For discussion about the Freeview and TopUp TV platforms or other TV-related topics, except programmes

Moderator: General

Post Reply
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Belmont transmitter problems 12/03/14

Post by ccs »

Bit obscure this.

Wednesday night (12th) at about 21:20 I lost all freeview channels for about 25 minutes. TV's and toppies both affected.

I connected a tv directly (ie no booster) to the aerial and got no signal.

Signal restored at about 21:55 and ok since. Setup unchanged.

My next door neighbour assures me that he was watching freeview at that time and it was fine.

My mother, 20 miles nearer the same transmitter, had no problems, and recorded bbc2 21:00-22:00 on her 5810.

A friend 10 miles nearer to the same transmitter had the same problems as me.

Most confusing.

The only thing I can think of is a mismatch of mux's, but my mum's is setup exactly the same as mine, and I have never seen rogue mux's getting thru'.

Anyone else have problems with Belmont last wednesday?
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
billmars
Frequent contributor
Posts: 761
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 2:01 pm

Post by billmars »

Yes, I had the same. Continued to watch on Panasonic TV's freesat.
I was watching ITV3+1 (Poirot), and seem to remember going to other freeview channels, presumably on different MUX's, which were OK.
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
HydeTheDarkerSide
Frequent contributor
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
Contact:

Post by HydeTheDarkerSide »

Same thing here on Hannington but only impacted my Youview box. Toppy and TV were both okay and use the same aerial feed. Have to say I put the blame firmly at Youview's door based on my experience but perhaps there was something a little odder going on :?

I lost the Michael McIntyre show on BBC1 HD owing to No Signal on the Huawei Youview box.
Hyde.
[size=10:da1fd20a33][b:da1fd20a33]2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate [/b:da1fd20a33], TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
[color=blue:da1fd20a33]MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml[/color:da1fd20a33]
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13[/size:da1fd20a33]
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Thanks for all the replies.

Another neighbour didn't have any problems, so I'm beginning to wonder if it was caused by too strong a signal.

Is the theory to use a variable attenuator and then try to get 99% signal strength maximum across all mux's,

or reduce the strength further, keeping the quality at 98% minimum?

I suppose it depends on whether signal strength variations tend to be higher or lower.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

ccs wrote:Is the theory to use a variable attenuator and then try to get 99% signal strength maximum across all mux's,
or reduce the strength further, keeping the quality at 98% minimum?
The theory and the practice are 2 different things.

When I reduced the signal strength to just below 100, the quality on the worst mux was poor.
I had to increase the strength by 2 turns of the adjuster screw to get the quality high enough.
So it appears that the strength is now above the 100 mark again.

Currently the attenuator is set 1 and a half turns off zero attenuation. (It has no calibration marks to work with.)
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

ccs wrote:Currently the attenuator is set 1 and a half turns off zero attenuation. (It has no calibration marks to work with.)
Neither has the Toppy, 100% of what? Not all tuners have the same sensitivity, so it's just a guide.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
Post Reply