For questions, answers and tips aimed at new users, or those thinking about buying a Toppy

Moderators: General, Technical

juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

oash wrote:The toppy and the laptop definitely see each other as the annoying windows hardware wizard keeps popping up
The annoying windows wizard popping up proves that you don't have the drivers installed (for that port).

Proceed as directed by Geoff above.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
oash
Regular contributor
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:42 am

Post by oash »

Geoff Bacon wrote:Sounds like you do not have any Windows drivers loaded on the pc.

Is this the first time that you have tried to connect the pc and toppy?
No You probably haven't inserted the USB cable into the same port as last time. Try each port in turn until the "New hardware" wizard fails to run; this should be the port you used last time.

Yes, it is the first time You need to load drivers on the pc. The drivers need to be installed before you connect the toppy (if you let windows use the "new hardware" wizard, the drivers it will install will not work). Install the driver as detailed in the Topfield instructions (if the "new hardware" wiz has already run, try another USB port or go into device manager and delete the Topfield device).

If you can't get the drivers to install, try the following:-
1) Google "z4t site:toppy.org.uk" and install/run z4t on the pc
2) During the installation, make a note of where the files are being stored.
3) Browse your Program Files folder on the pc and locate the TFDN_USB.exe file. In the same folder, there will be a file called TfDLL.DLL - rename this to TfDLL_orig.DLL
4) Copy the TfDLL.dll installed by step 2 into the folder of step 3.
5) Hopefully, you should then be able to run tfDN_USB

Geoff
thanks Geoff
but now the toppy completely unrelatedly seems to never end veryfying its files. Whilst I'm waiting for that so that i can try to get it in standby mode again ...- I've uninstalled and re-installed topfied tools whilst disconnected from toppy (as per your instructions). wish me luck on getting the toppy onto standby! Then I'll try the rest
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4662
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Try booting tapless by pressing 0 on the remote until the picture shows (note: this will only work if you are running TAPs on the toppy; if you have never connected to a pc before it is unlikely to have any effect as the standard Toppy comes without TAPs).

Also, you have checked that you can't do a "Factory Reset" from the standard topy menu (no need for TFDN_USB then but it assumes you can get the box to a state where it is not verifying/crashing).

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

VF&F normally occurs when the Toppy didn't shut down cleanly, either because it was unplugged without being put into standby first, or because the last shutdown was a crash.

Starting up with 0 held down will only help to prevent a crash associated with one of the Auto Start TAPs and therefore a subsequent VF&F.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
oash
Regular contributor
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:42 am

Post by oash »

Thanks Geoff and Juwlz. I tried all your suggestions to no avail Google "z4t site:toppy.org.uk" and install/run z4t on the pc
- I cannot find this download.

However some movement has occured - the toppy has changed its course. It now allows me to start - it so I've since done a factory reset satisfactorily. I turned it off on to standby using the remote afterwards in order to restart it to run mystuff tap as usual. It has just spent the last 60 minutes - showing a channel ok but is still in VF&F. I suppose this is progress. Should I perhaps have opted for a firmware update /change when I had the chance in the menu?
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

oash wrote:It has just spent the last 60 minutes - showing a channel ok but is still in VF&F.
I've found that the best way out this is to connect the HDD to a PC and use TopfHDRW to fix or format it. Then reconnect to Toppy and reformat.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
oash
Regular contributor
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:42 am

Post by oash »

this means physically removing the hard-drive? and how does one go about connecting it to a computer? Do you have a link for this method?
thanks
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

http://www.topfield.cc/files/Firebird/T ... _Setup.zip

It does mean removing the disk, or at least disconnecting it, from your Toppy. You can connect it to your PC either directly or via a USB caddy. TopfHDRW and TopfHDDoctor allow a Toppy formatted disk to be recognised on a PC. Also useful for transferring files and recordings from old disk to new when upgrading.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4662
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

Here is a link to the drivers

However, it sounds as though the file structure is knackered so you probably won't be able to connect anyway (well until the VF&F finishes which is probably never).

Selecting firmware update while in the menus won't help (there haven't been any OverTheAir updates for a couple of years).

I think you will have to bite the bullet and reformat the disk - if you want to try to save anything on it then you will have to remove it from the toppy, connect it to a pc and run TopfHDRW as andyfras suggested. If you don't want anything on the disk, you can probably just select format from the main menu (assuming you can get to that point!).

If you do a reformat, this is best done on the toppy and not in TopHDRW (use TopHDRW to recover the data then reformat in the toppy).

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
oash
Regular contributor
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:42 am

Post by oash »

Thanks - re-formatted on the toppy by waiting forever - - but alas it still vF&Fs for ever and a day!
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Did you format it using TopfHDDoctor while it was connected to the PC first?

Did we ever establish how old your 5810 is? I have repaired two recently that were just over two years old when the capacitors began to fail.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
oash
Regular contributor
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:42 am

Post by oash »

I bought it second-hand 18months ago.....
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

In that case, there's a strong chance that the PSU is beginning to fail and that is what is causing the symptoms you are seeing.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Stuart P
Regular contributor
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:54 pm
Location: Hitchin, Herts

Post by Stuart P »

just got the 'Firmware was changed with a latest one. Reset all data is highly recommended. Will you proceed it?' message for the first time on my mums 5810 :( only taps on the machine are mystuff and channel organiser and these were both installed over a year ago.

phoned turbosat for help and was advised to put the machine into standby, then pull the mains plug out, plug back in and restart. machine booted ok, allbeit without mystuff. left the machine on for an hour to get the epg coming through again and upon checking, mystuff had loaded. switched the machine off and on again in the usual way (using the standby button on the remote) and the machine boots as normal now ie with mystuff running from boot up :)

so what is the likely cause of this and can anything be done to prevent this in future? i live a fair distance now from my mums place and connecting up altair via a pc is a no go at the moment.
TF5800PVRt | 5.13.65T | TAPs - TF5000 Display v1.53 | Extend v1.7 | MyInfo B4.0 | EPG2MEI v0.94 | MyStuff 6.4
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

Stuart P wrote:only taps on the machine are mystuff and channel organiser and these were both installed over a year ago.
Plus all the support TAPs for MyStuff, presumably ;-)
so what is the likely cause of this
Memory corruption
... and can anything be done to prevent this in future?
Delete all unnecessary channels (pay, porn, shopping, etc.). This is especially important on a 5810, which has less memory available than 5800s. The more channels you have, the more memory MyStuff will use storing EPG data for them all (and the harder both it and EPG2MEI will have to work searching through it and collecting it in the first place). The more memory you use, the more likely the firmware is to screw up with the memory handling, and the more chance you get of memory corruption.

Aim for a total of no more than 40 TV + Radio, which is usually easy to achieve when you weed out all the dross. If you can talk your mum through running CO, she can do it without a PC connected.

Also, make sure she switches it off (i.e. puts it in standby) when not in use. The latest version of MyStuff (6.4) has options to shut down automatically at night (at a time of your choice) if not in use.

Finally, if it's getting on a bit, it might be time for a bit of pre-emptive TLC for the power supply capacitors from andyfras or MikeyP. Again, this tends to be needed sooner on a 5810 than on a 5800 which runs cooler. It's not unheard of for the power supply on a 5810 to start playing up after 2 years.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
Post Reply