For discussions about development of TAPs, patches and other software for the Toppy

Moderator: Technical

R2-D2
Frequent contributor
Posts: 12148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:15 am
Contact:

Volume patches

Post by R2-D2 »

The first two patch the initialisation routine so could be turned off by some things (and applying them dynamically to the running firmware is pointless). You can turn [Vd] V3 (and V2) on and off when you like, though.
Last edited by R2-D2 on Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:44 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Andy K
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3520
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:19 pm

Post by Andy K »

What is a audio cinch connector ?
PeteY
Frequent contributor
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:19 pm
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Post by PeteY »

Thanks for these, R2. Vb is exactly what I needed.
Toppy: TF5800PVR 250GB Firmware: 1365 Patched
No TAPs ATM
glenmcfar
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4519
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:38 am
Location: Dundonald, Ayrshire, Scotland

Post by glenmcfar »

Andy K wrote:What is a audio cinch connector ?
I was gonna ask the very same question. I guess if we don't know then we don't need to!

Glen.
H/W: TF5800 | URC-7555 | Asus | Best Firmware Ever!
A/S: SecCacheUK, EitSub, EPG2MEI, Display, Extend, QuickJump, FontManager, TapLauncher, MyStuff
T/L: TapCommander, Surfer, MeiSearch, MediaManager | HDFW, CutAds, Sudoku
R2-D2
Frequent contributor
Posts: 12148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:15 am
Contact:

Post by R2-D2 »

chunkywizard
MyStuff Team
Posts: 9319
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Contact:

Post by chunkywizard »

Will any of these patch have the effect of maximizing the Toppy volume after a factory reset?

CW
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
glenmcfar
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4519
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:38 am
Location: Dundonald, Ayrshire, Scotland

Post by glenmcfar »

R2-D2, I know we're all infinitely more dumb than you but could you please tell us in a slightly more verbose manner exactly what these do? I think I want Vb but I'm not 100% sure.

Glen.
H/W: TF5800 | URC-7555 | Asus | Best Firmware Ever!
A/S: SecCacheUK, EitSub, EPG2MEI, Display, Extend, QuickJump, FontManager, TapLauncher, MyStuff
T/L: TapCommander, Surfer, MeiSearch, MediaManager | HDFW, CutAds, Sudoku
gomezz
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4000
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Buckingham
Contact:

Post by gomezz »

chunkywizard wrote:Will any of these patch have the effect of maximizing the Toppy volume after a factory reset?
The PowerDown TAP does that (resets the volume to the specifed level) when it comes out of stand-by.
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
chunkywizard
MyStuff Team
Posts: 9319
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sindlesham, Berkshire Tx: Hannington
Contact:

Post by chunkywizard »

Cheers Gomezz, but I don't think I will run a TAP just for that. I would however patch the firmware.

CW
Toppy:TF5800 F/W: 1365PaTcHeD
TAPs: MyStuff | EPG2MEI | FontManager | SecCache UK | Extend | FastScanGUI | EIT_sub_game | MyInfo | ScreenCapture with OSD | MHEG On/Off
MyStuff Manual & Logos | Known Bugs | Recommended F/W
maverick
Frequent contributor
Posts: 602
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:43 pm
Location: Tunbridge Wells

Post by maverick »

Thanks R2.

Have lived with the issue of being blasted with sound each time I begin playing a DVD.

I had my Harmony set to control the TV volume rather than the Toppy volume to get round the problem but much prefer the MyStuff volume bar for a consistent UI.

Having patched this and tried this out, I was wondering if you planned to release it in any other amplifications as my setup would benefit from maybe +9db.

Ta,

Mav
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Pe
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.3; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.5; EIT Sub v0.6; Skip 1.34a (TF5800PVR); Super PiP 1.1b;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 18/3/11
R2-D2
Frequent contributor
Posts: 12148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:15 am
Contact:

Post by R2-D2 »

maverick wrote:my setup would benefit from maybe +9db.
The patches are just twiddling unused bits on the AV switch, one of which is a +6dB boost (normally off). So that's the only choice, I'm afraid. (Make sure the Toppy volume is set on 100%, as it likes to default to around 70%.)
MrOctagon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 2:08 pm

Post by MrOctagon »

Thanks for these R2. Two questions:

1. If I apply both Vb and Vc will my audio output on the cinch connectors have an increase of 6db and also be fixed at this new default maximum level?

2. What is the soft volume control? (sorry if I am being rather thick here).

Thanks in advance for any replies.
aramil
Frequent contributor
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:07 am
Location: Worcester, UK ; TX:Malvern Central

Post by aramil »

MrOctagon wrote:Two questions:

1. If I apply both Vb and Vc will my audio output on the cinch connectors have an increase of 6db and also be fixed at this new default maximum level?
I would of thought that as the 6db is a fixed gain intergrated into the chipset it would still apply no matter what else you did with other patches
2. What is the soft volume control? (sorry if I am being rather thick here).
The software controlled volume on your toppy (as opposed to a hard control ie a volume knob)
Toppy: TF5810; 500Gb spinpoint HDD (Lycom IDE-Sata);Fan Cooled; AI=Off, TS=On;
Firmware: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +CbCfCtDFsRtScStTaUUcUuUxVbXpZ;
PC OS: Fedora 14-64bit / Windows 8 Pro-64bit; TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo 5.6RC1; MHEG On/Off A3.
MrOctagon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 2:08 pm

Post by MrOctagon »

aramil wrote:The software controlled volume on your toppy (as opposed to a hard control ie a volume knob)
Thanks for your reply. So if I apply Vd I'll have no volume control in the native toppy menus? If that's right, will the volume be fixed at the highest possible level?
aramil
Frequent contributor
Posts: 649
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:07 am
Location: Worcester, UK ; TX:Malvern Central

Post by aramil »

YES it should. although R2 did say:
Oh, and I don't think [Vd] works as advertised.
have a go and report back it is not like you can't remove it if not.
Toppy: TF5810; 500Gb spinpoint HDD (Lycom IDE-Sata);Fan Cooled; AI=Off, TS=On;
Firmware: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +CbCfCtDFsRtScStTaUUcUuUxVbXpZ;
PC OS: Fedora 14-64bit / Windows 8 Pro-64bit; TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo 5.6RC1; MHEG On/Off A3.
Post Reply