A space for discussions about AV gear and other topics of broad interest to Toppy users

Moderators: General, Technical

Post Reply
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Vodafone Broadband

Post by Darucla »

I have been with Tiscali/TalkTalk for a long time, mainly through inertia, but also because the service has mainly just worked and been a reasonable price.

However, lately I have been experiencing service outages, mainly late at night, but still annoying. Now I am having problems accessing the website (down for maintenance) to read mail and the mail service via my mail reader is asking for account details, which I may well have forgotten.

So I am considering changing to Vodafone, which would be cheaper for a similar speed. My question is: has anyone used their new "No phone line charge" fibre broadband, and is it any good? IE, reliable, doesn't get choked at prime time etc.

Cheers.
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

I can't help you with Vodaphone - although it wouldn't have been the first provider I'd have thought of, given how poor the value for money on their cellular service is, in terms of amount of amount of data per pound.

We switched from Tiscali to PlusNet a good few years ago now. Of course, it's difficult to compare services, as you only ever have one at a time :wink:

If PlusNet looks good to you, we can get a discount on our service if you quote our email address :lol: - which I can provide privately.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

Vodafone looks the cheapest, although not as cheap as "No Line Rental" would imply. I so rarely use the home phone, that I kind of resent paying for it, largely because I am very stingy. And Plusnet is part of BT, so I have a feud with going back to the prehistoric ages. And I am concerned about bandwidth throttling at peak times.

But i shall have a further think about it.
fhjones
Frequent contributor
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:59 am

Post by fhjones »

Darucla wrote:Plusnet is part of BT, so I have a feud with going back to the prehistoric ages. And I am concerned about bandwidth throttling at peak times.
Plusnet is owned by BT, but it is run as a separate company.

I left BT for Plusnet and to me it is a different world/universe. The helpline is quick and er, helpful and the prices are as good as the best offered by BT. The difference is that you don't have to negociate for the best price - WYSIWYG.

I worried about the reports of bandwidth throttling at peak times, so I after the move I regularly checked our BB speed. At peak times it never dropped below ~ 75Mbps.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +UUu
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 12/1/21
â„¢
goodolpete
Frequent contributor
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:05 pm

Post by goodolpete »

fhjones wrote:
Darucla wrote:Plusnet is part of BT, so I have a feud with going back to the prehistoric ages. And I am concerned about bandwidth throttling at peak times.
I worried about the reports of bandwidth throttling at peak times, so I after the move I regularly checked our BB speed. At peak times it never dropped below ~ 75Mbps.
Do you check manually or have you got some sort of script?
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/17
?
fhjones
Frequent contributor
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:59 am

Post by fhjones »

goodolpete wrote:
fhjones wrote:
Darucla wrote:Plusnet is part of BT, so I have a feud with going back to the prehistoric ages. And I am concerned about bandwidth throttling at peak times.
I worried about the reports of bandwidth throttling at peak times, so I after the move I regularly checked our BB speed. At peak times it never dropped below ~ 75Mbps.
Do you check manually or have you got some sort of script?
I checked manually using Ookla:

http://www.speedtest.net/
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +UUu
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 12/1/21
â„¢
Post Reply