For discussion of firmware updates, enhancement requests, and other upgrades to your Toppy, but not TAPs or computer-related

Moderators: Technical, Oz mods

nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Toppy 5810 "hanging"

Post by nunhead_man »

We have a 5810 with firmware TF5810_457_5.15.09Plus.tfd loaded in October 2009 and recently (last 2 months) it has started to "hang" perhaps once or twice a week - i.e. stops responding to the remote or buttons on the box - and then requires a restart by powering off etc

There seems to be no pattern to this - other than it seems to happen when a recording is in progress - is there more info I need to give to get help on this?
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
kermit
Frequent contributor
Posts: 972
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by kermit »

Corrupt recordings or TAP or .ini file perhaps. Try running it sans TAPs.
Cheers Simon
>8-]

TF5000PVRt 500GB March '09 f/w
rpwoodman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 2:20 pm

Post by rpwoodman »

How long does it hang for? There is a problem that I mentioned in a MyStuff thread a week or two back and it seems there is a known issue (but with what is unknown) where it will hang for about 30+ seconds and then come back to life. Give it a minute and see if it comes back to life for you.
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

Thanks both...

1) I'm not sure how long it hangs for - daughter 1 or 2 usually swears and reboots straight away - I'll ask them to hold on for a few mins next time and see

2) After it hangs again I'll turn off all the taps and then observer
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

OK - waiting does not help - it just sits there not responding - and closing taps ....presume you mean all including "mystuff" ?
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

nunhead_man wrote:OK - waiting does not help - it just sits there not responding - and closing taps ....presume you mean all including "mystuff" ?
Rather than closing TAPs, reboot without loading them in the first place: Hold down the 0 key while the Toppy is starting up until the aspect ratio changes (assuming you haven't installed the [Z] patch to prevent 0 from changing the aspect ratio ;-)).

See if it still hangs without any TAPs running.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

And now after a freeze, "verifying files and folders" runs but does not stop.

Altair 1.250 will not connect of course javascript:emoticon(':(')

Any possible diagnosis - hard drive on the way out?
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

Sorry - after ano reboot Toppy up and running with original software after closing all TAPS with TAP Commander - will report later unless panel has other advice?
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

Not sure what you mean by "original software", but if it runs OK without TAPs, try either deleting EPG.mei (using Altair) or simply starting up EPG2MEI and letting that run on its own for a while (30-60 mins, without fiddling with the remote control) and then reboot normally.

There's a known problem with the EPG.mei file getting corrupted - thought to be due to memory corruptions caused by low memory. Normally it causes a crash rather than a hang, but who knows?

The next version of both EPG2MEI and MyStuff should be more robust against the issue (if that's what you're seeing). In the meantime, the best way to avoid it is to delete all the channels you don't watch (pay channels, porn, shopping, etc.) See the sticky **** MyStuff problems/questions? READ THIS FIRST!! **** thread.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

Hi Julie

Thanks - but just have the "L" in the roundel on the screen after yet another reboot and cannot get either to stop the TAPS nor am able to get Altair to delete "epg.mei" either - all I get is "wait" on the LCD display on the box when trying to reboot from the hand held controller.....javascript:emoticon(':roll:')
Last edited by nunhead_man on Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

Try the suggestion in MyStuff 6: Hints, tips, and workarounds for known bugs for not getting past the L icon.

What happens when you try to delete EPG.mei with Altair?

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

OK - thanks -I've deleted any files in the named folder ending in .lnk on the Toppy using Altair - and the "L" roundel has cleared.

And now I can delete epg.mei - and now done so.

Best

Andy
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

Well that was OK last night and this am apparently, but this pm the box will not boot - the screen was frozen when I came to it and then on re-boot the LCD screen goes through "run", "C457" and "loading" - with the TV screen getting to "please wait" on run and then "no input signal"

And rebooting again ..."Loading" then "001 yyyyyy etc with the latter display accompainied by a red triangle with either an "I" or "!" inside it

I cannot get to the box using Altair of course...javascript:emoticon(':evil:')

Al suggestions welcome
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
nunhead_man
Frequent contributor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:30 am

Post by nunhead_man »

And while typing the above the following comes up ...

"firmware was changed with a latest one. Reset all data is highly recommended. Will you proceed it"

But I cannot choose either "yes" or "no".

Again - help!!!
Warmly

Andy


[F5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

Google site:forum.toppy.org.uk "firmware was changed with a latest one. Reset all data is highly recommended. Will you proceed it"

Results include: Odd firmware message on 5810 and Stuck in Loop of Death both of which give the same advice.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
Post Reply