the 2nd part has not yet been recorded."

On scrolling down to my next (inabsentia) recording - or accidentally pressing another key in error - a screen appeared on which MyStuff offered a description of the recording similiar to a 'Windows' 'Properties' label. After this all the recordings made during our absence became available.

I then found several BBC freeview channels were unavailable & realised at least one of the digital switchover steps scheduled for September had occured.

So, exited MyStuff & did a re-tune WITHOUT a factory reset.
Great! Missing channels restored & Mystuff offers to delete duplications which I gladly accept.

Since then everything is fine, but I see from the posts above I should have done a factory reset. What would you advise please.
Thanks in advance...
Gwyn
TF5800s,2,fan cooled,TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PcControl X27a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/7/12
?
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

vonclimax wrote:Since then everything is fine, but I see from the posts above I should have done a factory reset. What would you advise please.
If you're sure that all is working OK, do the factory reset before the next stage of the DSO retune in a few days (21st September).
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
vonclimax
Regular contributor
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 9:16 am
Location: WestMids (Sutton C'field Tx)

Post by vonclimax »

Thanks Andy, will reset prior to DSO on 21/9
Gwyn
TF5800s,2,fan cooled,TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PcControl X27a;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/7/12
?
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

vonclimax wrote:Thanks Andy, will reset prior to DSO on 21/9
Gwyn
Do the factory reset after the DSO, before the retune.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Post Reply