If you have a satellite or cable specific question, please post it in this area

Moderator: Technical

Post Reply
rbeilby
Regular contributor
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:23 am
Location: South Bedfordshire
Contact:

Freesat Alternative

Post by rbeilby »

A wind turbine has just been commissioned near us. It is direct line of sight between our aerial and the transmitter. Freeview reception is now appalling, so our options are now to turn the aerial to another transmitter or to go to Freesat.

My question is: is there a Freesat equivalent of the Toppy TF-5800 and TF-5810 DVRs? I record quite a lot of programmes and burn them to DVD, so I will want to continue to do this.

I have had to take my TF-5810 out of service because it keeps crashes with all the noise. I do not want it damaging.

Any help gratefully accepted.
--

Regards,

Richard Beilby.
ryclark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: Shropshire

Post by ryclark »

This thread might give you some alternatives:

http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=20627
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
billmars
Frequent contributor
Posts: 761
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 2:01 pm

Post by billmars »

I suspect you may have a case for the turbine company to supply you with an alternative method of receiving TV. I know of one case where a tall building was built, effectively cutting out terrestrial TV reception to those on 'the wrong side', and alternative TV reception facilities were supplied.
It may be worth investigating!
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

What is your post code?

Suggest you stick it into the ukfree web site and see what transmitters you can receive (I suspect you are using Emley Moor; ukfree indicates that large areas of this overlap with the Bilsdale tranmitter).

Is your normal TV affected (when using a direct aerial) or just the toppy?

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
rbeilby
Regular contributor
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:23 am
Location: South Bedfordshire
Contact:

Post by rbeilby »

Thank you for yuor replies.

ryclark: I took a look at the link. Looks promising, although that product seems no longer available.

billmars: yes, I an sure there is case for compensation. Many households are affected. It is the largest turbine in Britain; probably Europe.

Geoff: the postal code is LU7 0AU. We were getting Sandy Heath, but, ukfree indicates Oxford, but, this is very weak. All Freeview televisions and digital radios are affected in nearly all the houses in the village.
--

Regards,

Richard Beilby.
Geoff Bacon
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Post by Geoff Bacon »

For Oxford, you probably have to re-orientate the aerial and/or get a different type; even then it may be weak.

http://www.stevelarkins.freeuk.com/oxford_tv_transmitter.htm wrote: We recommend high gain Group CD aerial for Freeview reception from the Oxford TV transmitter although a wideband aerial will suffice. Some homes served by this south Midlands transmitter may need an aerial upgrade to get good Freeview reception if their aerial is in poor condition or single screened coaxial cable has been used.
http://www.stevelarkins.freeuk.com/sandy_heath_tv_transmitter.htm wrote: We recommend a high gain wideband TV aerial (horizontally polarised) for Freeview DVB-T reception from the Sandy Heath TV transmitter. ...

Geoff
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPePfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; MHEG On/Off A3; QuickJump 1.72; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; WSSkiller V2.12d; MyInfo B5.6; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6-1;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 3/5/21
rbeilby
Regular contributor
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:23 am
Location: South Bedfordshire
Contact:

Post by rbeilby »

Thanks for your reply, Geoff.

I am not sure what type the aerial is. It was installed whilst analogue was still going over ten years ago. It was set to Sandy Heath, also in Bedfordshire. According to the maps we are in the Oxford transmitter area, but, Sandy Heath is (or was) the stronger signal.

Next door has had a satellite dish installed because the aerial man said the Oxford signal is rubbish. The trouble is we are in a dip with line of sight to the transmitter.
--

Regards,

Richard Beilby.
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

rbeilby wrote:
Next door has had a satellite dish installed because the aerial man said the Oxford signal is rubbish. The trouble is we are in a dip with line of sight to the transmitter.
Wolfbane
Enter your postcode into
http://www.wolfbane.net/cgi-bin/tvd.exe?

The Wolfbane site gives a compass bearing and distance to the
transmitter. You can quickly check in which direction your aerial is pointing

If you click on the link in the Wolfbane results table (table heading OS
grid ref) you will get a diagram of the terrain between you and the
transmitter.

