For discussion of firmware updates, enhancement requests, and other upgrades to your Toppy, but not TAPs or computer-related

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

deano467
Regular contributor
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 3:56 pm

Hard Drive Question - Swap from TF5800 to TF5810

Post by deano467 »

Hi, I have a topfield TF5800PVR 250GB panther black. Just bought a TF5810PVRt from turbosat on ebay for £55 with no hard drive fitted.

I am intending to swap out the 250GB hard drive from the older unit and put into the newer one as there are still a lot of recordings on it.

Anything I should be aware of before I do this, regardins TAPs (I have a few running including mystuff)?

Secondly I was thinking about putting a 320GB Maxtor DiamondMax 21 7200rpm into the older TF5800PVR and selling it on. Would there be any issues using that drive on the TF5800. The unit is in good working order.
gomezz
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4000
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Buckingham
Contact:

Post by gomezz »

Why get rid of the 5800 at all?
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
jumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4731
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:25 pm

Post by jumbo »

gomezz wrote:Why get rid of the 5800 at all?
Obviously he wants to downgrade (or perhaps his cooker has packed up and he needs the 5810 for cooking the Christmas turkey).
deano467
Regular contributor
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 3:56 pm

Post by deano467 »

OK I need to get up to speed.

Are you telling me the 5810 is a dud and I should stick with the 5800.

From a personal point of view, the 5810 looks better and I would prefer to use the HDMI. Plus the fact it is a year or more newer and should last bit longer before any issues start.

Am I missing something?
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

Yes. You're missing the forum search function ;-).
It won't take you long to find out that the 5810 has far more issues than the 5800, and that HDMI doesn't give you HD output, because the Toppy can't receive HD input.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
deano467
Regular contributor
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 3:56 pm

Post by deano467 »

Most of the issues on here seemed to be for the TF5800, but I thought that was because it was an older model and they would have improved the design for the TF5810. How wrong I was!

I have just checked the forum and it appears the TF5810 are prone to overheating and damage HD's because they have no fan.

It is not worth the hassle for me to fit a fan myself. I will just sell the 5810 on ebay when it arrives (or maybe just return to turbosat for change of mind).

The 5810's turbosat are selling on ebay for £50 (+£5 post) sell very fast on ebay. Do you think I could sell my 5810 for £70 on ebay without hard drive just to cover my costs?
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

deano467 wrote:Most of the issues on here seemed to be for the TF5800, but I thought that was because it was an older model and they would have improved the design for the TF5810. How wrong I was!

I have just checked the forum and it appears the TF5810 are prone to overheating and damage HD's because they have no fan.

It is not worth the hassle for me to fit a fan myself. I will just sell the 5810 on ebay when it arrives (or maybe just return to turbosat for change of mind).

The 5810's turbosat are selling on ebay for £50 (+£5 post) sell very fast on ebay. Do you think I could sell my 5810 for £70 on ebay without hard drive just to cover my costs?
Unfortunately there are a few members on this forum who condemn the 5810 and ridicule anyone who buys one at every opportunity. So searching the forums usually produces a biased viewpoint.

It's a shame, really, as there a plently of owners who find it just fine. No wonder Topfield don't export to the UK anymore.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
gomezz
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4000
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Buckingham
Contact:

Post by gomezz »

Be that as it may, if you have a working 5800 then having an upscaling HDMI connection is a thin reason to change it for a 5810.
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
jumbo
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4731
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:25 pm

Post by jumbo »

gomezz wrote:Be that as it may, if you have a working 5800 then having an upscaling HDMI connection is a thin reason to change it for a 5810.
Moreover the "upscaling" does not even produce a superior picture quality to that already produced by the 5800 and automatically upscaled by modern TVs! In fact my 5800 SD picture quality (on a 32" Plasma) compares very well with my Freesat HD box!
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

ccs wrote: It's a shame, really, as there a plently of owners who find it just fine. No wonder Topfield don't export to the UK anymore.
And a few owners that think it is the biggest load of ~*#! on the market. A friend of mine is seriously thinking of taking a sledge hammer to his and posting the results on Youtube. Some people believe that a piece of expensive equipment should work out-of-the-box, and failing that should be ultra reliable after "fixing" it themselves.

