A space for discussions about AV gear and other topics of broad interest to Toppy users

Moderators: General, Technical

Post Reply
msteggalls
Frequent contributor
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:15 pm
Location: Ipswich, UK
Contact:

Blu-ray players and mp4 files via DLNA

Post by msteggalls »

This may have not been the right way to go, but.... recently bought a NAS to store my media file (video, photos, music) so they were available when the PC wasn't on.

My tablet can see and play the video files fine, but when I went to watch them on the TV via my Sony Blu-ray player, while it saw the NAS fine, it didn't see all the video files, in particular .mp4 files. Seems that even though the player will play these via USB, I found after some research, they are not supported via DLNA.

My player is quite old, but looking at some other players this seem to be common - so does anyone know if is this a DLNA thing with blu-ray players, which means none of them will play .mp4 files via DLNA?, or if not what players out there will play .mp4 file from a NAS via DLNA.... or any other options I should to look at?

Many thanks for any help

Martyn
Model: TF5800 Silver; Disk: Samsung 300gb ; Firmware: 5.13.65 Patched; Purchased: 15-Apr-2005;
Autostart TAPs: Improbox (2.5) TF5000 Display (1.53a); Description Extender (2.23); Filer (2.21RC3); Extend (1.7); stirf (1.3Cbeta); EPGnavigator (6.10); UK Auto Scheduler (0.73)
TV: Panasonic TX-L37V20B LCD; Remote: Samsung Note 10.1 running Touchsquid
Updated 26Oct14
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

mp4's via pc to sony Blu-ray using DLNA seem ok, but I can't get a copy of one of these mp4's to work. :shock:

http://community.sony.co.uk/t5/home-cin ... 9491#M6245

http://forum.synology.com/enu/viewtopic ... 14&t=39344
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

You may want to look at a media player, possibly an Android box like the Nexus player or Amazon Fire player. Or one of the generic little boxes that can run Kodi (XBMC), but these have many foibles. An MX2 with Openelec installed is good, but does require some fiddling (not difficult) to set it up in the first place.

DLNA,in my experience, is a bit of a mess. What NAS do you have? You may be able to put Plex on it.
msteggalls
Frequent contributor
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:15 pm
Location: Ipswich, UK
Contact:

Post by msteggalls »

Thanks for the infor so far - The NAS I have is a ZyXel NSA325 v2 Media Server.

Was hoping to be able to play the videos without too much hassle - doen't look like that is probbaly going to be the case.

I had been playing them shared from the PC, but it didn't always seem to be reliabe and of course the PC needed to be on - hence move to a NAS

Martyn
Model: TF5800 Silver; Disk: Samsung 300gb ; Firmware: 5.13.65 Patched; Purchased: 15-Apr-2005;
Autostart TAPs: Improbox (2.5) TF5000 Display (1.53a); Description Extender (2.23); Filer (2.21RC3); Extend (1.7); stirf (1.3Cbeta); EPGnavigator (6.10); UK Auto Scheduler (0.73)
TV: Panasonic TX-L37V20B LCD; Remote: Samsung Note 10.1 running Touchsquid
Updated 26Oct14
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

The problem is to do with whether or not the player understands the codecs, or if the server (as used by DLNA, normally Window Media Player in Windows) understands the codecs. A separate little media box that can handle Kodi/XBMC generally solves the problems.

Plex Media Server, which will run on a Synology NAS of sufficient power, or a PC, can transcode the source so that your player can understand it. But it's best to avoid this, and use a player that can handle your media natively.

Lately there are some mini PCs, less than a $100 in the US, which run Windows and are extremely tempting. http://www.geekbuying.com/item/PIPO-X7- ... 40056.html

I kind of want one, but don't need it at the moment, and remember, you will have to pay VAT as well.
Sudbury_Dave
Regular contributor
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:43 pm
Location: Sudbury, Suffolk

Post by Sudbury_Dave »

Darucla wrote:The problem is to do with whether or not the player understands the codecs, or if the server (as used by DLNA, normally Window Media Player in Windows) understands the codecs. A separate little media box that can handle Kodi/XBMC generally solves the problems.

Plex Media Server, which will run on a Synology NAS of sufficient power, or a PC, can transcode the source so that your player can understand it. But it's best to avoid this, and use a player that can handle your media natively.

Lately there are some mini PCs, less than a $100 in the US, which run Windows and are extremely tempting. http://www.geekbuying.com/item/PIPO-X7- ... 40056.html

I kind of want one, but don't need it at the moment, and remember, you will have to pay VAT as well.
A quick search on eBay and there is someone selling them in the UK for £99.99. looks a useful bit of kit.
Regards,
Dave
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/7/13
?
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

£67.41 +20% VAT and free shipping from the States. About £81. Price of a good meal out.

Pre-loaded with Win 8.1 with Bing and a year's sub to Office 365. Basically the hardware is free.
Sudbury_Dave
Regular contributor
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:43 pm
Location: Sudbury, Suffolk

Post by Sudbury_Dave »

Darucla wrote:£67.41 +20% VAT and free shipping from the States. About £81. Price of a good meal out.

Pre-loaded with Win 8.1 with Bing and a year's sub to Office 365. Basically the hardware is free.
You need to be quite lucky to only pay VAT if you have it shipped from the States, last stuff I bought got caught for import duty, VAT and a handling fee, £19 would not have covered it. You need to check how they ship it as some carriers have a nice little earner going with the charges.
Regards,
Dave
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/7/13
?
Darucla
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by Darucla »

That was free delivery via postal service, and according to HM Customs, no import tax due. So I would not pay it.
Post Reply