For discussion of firmware updates, enhancement requests, and other upgrades to your Toppy, but not TAPs or computer-related

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
Bob_Swede
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1066
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:19 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Bob_Swede »

alan_m wrote: You really do have to check the PSU voltages.
In what state should the PSU voltages be checked?
- Power supply disconnected from mainboard?
- Hard disk fitted or not? (Need the power drain or not?)
- Connected aerial or not? (Hard to do in the workshop)

And what is the recommended way to access the voltage pins?
As far as I can see they are extremely hard to get at, maybe one should use a needle of sorts to push through the wire insulation???
The cable is soldered to the board so making measuring difficult.
Bo B (Sweden)
5700HDMIPVRt, TS On, F/W: patches (3.17 aka 5.14.77)
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; ChannelChangeButtonHack 1.1; MyStuff 6.4; TAP Cmder 1.34; MyInfo B5.4;
(EPG: XMLTV2Mei for Win + MyStuff)
(Toppy access: ASUS WL-500g-P FTP installed using chunkywizard's guide)
Sig partly gen. by MyInfo on 12/4/2013
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Ideally the PSU should be fully loaded - HDD fitted and running.

I connect the black meter lead to the centre screw hole on the back and push the red meter lead into the top of the PSU connector.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
fofp
Regular contributor
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:54 pm

Post by fofp »

adrianlodge wrote:Is this the most up to date list of compatible SATA drives (compatible with 5810)?

The drive in one of our toppys regularly freezes. Then, after a power cycle it gets stuck in a "verifying Folders / Reboot" loop.

To recover, I have to format the drive in a PC, then put it back in the toppy and reformat it. Its fine for a few weeks, the it fails again.

Adrian
Did you ever get a resolution to this one? I bought a new SATA 1.5Tb Samsung and while I can get it running in native mode, I get that Verifying/Reboot cycle as soon as I try to load MyStuff. Any help much appreciated...

Cheers

Mike
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PsZ
TAPs: PruneEPG 1.0; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; Skip 1.34a (TF5800PVR); MyStuff 6.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 4/6/20
â„¢
trees
Regular contributor
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:09 am

Post by trees »

fofp wrote: Did you ever get a resolution to this one? I bought a new SATA 1.5Tb Samsung and while I can get it running in native mode, I get that Verifying/Reboot cycle as soon as I try to load MyStuff. Any help much appreciated...
Check the voltage on the 3.3v line. If it is even a bit low this could be the issue. Cap replacement needed. I had that problem with the sisters toppy 2 months ago and replacing the PSU caps sorted it. (Thanks to AndyFras).
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/12/11
fofp
Regular contributor
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:54 pm

Post by fofp »

trees wrote:
fofp wrote: Did you ever get a resolution to this one? I bought a new SATA 1.5Tb Samsung and while I can get it running in native mode, I get that Verifying/Reboot cycle as soon as I try to load MyStuff. Any help much appreciated...
Check the voltage on the 3.3v line. If it is even a bit low this could be the issue. Cap replacement needed. I had that problem with the sisters toppy 2 months ago and replacing the PSU caps sorted it. (Thanks to AndyFras).
Ah, Unfortunately I've already put in Andy's caps pack. Something else must be awry.
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PsZ
TAPs: PruneEPG 1.0; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; Skip 1.34a (TF5800PVR); MyStuff 6.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 4/6/20
â„¢
fofp
Regular contributor
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:54 pm

Post by fofp »

Does anyone have a 5810 which is on the other side of this and reliable? What combo do you use?

I'm getting desperate to find something that works, otherwise I have to throw out two Toppies...

Cheers

Mike
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PsZ
TAPs: PruneEPG 1.0; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; Skip 1.34a (TF5800PVR); MyStuff 6.6; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 4/6/20
â„¢
Mkenyon
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:39 pm

Post by Mkenyon »

TF5800 with a new PSU (done by Mike, thanks!), working well with a new western digital WD5000AAKB 500 GB PATA hard disk bought for £25 off ebay. Apart from forgetting to check the jumpers were set to Master, it was a doddle to install.

Many thanks to the collected wisdom in this guide.
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

What is the maximum disk size that a Toppy could support - I know some people are using 2TB but is is possible to go above this? (I'm playing around with some disk recovery code and I don't want to make any false assumptions about the size).

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
andrew62
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:15 pm

Choosing a New Hard Disk (SATA III)

Post by andrew62 »

I am trying to replace the HD in my 5810. So far, I'm struggling to source a "recommended" disk as most of the ones listed here seem to be obsolete/discontinued and so you have to buy a refurbished or used one. I would prefer to buy new with a warranty.
Does anyone think it would be OK to try a WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA III 6GB/s (WD10EZRX). Are there likely to be any compatibility issues with SATA III? I have no knowledge of different SATA types except that transfer speed is different. JoRogan had success with a WD10EARX which is SATA III, I think.
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Re: Choosing a New Hard Disk (SATA III)

Post by alan_m »

andrew62 wrote:I am trying to replace the HD in my 5810. So far, I'm struggling to source a "recommended" disk as most of the ones listed here seem to be obsolete/discontinued and so you have to buy a refurbished or used one. I would prefer to buy new with a warranty.
Does anyone think it would be OK to try a WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA III 6GB/s (WD10EZRX). Are there likely to be any compatibility issues with SATA III? I have no knowledge of different SATA types except that transfer speed is different. JoRogan had success with a WD10EARX which is SATA III, I think.
A Western Digital SATA II disk has a jumper setting that can limit the transfer speed to the maximum for SATA I. Most of the SATA/PATA converters documented in these forums only support SATA I speeds (Compliant with Serial ATA 1.0/1.0a), which is not a problem if the link is made.