You need a Postscript viewer to see the picture. A small utility can be
downloaded from
http://www.rops.org/

The older version 5.3 is 350kbytes and is free - see link in the opening
page. This older version is OK for viewing the Wolfbane picture.

If the file from Wolfbane downloads as txpath.exe just rename it to
txpath.ps before opening it in RoPS.
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
tichtich
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1389
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Eastbourne, UK

Re: Freesat Alternative

Post by tichtich »

rbeilby wrote:My question is: is there a Freesat equivalent of the Toppy TF-5800 and TF-5810 DVRs? I record quite a lot of programmes and burn them to DVD, so I will want to continue to do this.
The Freesat PVR that seems to be the most recommended is the Humax HDR-1000S. I bought the older model, the Foxsat HDR, about 3 years ago, when I moved to an area that didn't have Freeview. It got the job done, but I found the user interface a bit irritating, and inferior to a well-tapped Toppy. I was quite glad to go back to my Toppy when we finally got Freeview. (Here in Eastbourne we didn't get Freeview until the time of the final analogue switch-off.)

I've just passed the Foxsat on to my mother, who has occasional Freeview reception problems, and she seems to like it. But then she hasn't been spoiled by a Toppy. The nearest thing she's had to a PVR is a DVD recorder with hard disk, which has an awful user interface, and doesn't even record program descriptions. The Foxsat is definitely an improvement on that (apart from not recording to DVD!).
Richard Wein
Firmware: 5.13.65 (patched). Auto Start TAPs: TapCommander 1.0.2, Power Down 0.6, DescriptionExtender 2.2, mei2archive 3.8I3, Automove 1.8, QuickJump 1.54, Improbox 2.1RC8, Jag's EPG 3.0b3 (TV & radio), Media Manager 1.5, MHEG Control A2g, Extend 1.7. PC apps: DGtoTop 1.1. Profile last updated 13/05/2009
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

rbeilby wrote: ryclark: I took a look at the link. Looks promising, although that product seems no longer available.
There is now a Miraclebox Ultra but if you go to the World of Satellite site you will find many more boxes with similar functionality that can run the same images (software). There is also more than one software image you can run.

I went for the Miraclebox Twin and found it unsuitable for my needs for terrestrial TV and converted it to twin tuner satellite use where it works well. If I was buying again I would go for a box that supports 4 tuners (3 satellite and 1 UK terrestrial tuner). Many the boxes come with tuner slots where the tuner type is an option.

Usual warning - these boxes are not for those who don't expect to play with the hundreds of menu options or get them working with a network/computer.
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
rbeilby
Regular contributor
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:23 am
Location: South Bedfordshire
Contact:

Post by rbeilby »

I have bought the MiracleBox Premium Ultra with 2xDVB-S2 and 1xDVB-T/T2/C tuners and a 1 Tb disc from World of Satellite. See the post http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtop ... 295#265295 for more details.
--

Regards,

Richard Beilby.
rbeilby
Regular contributor
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:23 am
Location: South Bedfordshire
Contact:

Post by rbeilby »

billmars wrote:I suspect you may have a case for the turbine company to supply you with an alternative method of receiving TV. I know of one case where a tall building was built, effectively cutting out terrestrial TV reception to those on 'the wrong side', and alternative TV reception facilities were supplied.
It may be worth investigating!
Bill,

I am still having problems getting compensation from the company that installed the turbine. Do you have any details on the high building case you quoted please?
--

Regards,

Richard Beilby.
billmars
Frequent contributor
Posts: 761
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 2:01 pm

Post by billmars »

I've sent a PM to you with details.
BM
Firmware
5800 Samsung 1Tb Autostart TAPs: Extend 1.7;TSRCommander 1.5;TF5000 Display 1.53;EPG2MEI 0.95;MyStuff 6.6;QuickJump 1.72;Power Down 0.75;SecCache 0.4;TSSaver 0.4;MHEG Control B2;eit_sub_sng 0.6 Transmitter: Belmont Extras: as2mei (via NSLU2)
rbeilby
Regular contributor
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:23 am
Location: South Bedfordshire
Contact:

Post by rbeilby »

Thanks, Bill.
--

Regards,

Richard Beilby.
Post Reply