For discussion of firmware updates, enhancement requests, and other upgrades to your Toppy, but not TAPs or computer-related

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

I seem to remember someone fitting an SSD many years ago without issue. At the time it all seemed a bit pointless as the Toppy disk isn't heavily stressed and a slow disk works perfectly fine: the Toppy bottlenecks are elsewhere. And back then they were significantly more expensive. :shock:
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
wjohnm
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 7:08 pm

Post by wjohnm »

YorkshireJumbo wrote:I seem to remember someone fitting an SSD many years ago without issue. At the time it all seemed a bit pointless as the Toppy disk isn't heavily stressed and a slow disk works perfectly fine: the Toppy bottlenecks are elsewhere. And back then they were significantly more expensive. :shock:
I was taking the experience of my laptops, the Dell XPS13 is so good with 250Mb SSD, and no cooling fan. So much better than this Fujitsu with noisy fan.
With SSDs getting cheaper just wondered, but if I can get a 250 or 300Mb HDD that doesnt get too hot maybe that is the thing to do.
Just need to go through the list of working discs and adapters.
John
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/5/20
â„¢
munk
Regular contributor
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 3:45 pm

Post by munk »

I installed an SSD a few years ago into a 5800 and had no problems at all with it. On the contrary it made a huge difference in terms of noise (or lack thereof, was absolute bliss going from a noisy old disk I had in there at the time). I don't know that there's a huge increase in speed given the application involved (recording TS streams doesn't require a lot of speed), although other aspects/applications may benefit (ie transferring data to a PC would be a lot quicker). Since then I've changed back to a larger capacity non-SSD drive which is also a lot quieter.

I think it was a 40 or 60Gb OCZ Agility SSD drive from memory connected via an iDE to SATA bridge. The bridge was one of the originals sold by Turbosat, I'm fairly sure I'm using one of the bridges from andyfras now with a larger 2Gb HDD, it would probably be fine for connecting an SSD.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs:PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; TSSaver v0.5; UK Subtitle 1.9;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 10/06/21
wjohnm
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 7:08 pm

Post by wjohnm »

Thanks munk, seems to be advice that HDD is quick and quiet enough so I’m going for one with adapter from Andyfras. ( and capacitor kit! )
John
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/5/20
â„¢
wjohnm
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 7:08 pm

Post by wjohnm »

Sorry for repeat.
jimi
Frequent contributor
Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:25 am
Location: The Sunny Kingdom
Contact:

Post by jimi »

munk wrote: although other aspects/applications may benefit (ie transferring data to a PC would be a lot quicker).
I think the limiting factor for transferring is the usb not the HDD
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 16/12/20
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Indeed. The Toppy USB circuitry is pretty poor. removing the Toppy disk and connecting it to the PC via USB and a caddy is many times faster.
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
munk
Regular contributor
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 3:45 pm

Post by munk »

jimi wrote:
munk wrote: although other aspects/applications may benefit (ie transferring data to a PC would be a lot quicker).
I think the limiting factor for transferring is the usb not the HDD
I meant if you had the disk attached to the PC/host directly (using TopfHDRW for transfer), in such an application then SSD is a lot quicker than HDD for transfer.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs:PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; TSSaver v0.5; UK Subtitle 1.9;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 10/06/21
YorkshireJumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:45 pm

Post by YorkshireJumbo »

Unless you're transferring large amounts of data, the time taken in extracting the Toppy from my setup, taking it apart, taking the disk to the PC, finding the adaptor and connecting it, and then doing the the whole process in reverse is more trouble and time than it's worth :wink:
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
New Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '21
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
jimi
Frequent contributor
Posts: 311
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:25 am
Location: The Sunny Kingdom
Contact:

Post by jimi »

I use a Raspberry Pi running an FTP sever to access the toppy remotely. Pi is connected by usb to the Toppy and by powerline adapter to my network. I just leave it running overnight to complete any file transfers, did that the other day, 24 episodes of NCIS LA transferred to my PC overnight. Then converted to MP4 and transferred to my server. 8)
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; (MyInfo B5.6); PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 16/12/20
underquark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1793
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:52 pm

Post by underquark »

Way back in the mists of time I connected a 3-connector IDE cable and had the “middle“ connector plugged into an IDE-to-USB adaptor. I also had a switch that could power the disk while the transfer was being made whilst the Toppy stayed switched off.
A 5800 and a 5810 still in use with various dead ones and bits lying around, one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.6; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; Various remotes - URC1056B01 (my fav.), URC11-7140 R02 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
wjohnm
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 7:08 pm

Post by wjohnm »

Well it is done new capacitors and 320 Mb disc and adaptor from Andyfras, plus help from many posts. Maybe I didn’t need the new disc as I tested my hesitant soldering using the original disc, and it sounded much quieter, anyway I now have more space.
Hope picture appear here
Image
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 28/5/20
â„¢
Post Reply