General discussion relating to Topfield products for the Australian market

Moderators: General, Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
bongles
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 7:47 am

7260 problem with H.264 videos

Post by bongles »

Okay i'm having an issue with H.264 videos.

I'll copy them to an external HDD, plug it into the toppy, and there won't be anything on it, or it'll only show some of them, but it shows that all the space they are taking up is being used. Even if I transfer them to the pvr disk via ethernet they still don't show up.

I can delete them off the disk and re-copy them to it again and they still don't show up. But sometimes if I recode them from the DVD again using the exact same settings, copy them to the disk and woosh they are there and playable.

It's a gamble whether anything I put on the pvr or an external disk will show up in the media player or not.

At first I thought it was an encode setting issue, but if it was then encoding it again with the same settings wouldn't work.

Currently i'm using handbrake with the following settings:

Anamorphic: Strict
Cropping: Custom set to 0
Decomb: Default
Framerate: Constant
Quality: Constant quality 18RF
x264: Preset: Slow
x264 Tune: Film
H.264 Profile: High
H.264 Level: 4.1

After my first DVD copy when all bar one episode wasn't visible I went and tried changing each setting to see if it was a specific one the 7260 had an issue with but couldn't narrow it down as sometimes just changing Profile to Main fixed the issue for one episode but others still didn't show up and changing level to 3.2 fixed it for those but still again others wern't working etc etc, it wasn't just one thing that seemed to change it all.

The above settings I thought were the solution as I started using those and everything i'd backup and try to view on the 7260 was fine but when I started to backup NCIS:LA and the first two discs showed up on 7260 no problem but then only the 1st episode on the 3rd disc showed up. Copied the files to the external HDD a few times and still wouldn't show so recoded them same settings and all the episodes showed up including the 4th disc but last night after doing disc 5 and 6 they wouldn't show up so i recoded them and today after finishing the recodes still arn't showing up, recoded them again using Main for profile and 4.0 level but still none of the last two discs will show up.

I am reluctant to continue backing up my collection untill I know if the issue is only the 7260 or the actual files themselves (so could have the same issue in the future on another device) though I don't see how its the actual files since they all play fine on the two computers, the laptop and the tablet.
HydeTheDarkerSide
Frequent contributor
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
Contact:

Post by HydeTheDarkerSide »

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I suspect this is an Australian model of Topfield PVR?

You might get a faster response for this query in the "OZ Toppies" section of the forum. Let me know if you'd like me to move your post to that section.
Hyde.
[size=10:da1fd20a33][b:da1fd20a33]2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate [/b:da1fd20a33], TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
[color=blue:da1fd20a33]MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml[/color:da1fd20a33]
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13[/size:da1fd20a33]
HydeTheDarkerSide
Frequent contributor
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
Contact:

Post by HydeTheDarkerSide »

Moving thread to OZ Toppies section as no responses captured in the Bugs section.
Hyde.
[size=10:da1fd20a33][b:da1fd20a33]2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate [/b:da1fd20a33], TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
[color=blue:da1fd20a33]MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml[/color:da1fd20a33]
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13[/size:da1fd20a33]
bongles
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 7:47 am

Post by bongles »

Thnx.
arrow57
Regular contributor
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 8:33 pm

Post by arrow57 »

Hi, I am thinking of upgrading from the 5800 to the 7260, I get the impression that this will not work in the UK? I have spent hours trying to get a definitive answer to this to no avail. I would dearly love to get the 7260 and would appreciate any advice regarding a solution if it will not work in the UK or a recommendation to a workable close alternative to the 7260. thanks. Arrow57.
arrow57
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

arrow57 wrote:Hi, I am thinking of upgrading from the 5800 to the 7260, I get the impression that this will not work in the UK? I have spent hours trying to get a definitive answer to this to no avail. I would dearly love to get the 7260 and would appreciate any advice regarding a solution if it will not work in the UK or a recommendation to a workable close alternative to the 7260. thanks. Arrow57.
See the duplicate question (and replies) in this thread

To summarise: it's highly unlikely that any PVR designed to be used in Australia will work satisfactorily in the UK.
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
Post Reply