For discussion about the Freeview and TopUp TV platforms or other TV-related topics, except programmes

Moderator: General

Post Reply
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Not Toppy - HD Mux disappeared

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

I have various programmes set to record on my YouView box when I want to watch something in HD. Yesterday I set it to record the rugby, but it failed. The HD channels were all extremely flakey, though I had recorded successfully on Friday night. If I turned up the aerial amp to max, they would play badly, but the Toppy doesn't like that amount of signal. I checked using the Panasonic TV, and it was having the same issues. I've had problems with BBC4HD occasionally, but now it's the whole MUX.

I did a rescan on the TV this morning, and it ignored the MUX all together. I was going to do a manual scan on Channel 41, but the "DVB Tuning" menu option was greyed out. I restarted the TV and the menu option had disappeared all together :roll: I did a factory reset of the TV, which includes a rescan, and both the HD channels and the menu option are still missing. I'm not sure if the two are related, but I'm struggling to find a solution.

I'm on Emley Moor in Yorkshire, though I can receive programmes from Teesside if necessary.
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

UkFree says no current problems with Emley Moor transmitter

aerial blown down?
water in the aerial lead?
Problem with the TV HD decoders (there is more than one HD mux so unlikely to to be related to a single mux and, assuming you could previously get HD from Teesside, not transmitter related)

[edit] ask neighbours if they have a similar problem?[/edit]

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

bbc4 hd is on a different mux to the other hd channels.

I thought water in the leads was a myth until I lost reception and discovered the powered splitter/signal booster was full of water!
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
gomezz
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4000
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Buckingham
Contact:

Post by gomezz »

On the assumption you have managed to avoid result spoilers the rugby will be on BBC iPlayer / ITV Hub if you still want to watch them.

As already noted BBC4HD is on the lower powered COM7 MUX while BBC1HD and ITV HD are on a higher, normal powered MUX.
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Thanks for the suggestions. I did check the UKFree site for the MUX, and it's not been showing any problems since I first checked yesterday evening

The aerial's in the loft, so I hope it's not moved or got a leak. Last time I had a similar problem, it was to do with dry joints, so I removed and cleaned the aerial connections when I first found the problem

I've just checked, and I am seeing Channel 4+1 HD and Al Jazeera HD channels on both the TV and the YouView box and they're at a much lower wattage, so it seems to be the single MUX on C41, containing BBC and ITV.

As mentioned, I am getting a barely acceptable signal through if I up the gain on the amp, so I don't think it's a problem with the decoder.

Out of interest, I ran the signal monitor TAP on the toppy, and all are showing 98-100 quality and signal, though obviously it won't scan C41.

I wonder if there's some interference...
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Ignore
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

I lose reception completely on COM6 C60- (785.8MHz) when it rains.

I'm assuming it's because of localised rain as I never have problems when it's dry. :?

Tree's pruned and not in leaf at the moment, new aerial, new leads, new variable powered amp, and it still happens. All the other mux's are fine.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Well they've all returned, if still with the occasional artefact. I guess something was interfering and has now moved away.

Thanks for you help and suggestions :)
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Thinking about it more, I lost the hd mux's 2 Sundays ago, I was able to record on sd as well, so nothing lost.
It happened for a while on the Monday, but has been ok since.

I can't image it was scheduled for that sort of time, but an odd coincidence none the less.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
underquark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1793
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:52 pm

Post by underquark »

I've fixed signal issue in two locations by replacing dodgy/marginal aerials and cables. This site has lots of good information (and I've bought stuff from them at reasonalbe prices).

https://www.aerialsandtv.com/emleymoortx.html
A 5800 and a 5810 still in use with various dead ones and bits lying around, one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.6; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; Various remotes - URC1056B01 (my fav.), URC11-7140 R02 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
Post Reply