For discussion of firmware updates, enhancement requests, and other upgrades to your Toppy, but not TAPs or computer-related

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Fair enough.

This is what confused me.....
Londoner24 wrote:I could see the firmware in the program files of the Toppy via Antares
Because that's not where firmware is stored.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
Londoner24
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:35 am
Location: London, UK

Post by Londoner24 »

Hi CCS :)

Yes, the program files is where the TAPs are meant to be, but it kept putting it there. I gave up in the end.


Londoner24
Model: TF5810PVRt
System ID: 457
Loader: C5.19
Device: v5.4.10
Software: TF-NPT 5.15.09T
Hardware: v1.01
Last Update: September 02 2010
Bought: 2010
PC: DELL Inspiron, Windows 7, Core i5 (64-bit)
No TAPs installed
mstombs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:58 pm

Post by mstombs »

I don't use antares, but with ftpd-topfield 'firmware' is virtual directory in the root, you can never see anything in it!
HydeTheDarkerSide
Frequent contributor
Posts: 5956
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:17 pm
Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
Contact:

Post by HydeTheDarkerSide »

Firmware is not the same thing as a tap and needs different tools and process to install than a tap does. Search this for firmware installation.
Hyde.
[size=10:da1fd20a33][b:da1fd20a33]2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate [/b:da1fd20a33], TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
[color=blue:da1fd20a33]MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml[/color:da1fd20a33]
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13[/size:da1fd20a33]
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

Londoner24 wrote:Hi CCS :)

Yes, the program files is where the TAPs are meant to be, but it kept putting it there. I gave up in the end.


Londoner24
Firmware is programmed into non-volatile flash memory and not on the hard disk. A toppy can run as a basic freview reciever without the hard disk being fitted.

TFDN_USB will have taken the firmware file and programmed it straight into the flash memory over the USB link, but as you have found it doesn't work with a 64 bit operating system

Although I haven't used it in this way, it appears that if you use Antares
in the same way as TFDN_USB it will also program firmware straight into flash. You used Antares the other way, as a hard disk to hard disk copy faciliity

There are ways of taking a firmware that is on the hard disk and programming it into the flash memory. One way is
http://www.toppy.org.uk/~r2-d2/hdfw.html
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
Post Reply