I suspect that Topfield don't export to the UK any more is because:
The number of returns they have had
The number of retailers that are prepared to stock it are falling
It's now out of date. Premium Freeview products now need to handle HD and anything less now sells for sub £100

Don't forget that Topfield gave up on their UK customers around two years ago when they still had a good (but undeserved) reputation.
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
deano467
Regular contributor
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 3:56 pm

Post by deano467 »

gomezz wrote:Be that as it may, if you have a working 5800 then having an upscaling HDMI connection is a thin reason to change it for a 5810.
You must not have read my reasons for "wanting" to change to a 5810. I'll repeat.

A. It looks much better and more modern and will look better beside my blu-ray player (purely down to my personal taste I guess).

B. It has HDMI out. While I appreciate the upscaled picture will look pretty much the same, my preference is to have a digital signal which is not prone to the usual interference/ghosting that you commonly get with SCART cables. SCART plugs seem to work loose as well wheras HDMI has a better positive connection.

C. I assumed the 5810 was an upgraded version of the 5800 and they would have ironed out the bugs of which there are many reported here for the 5800 (and not so many here for the 5810).

I did read the comments on here that the 5810's are prone to overheating though.

However member css makes a valid point that the 5810 may in fact be just fine. I assumed the negative comments from 5800 users towards the 5810 was from personal experience or from reading many issues on here, and not just a bias against the newer better looking model.


Are there any "unmodified" 5810 owners who would like to comment on the reliability of it?
gomezz
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4000
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Buckingham
Contact:

Post by gomezz »

deano467 wrote:the usual interference/ghosting that you commonly get with SCART cables. SCART plugs seem to work loose as well wheras HDMI has a better positive connection.
It is not usual in my experience.
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

deano467 wrote: However member css makes a valid point that the 5810 may in fact be just fine. I assumed the negative comments from 5800 users towards the 5810 was from personal experience or from reading many issues on here, and not just a bias against the newer better looking model.

Personal experience with a friends machine!!

It also runs too hot and possibly the cause of the frequent hard disk failures with this model. IMO an unmodified 5800 also runs too hot but Topfield decided with the 5810 to reduce the number of ventilation slots in the casing just to make sure that it overheated.

One of the biggest problems with the 5810 was the rubbish Freeview+ firmware that it came with, and something that Topfield refuse to fix. On the 5800 older and more stable firmware can be installed but with the 5810 you have no choice. Even those who claim that is nothing wrong with the 5810 don't recommend that it is used unmodified. You will have to install the recommended firmware from this site and probably 2 to 4 TAPs as a minimum, or something like Mystuff if you want better functionality.

If you are seeing ghosting with SCART cables it suggests that the ones you are using are unscreened. Fully screened cables only cost a few quid and if you use the flat ribbon type you will find that they don't pull out. http://www.admac.myzen.co.uk/scart/ http://www.admac.myzen.co.uk/scart2/
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

alan_m wrote:One of the biggest problems with the 5810 was the rubbish Freeview+ firmware that it came with, and something that Topfield refuse to fix. On the 5800 older and more stable firmware can be installed but with the 5810 you have no choice. Even those who claim that is nothing wrong with the 5810 don't recommend that it is used unmodified. You will have to install the recommended firmware from this site and probably 2 to 4 TAPs as a minimum, or something like Mystuff if you want better functionality.
You have said this many times before.

Why is it acceptable (and necessary) to update the firmware and add Taps to a 5800 but to update a 5810 to an equally reliable firmware is not?

And as for claiming that the freeview+ firmware works - well it does. I'm not imagining it, but clearly you know better.

And as for HDMI, well at least it avoids the auto-switching of a scart connection.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
deano467
Regular contributor
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 3:56 pm

Post by deano467 »

alan_m wrote:
deano467 wrote: However member css makes a valid point that the 5810 may in fact be just fine. I assumed the negative comments from 5800 users towards the 5810 was from personal experience or from reading many issues on here, and not just a bias against the newer better looking model.
One of the biggest problems with the 5810 was the rubbish Freeview+ firmware that it came with, and something that Topfield refuse to fix. On the 5800 older and more stable firmware can be installed but with the 5810 you have no choice. Even those who claim that is nothing wrong with the 5810 don't recommend that it is used unmodified. You will have to install the recommended firmware from this site and probably 2 to 4 TAPs as a minimum, or something like Mystuff if you want better functionality.
Thanks, are you saying that 5810 owners can only use the official Topfield firmware? Is there a recommended firmware on this site for 5810 owners which is different to the official one? I read the notes on the firmware page on here but I am a bit confused (sorry).
Post Reply