For discussion of firmware updates, enhancement requests, and other upgrades to your Toppy, but not TAPs or computer-related

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
Noodlessss
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:26 pm

Hard Drive problems - Western Digital 1 TB WD10EARS

Post by Noodlessss »

Hi All,

I've recently purchased the WD10EARS drive and I'm trying to get it working with a 5810 using the SATA to IDE converter from Turbosat. The drive spins up however it is not seen by the system - I cannot format the drive as it is greyed out.

Can anyone tell me what jumper settings they have used?

Thanks
Noodlessss
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:26 pm

Doh!

Post by Noodlessss »

Embarassingly I've solved the problem - somehow I've managed to get the IDE interface the wrong way round!?! For someone who used to build and sell computers this certainly not something to write home about.

I can confirm the Turbosat SATA to IDE bridge worked and fitted in without a problem. The short SATA lead makes the case nice and tidy (not that anyone other than me knows!)

Thanks
DefineByte
Frequent contributor
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:35 am
Location: UK

Post by DefineByte »

Where, if anywhere, did you plug the little two pin lead that comes out of the molex? I'm not sure what it's for and I'm trying to fit a new disk right now. x)

Also, I'm assuming you're supposed to keep the foam backing on the PCB as it seems quite well stuck on. Is it for electrical insulation?.
TF5800 250GB 5.13.65+patches AutoStart: Power Restore 0.7.6, EIT Sub 0.6 SnG, SecCache (UK) 0.4, Extend 1.7, Info Viewer 1.9 DE, QuickJump 1.72, UK Auto Scheduler 0.73.1, EPGnavigator 6.1b (simonc/biggsd), Filer 2.21, TF5000Display 1.53a Other TAPs: Channel Manager 5.1, CutAds 1.3, FastScanGUI 0.6a, HDDInfo 2.3a, HDFW 2.4, JoinAds 1.3, Signal Monitor 0.53, SimpleCharEditor 3.09, Sudoku 1.5, TAP Commander 1.34, Testpatterns 1.2
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

DefineByte wrote:Where, if anywhere, did you plug the little two pin lead that comes out of the molex?
It should plug into the adapter; it provides power to it.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
DefineByte
Frequent contributor
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:35 am
Location: UK

Post by DefineByte »

*slaps forehead*. You're not alone Noodlessss.

Thanks Andy.
TF5800 250GB 5.13.65+patches AutoStart: Power Restore 0.7.6, EIT Sub 0.6 SnG, SecCache (UK) 0.4, Extend 1.7, Info Viewer 1.9 DE, QuickJump 1.72, UK Auto Scheduler 0.73.1, EPGnavigator 6.1b (simonc/biggsd), Filer 2.21, TF5000Display 1.53a Other TAPs: Channel Manager 5.1, CutAds 1.3, FastScanGUI 0.6a, HDDInfo 2.3a, HDFW 2.4, JoinAds 1.3, Signal Monitor 0.53, SimpleCharEditor 3.09, Sudoku 1.5, TAP Commander 1.34, Testpatterns 1.2
Post Reply