If you have a satellite or cable specific question, please post it in this area

Moderator: Technical

rjavery
Regular contributor
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: St Albans

Re: Upgrading from a toppy 5800 to freeview HD, recomendatio

Post by rjavery »

rjavery wrote:
Rich_Enduro wrote:just wondering what those of you have done who have opted for a freeview HD box? the Humax seems like the top choice but is it? finding the toppy was a complete fluke and i purchased on the strength of online recommendations, so is there any other secrets i should know about? i loved the fact the toppy could install taps but is there anything as flexible available in the UK with HD?
I have just seen this Echostar HDT-610R is coming to the market. Aren't too sure of the details except it is skinny, only a 500GB drive but it does have ethernet for the new Freeview Broadband stuff coming along the line.

Might be worth finding out about.

Rich
Just emailed them to find out if there is any way to access recordings via network or USB. Also asked if they are part of YouView and might add features in the future. They are the manufacturers of the SlingBox so I am hopeful they might have some wizardry up their sleeves.

There is a chance to win one at their website so I have taken a punt onthat. £260 is a bit steep to just take alook at the box but winning one wouldbe a different issue. :lol:
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; toppypal v3.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/4/12
?
paddyb
Frequent contributor
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:30 am

Post by paddyb »

Is the Humax HDR-Fox T2 still the prefered HD choice for Toppy users? There are several threads from Toppy users on its forum:

http://hummy.tv/forum/forums/hdr-fox-t2 ... corder.13/

This machine is over two years old now, so I'm just checking there nothing else that i've missed?

Having experiencing my parents Panasonic HW100, which it doesn't appear have the option to copy programmes onto other media and other little annoyances like not being able to watch or hear a programme whilst browing the EPG or archive, it reminds me how good the Toppy is.
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

There's a much longer discussion of the available options in the Modern, HD equivalent to the TF5800? thread.

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
paddyb
Frequent contributor
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:30 am

Post by paddyb »

juwlz wrote:There's a much longer discussion of the available options in the Modern, HD equivalent to the TF5800? thread.

Julie
Thanks Julie, thought i'd seen more discussion on thgis subject somewhere. Does sound like the Hummy or an HTPC is the way to go. Whatever i do, i'm not getting rid of my Toppy just yet and will still keep it running with mystuff to pick up whatever HD solution i eventually plump for misses!
cawright1
Frequent contributor
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:24 pm

Post by cawright1 »

So, where are we now then? Both my Toppy's are stuttering and I think it's time I looked at getting something else in place. What's the current fav?
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
?
juwlz
MyStuff Team
Posts: 10804
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Contact:

Post by juwlz »

cawright1 wrote:So, where are we now then? Both my Toppy's are stuttering and I think it's time I looked at getting something else in place. What's the current fav?
A lot of people have gone for the Miraclebox or its variants. Do a Google search for
miraclebox site:toppy.org.uk

Julie
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
cawright1
Frequent contributor
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:24 pm

Post by cawright1 »

juwlz wrote:
cawright1 wrote:So, where are we now then? Both my Toppy's are stuttering and I think it's time I looked at getting something else in place. What's the current fav?
A lot of people have gone for the Miraclebox or its variants. Do a Google search for
miraclebox site:toppy.org.uk

Julie
oh wow, feel like my head will explode with all that info/specs etc. Essentially, I just want a replacement for the trusty toppy, with a bigger disk.
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
?
paddyb
Frequent contributor
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:30 am

Post by paddyb »

I've been using a Humax HDR Fox T2 with the customized firmware for about three years now. It works well most of the time, but the timer software isn't as intuitive as Mystuff especially when it comes to recording alternate broadcasts of something when there is a clash. You need to keep a bit more of an eye on things than with a Toppy, but the ability to set timers remotely and the networking features are very useful, plus its HD.