The Toppy only requires a slow transfer rate and SATA I speeds of up to 1.5G bps are more than adequate

On a Western Digital SATA III disk the equivalent jumper only limits the transfer speed to the maximum for SATA II (3 Gbps).
On the WD10EZRX you will need to set the link to limit the drive to SATA II speeds and probably ensure that the PATA/SATA converter is specified to at least SATA II speeds.

Jumper settings for SATA II (3 Gbps) and SATA III (6 Gbps) are shown towards the bottom of the following web page
http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/det ... /a_id/1679
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
jim-easterbrook
Frequent contributor
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:44 am
Contact:

Post by jim-easterbrook »

I've fitted WD10EZRX drives in two 5800 Toppies and both are working fine with no problems. I jumpered pins 5&6. The drives run nice and quietly, and are cool.

I used this adapter: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B006646698/ and Maplin "TA23A" 30cm ATA cables: http://www.maplin.co.uk/ide-cables-ata-166-29955

I suspect the ATA cables vary in construction, but the ones I got "point the right way" when plugged into the Toppy and the adapter. I was able to fold the cable into quite a neat and tidy layout with little effect on cooling.
Jim Easterbrook
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm+C0FsIMPePs
UWfZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Tap
Launcher 3.10; QuickJump 1.71; MyStuff 6.5; TF5000 Display v1.53; MyInfo B5.5;
Misc. Raspberry Pi + 250GB disc|Raspbian|ftpd-topfield
andrew62
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:15 pm

Post by andrew62 »

I fitted the WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA III (WD10EZRX) and the Startech IDE to SATA Adapter Converter (both from Amazon). This worked after removing the Master/slave/CS jumper from the IDE/SATA adapter.
I managed to use the original IDE cable; this only seems to be a problem in the 5800. The disk formatted straight away. I then removed the disk and copied my old files across on a PC using TopfHDRW. The transfer rate was approx 3Gb/min!
After reading jim-easterbrook's previous post, I fitted the jumper to pins 5&6 on the new drive. The Toppy seems to work just as well with or without this jumper.

Many thanks for the help received from this invaluable forum. Hopefully, my Topfield will live a little longer now..
TF5810 (Purchased Nov 2008). 9 PSU Caps replaced (Mar/2013) WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA III (Mar/2013) Startech IDE to SATA Adapter Converter
jim-easterbrook
Frequent contributor
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:44 am
Contact:

Post by jim-easterbrook »

I was able to format the disc using the Toppy cable, but the Toppy would crash very soon after (or during) startup until I used the better cable. (There's also the problem of the original cable not reaching far enough to use the adapter.)
Jim Easterbrook
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm+C0FsIMPePs
UWfZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Tap
Launcher 3.10; QuickJump 1.71; MyStuff 6.5; TF5000 Display v1.53; MyInfo B5.5;
Misc. Raspberry Pi + 250GB disc|Raspbian|ftpd-topfield
Toppy_Tom
Regular contributor
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 2:16 pm

Post by Toppy_Tom »

I fitted a Western Digital 1.5 TB Caviar Green SATA II WD15EARS to my parent's 5800 last week using the TurboSat IDE/SATA converter -

http://www.turbosat.com/products/BRIDGE ... SATA-.html

No problems at all so far, (touch wood!), this is after 7 days use. Installation was made much more straightforward as the Turbosat adaptor doesn't require an IDE cable. The only slight problem I ran into was that the internal part of the RF in/out socket (the seating / bracket on the inside of the case) left very little room for the SATA plug on the back of the hard drive. I managed to wedge it in and it works but it's far from ideal. There's also very little room for the molex plug, so that too is wedged up against the seating bracket for the RF in/out.

I fitted a jumper plug on pins 5&6 of the hard drive to limit the transfer speed. Not sure what effect, if any, that this had as I have not tried without it, but it certainly doesn't seem to have done any harm.


Tom
TF5800 - Silver, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; TF5800 - Black, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/14
mcwhelan
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Ealing

Post by mcwhelan »

Not exactly an upgrade, but a working hard disk nonetheless.

Seagate ST3120026A 120GB PATA

Tried out during attempt to fix PSU (now fixed properly thanks to andyfras). Toppy formatted it straight away, recording and playback worked fine (it was left in for a couple of days). Now it's my emergency spare in case anything goes wrong with the original.
Post Reply