For discussion of firmware updates, enhancement requests, and other upgrades to your Toppy, but not TAPs or computer-related

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

Post Reply
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

I have just bought a couple of WD5000AUDX 500GB SATA drives designed for AV use. They are quiet and run cool in a Toppy.

For specifications and others in the WD AV-GP range see: www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/SpecShee ... 701250.pdf
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
cliveb
Regular contributor
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 8:17 am

Post by cliveb »

Another working disk...

Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 PATA 400GB
Model no. ST3400832A
Power draw (on disk label): 5V @ 0.46A, 12V @ 0.56A
Works just fine using the original Toppy IDE cable

NB. If the disk you plan to install has an existing partition, you need to delete it first otherwise the Toppy won't think it has a disk installed. (Well, at least that's what I found with an NTFS partition).

Only minor downside is that the Seagate disk is mechanically a little noisier than the Samsung that originally came with the Toppy.
TF5800/5.13.65T; EPG Navigator, UKTimers, QuickJump; Crystal Palace
mstombs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:58 pm

Post by mstombs »

cliveb wrote:Another working disk...

Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 PATA 400GB
Model no. ST3400832A
Power draw (on disk label): 5V @ 0.46A, 12V @ 0.56A
Works just fine using the original Toppy IDE cable
How history repeats, that drive is so old it predates this thread, but features in this one!

http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtop ... 2333#12333
trevor_learoyd
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 4:27 pm

Post by trevor_learoyd »

FYI I've been trying to get a Seagate ST9250311CS 2.5" drive to work in my 5800 but with no success (the full story is in the MyStuff section).

I've ordered one of Andyfras' WD5000AUDX drives to take its place.

Cheers

Trevor
Martin_Edney
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:56 pm

Post by Martin_Edney »

I replaced the hard disk in my Topfield 5800 about a month ago.

The new SATA hard disk I'm using is a Western Digital AV-GP 2TB

http://www.kikatek.com/P329897/WD20EURX ... -inch-Hard

I'm using it with a Startech IDE2SAT2 SATA to IDE adaptor, and all is working well.

http://www.kikatek.com/P337011/IDE2SAT2 ... TA-to-SATA

In spite of advice to replace the original IDE cable because it's too short when used with an IDE to SATA adapter such as the Startech, I found that judicious adjustment of the position of the hard disk meant I could reuse the original IDE cable.

It was initialised and working within a couple of minutes of the Topfield being switched on.

I also replaced my power supply at the same time, thanks to andyfras' exchange service.

All has been working well for about a month now.
DavidSteward
Regular contributor
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:24 pm

What is the best hard drive replacement?

Post by DavidSteward »

It would seem that my Samsung HD103SI 1TB drive in my TF85800 has failed. I used it in conjunction with an IDE to SATA converter. What is the current best suggestion for a replacement drive? Many of the recommendations in this thread are outdated and no longer available.

The Western Digital AV-GP 2TB SATA hard disk from the previous post seems expensive

http://www.kikatek.com/P329897/WD20EURX ... -inch-Hard

It would almost be cheaper to buy a replacement complete unit but i do refer the Toppy to the IceCrypt I recently bought.

Thanks
David
Last edited by DavidSteward on Thu Jul 28, 2016 8:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Three TF5800s 250GB 500GB and 1TB. An Icecrypt T2400, Panasonic DMR EX75 & LG OLED 55" with 2TB. TF5800s with MyStuff 6 and firmware 5.13.65T Tx Pontop Pike
24" iMac running OS X 10.11 & 15" retina MacBook on !0.12 and iPads.
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

I've found that I don't need such a large disk in my Toppy, as I'm now recording HD content on my Humax. I'm currently running a WD 320GB laptop drive about 50% full.

I can recommend the WD5000 green range and the Seagate Pipeline (ST3500312CS). There are several available on eBay as people upgrade their Humax, etc..
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Fort Jefferson
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 10:02 am

Post by Fort Jefferson »

andyfras wrote:I've found that I don't need such a large disk in my Toppy, as I'm now recording HD content on my Humax. I'm currently running a WD 320GB laptop drive about 50% full.

I can recommend the WD5000 green range and the Seagate Pipeline (ST3500312CS). There are several available on eBay as people upgrade their Humax, etc..
I've just tried a WD 5000AVVS green power from a Humax in my 5810, using this type of adapter, but my toppy can't see it?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B06XW6LN6T/ ... =sata+pata
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Did you connect the IDE cable backwards as suggested?

There are several adapters that look like that, but the Toppy doesn't like them all; it's very picky.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Fort Jefferson
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 10:02 am

Post by Fort Jefferson »

andyfras wrote:Did you connect the IDE cable backwards as suggested?

There are several adapters that look like that, but the Toppy doesn't like them all; it's very picky.
I've just tried it "backwards" as in, end to end, and there is no change, but I can't see how that can change anything. The same wires are connected and I don't have to drill or cut any holes to get it to fit.
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

Is it the 80 wire version (AT66, AT133)? The 40 wire version doesn't work.

The reason for connecting it backwards is to do with earthing the inter-wire screens on the 80 wire version.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Fort Jefferson
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 10:02 am

Post by Fort Jefferson »

andyfras wrote:Is it the 80 wire version (AT66, AT133)? The 40 wire version doesn't work.

.
It's the 40 wire on both my spares, same as the socket on the adapter.
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

andyfras wrote:The 40 wire version doesn't work.
Last edited by andyfras on Tue Jul 04, 2017 11:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Fort Jefferson
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 10:02 am

Post by Fort Jefferson »

andyfras wrote:
andyfras wrote:The 40 wire version doesn't work.
Does this mean I can't change the hard drive then?
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

The 80 wire lead has a 40 way socket, the same as the 40 wire version, but there is a screen between each of the wires to enable higher data rates. The Toppy mainboard socket does not have an earth connection for the screen, but the adapter does, that is why the lead must be reversed.

You can ignore the advice on the forum if you like, but it is the collection of many members' experiences that has led to the way to get a working adapter.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
Post Reply