General discussion relating to Topfield products for the Australian market

Moderators: General, Technical, Oz mods

corbijn
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:10 am

Pictures not showing up :(

Post by corbijn »

Hi all,

I was just about to print this out to try and run the fix on my machine, unfortunately the images are gone?

Does anyone have a PDF or anything of the article with images?

Tks
kermit
Frequent contributor
Posts: 972
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by kermit »

The images are still there in this threads initial post, or you can go direct to the original source; link is at the top of original post.
Cheers Simon
>8-]

TF5000PVRt 500GB March '09 f/w
pearce_jj
Regular contributor
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:59 pm

Post by pearce_jj »

What concerns me is that mine, like the one pitctured, has the AC input connected with the neutral side fused, which probably explains why people are getting shocks off the heatsink.

This is really dangerous IMO - will be seeking a second opinion.
Thanks!
br14nh
Regular contributor
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 7:02 am
Location: SW Sydney, Australia

Post by br14nh »

Shocks from the heatsink are due to circuit design. It is not uncommon to find this in Switch Mode Power Supplies.

As for the fuse on the Neutral side, I haven't ripped the lid of lately to look... but you are quite right when you say it is VERY DANGEROUS.

Noone should attempt repairs at this level unless they can follow the basic instructions given here with confidence - if anyone feels uncomfortable with the risks, by all means they should refer to a qualified repair person.
snowyjoey
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:00 pm

Post by snowyjoey »

Hi Everyone,

Thanks for this guide. I have followed it and changed the 6 caps in my 5800. I measured the voltages with my old analogue multi-meter and whilst not perfect, were a lot better than before.

However now my toppy wont even start up, although it did before. The HDD wont spin up and although the toppy responds to the remote on/standby, only an intermittent flickering is seen on the screen.

Any ideas, anyone?

I probably need professional help - where should I go?

Thanks
~Joe
kermit
Frequent contributor
Posts: 972
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by kermit »

Disconnect the drive and see if it functions as an STB. If it does then the drive is dead. If it doesn't then the power supply or other components that rely on it are most likely dead.
Cheers Simon
>8-]

TF5000PVRt 500GB March '09 f/w
snowyjoey
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:00 pm

Post by snowyjoey »

Thanks for that, Simon.

I tried removing the drive, but the unit still does not function. It does switch on and off via the remote, so it is not entirely dead, and the voltages look approximately correct, so I'm hoping there is some life in there somewhere !

Any other thoughts ?

Thanks
~Joe
kermit
Frequent contributor
Posts: 972
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by kermit »

snowyjoey wrote:I tried removing the drive, but the unit still does not function. It does switch on and off via the remote, so it is not entirely dead, and the voltages look approximately correct, so I'm hoping there is some life in there somewhere !
With the drive removed and it turned on can you get to the menu?
Cheers Simon
>8-]

TF5000PVRt 500GB March '09 f/w
snowyjoey
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:00 pm

Post by snowyjoey »

Hi Simon,

No - nothing appears on the screen at all.

The LEDs on the front panel change - from time, to "C345" to "run" sometimes even "LOAD" but never anything on the TV. It responds to the remote on/standby, but thats it really.

The presence of the drive has no effect on this.

:-(

~Joe
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Joe,

Whereabouts in Surrey are you? If you can bring the box to me in Fleet, Hampshire, I'll check it for you.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
snowyjoey
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:00 pm

Post by snowyjoey »

Hi Andy,

Thanks for this - that would be great. I'm near Guildford so not far away. Do you have kit etc to check these things out?

Thanks
~Joe
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

PM sent to snowyjoey
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
snowyjoey
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 6:00 pm

Post by snowyjoey »

Hi

An update: I have now got a working Toppy again.

A very kind local forum member with an electronics background checked the work I had done on the PSU and confirmed it was OK, and also did some other diagnostics, and confirmed that the problem was a dead motherboard as the processor was not functioning properly. I contacted Turbosat for a replacement motherboard, and they offered to attempt to repair mine instead. I sent them my board and they did in fact repair it by replacing a few components (I think to repair the voltage regulation for the processor), and sent it back.

I have now replaced it in the machine and it all fires up fine.

Fantastic to have such help from people in this community and great to come into contact with such enthusiastic and competent people at Turbosat.

I am now copying back all my recordings, and keeping my fingers crossed for trouble-free future viewing!

Thanks, all!

~Joe :D
corbijn
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:10 am

OK the site has disappeared

Post by corbijn »

After a Hiatus I am trying to get the Toppy fixed, however the link to the original article seems to fail and therefore the images aren't there ....

Does anybody have a PDF of the original site or perhaps a copy of the images?
garyvx
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 5:30 am
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post by garyvx »

Post Reply