Is it still possible to get the caps changed on Toppys? I've got four of them of different flavours, which I used as backups in-case the Humax misses something, but they're all on the blink now and the Humax has recently started playing up.

Miracle Box sounds like it might be a good replacement for both, I'll read up on that when I've got more time, but skimming through, it sounds like this is best to use for satellite rather than freeview?
andyfras
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3486
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Contact:

Post by andyfras »

paddyb wrote:Is it still possible to get the caps changed on Toppys?
See my sig below.
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
cawright1
Frequent contributor
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:24 pm

Post by cawright1 »

paddyb wrote:I've been using a Humax HDR Fox T2 with the customized firmware for about three years now.
Paddy, found a few of these at decent prices on ebay, but then when checking the reviews on amazon, chanfed my mind. Some shocking tales of failure there, both in the remote, and generally issues of lost recordings etc. Never had any such issues with my Toppy so as you can imagine, it put me right off!
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
?
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

paddyb wrote: Miracle Box sounds like it might be a good replacement for both, I'll read up on that when I've got more time, but skimming through, it sounds like this is best to use for satellite rather than freeview?
I'd say it's a lot easier to use with Freeview.
People seem to struggle setting up satellite/cable, although it's probably easy if you know what you're doing.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
alan_m
Frequent contributor
Posts: 3551
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 12:11 am

Post by alan_m »

ccs wrote:
paddyb wrote: Miracle Box sounds like it might be a good replacement for both, I'll read up on that when I've got more time, but skimming through, it sounds like this is best to use for satellite rather than freeview?
I'd say it's a lot easier to use with Freeview.
People seem to struggle setting up satellite/cable, although it's probably easy if you know what you're doing.
In the UK just connect the cable from your Sky/Freesat dish
Go to ABM and select Freesat and the region
Scan

No more difficult than setting up Freeview on the same box. In fact there is an incomplete data base for all the Freeview transmitter hence the often requested plea to UK Freeview users to submit a few files from their boxes

You have to remember when reading the Vix forums not everyone is in the UK and they will be getting TV from their own satellite service. Some people will be paying for content and will have card to configure. Some people will be trying to get satellite services from more than one satellite using multiple LNBs attached to the same dish. Some people will have motorised dishes. Some people will be attempting to pirate pay TV services (but will not get any help on the VIX forums)

UK cable problems seem to be insufficient signal because it has been (passively) split too much (easy to rectify) and because its a pay TV service putting in the correct subscription details.
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners. Second box Zgemma H9S (Enigma 2, satellite)
munk
Regular contributor
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 3:45 pm

Post by munk »

Will the 5810 be immune to the changes to broadcasting in 2017 (the death of Freeview SD?) that will render the 5800 obsolete?

I've been thinking about trying to get hold of a 5810 for a while now and am in two minds about it.

On the one hand I love my 5800 and really don't want to swap to anything else because nothing else does the same job in the same way quite as well from what I've read. AS it stands the 5800 just does the job and does it very very well and I have no overwhelming desire for it to do anything more than it does right now, and if the 5810 can do a similar job then that's for the good. But on the other hand though it would be nice to have more up to date functionality in an STB (specifically IP network connectivity, but also extra computing power and scalability for things like IPTV / streaming etc) - although that said, extra CPU cycles doesn't mean a lot if the functionality employing that CPU grunt doesn't pass muster.

So is the 5810 an option post 2017 (if that is the date that Freeview SD "dies")?

Of course the other thing is actually finding a 5810 for sale...
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs:PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; TSSaver v0.5; UK Subtitle 1.9;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 10/06/21
ccs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2689
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:19 pm

Post by ccs »

Is freeview SD really dying in 2017? I doubt it.

But if it does, a 5810 will be as dead as a 5800.
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
mstombs
Frequent contributor
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:58 pm

Post by mstombs »

Only benefit of 5810 is hdmi out? Firmware leaves less ram for taps, so you need to be more brutal with channel pruning.
Post Reply