General discussion relating to Topfield products for the Australian market

Moderators: General, Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
topical
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:24 am

PC doesn't see External HDD formated by Topfield 7160

Post by topical »

I recently installed VideoRedo, and wanted to convert the recordings on External HDDs from the Topfield 7160.

However, the computer doesn't see them, although the External HDD appears in Disk Manager. The PC operating system is Windows 7 I think.

I also installed some software including TopOfHD, but that doesn't seem to help.

Does anyone know how I can access the recordings on the External HDD?

Thanks.
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Assuming that the same format is used as on other Toppies, TopfHDRW must be running on a PC in order to read a Toppy disk.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
FireBird
Frequent contributor
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 10:47 pm
Location: Vienna/Austria

Post by FireBird »

If it has been formatted by the 7160, it is probably jfs.
topical
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:24 am

Post by topical »

Thanks for the replies. I've been busy so haven't had time to experiment with some of these things.

When I try to open TopfHDReadWrite with the External HDD on and visible in device manager, I get the message:


"I didn't find a Topfield PVR 5000 Hard Drive.

Is the HD visible in the device manager?
Did you start TopfHDRead/Write as an administrator?"


I click OK and the popup closes. Is there any option to get my computer to see the External HDD?

Thanks.
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

5xxx Toppies don't use jfs, so TopfHDRW won't see it, if Firebird is right (which he probably is).
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
topical
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:24 am

Post by topical »

Actually, I found this: http://whrl.pl/Rc2QJc

I had found that before posting here, but didn't understand the jargon. However, I read it more carefully, did a wikipedia search for linux, and I think I understand what I have to do.

Am currently downloading SystemRescueCD, apparently I have to boot into Linux and copy files from the JFS drive to the Windows directory.
Post Reply