If you have a satellite or cable specific question, please post it in this area

Moderator: Technical

Rich_Enduro
Frequent contributor
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Upgrading from a toppy 5800 to freeview HD, recomendations?

Post by Rich_Enduro »

just wondering what those of you have done who have opted for a freeview HD box? the Humax seems like the top choice but is it? finding the toppy was a complete fluke and i purchased on the strength of online recommendations, so is there any other secrets i should know about? i loved the fact the toppy could install taps but is there anything as flexible available in the UK with HD?
ryclark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: Shropshire

Post by ryclark »

Although not nearly as configurable as the Toppy the Humax HDR-Fox T2 does now have quite a lot of hacking available. See their forums.

http://hummy.tv/forum/forums/hdr-fox-t2.13/
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
Wallace
Frequent contributor
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:18 am

Post by Wallace »

Yep, I can whole heartedly recommend the Humax HDR-FOX-T2.

I am running custom firmware, which further enhances an excellent PVR.

IMHO, picture quality is excellent as are the menus.

The orange display got on my nerves so when I changed the 500GB HDD to a 1TB one I removed the orange plastic strip that was in front of the GREEN VFD display.

As the previous post says, take a look over at Hummy.tv
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Xl+UUuVdZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 19/7/13
?
DX
Frequent contributor
Posts: 2697
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 4:09 pm

Re: Upgrading from a toppy 5800 to freeview HD, recomendatio

Post by DX »

Rich_Enduro wrote:is there anything as flexible available in the UK with HD?
If it is flexibility you want then a HTPC offers that. There are addons for Windows 7 Media Center, or if you prefer there are open source alternatives running on linux.

If you want to stick with a conventional pvr then the Humax is probably the default choice. A cheaper alternative is the Digital Stream, although this is less flexible.

If you can wait a little while new YouView machines should be along next year. Even if you decide not to go for one of the new YouView pvrs you might be able to pick up a bargain as the current generation of Freeview HD pvrs get replaced.
Rich_Enduro
Frequent contributor
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Rich_Enduro »

HTPC, is that what they did on the gadget show a couple of weeks ago? i don't mind a little tinkering but not building my own pvr!! shame the whole meego project has gone tits up! i was really looking forward to something being on the market by now. having a program guide and recording list on a tablet, seamlessly communicating with the pvr under the telly would of been fantastic. unfortunately, waiting for linux to reach that goal isn't going to happen before i need to upgrade.
i'd forgotten about the youview project. it would be great if this got into stores in time for xmas. i'm in no hurry, just my old toppy would of made an extra xmas present (they'll never realise its second hand!!) !
CraigB
Regular contributor
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 4:38 pm

Any views on Icecrypt?

Post by CraigB »

I am also contemplating an HD upgrade and came across a reference to Icecrypts STC6000 (and just spotted their T2400) which is running Linux and has the concept of plugins.

However...as I'm not desperate to retire my toppy just yet, the replacement would need to have some clear benefits while at least keeping pace with the features I actually use on the toppy.

- via MyStuff I'm getting series when they match my search criteria
- I've squeezed 2Tb into my toppy
- I get 2wks of EPG via rt2mei/Radio Times
- I was able to configure the onscreen guide to give me a look and feel and enough channels/timespan to keep me happy (I cant stand the Sky guide that I see friends using in comparison)
- I can (though do so infrequently) schedule recordings remotely via toppyweb

HD would be lovely - as would built in network/wifi support, faster data transfer when I need it (not common)...though I understand that the Icecrypt rec files may be encrypted as std.

I have an existing HTPC sitting beside the toppy, running W7, but it only gets used for viewing web content/iplayer/4OD etc and the cost of two DVB-T2 cards for it doesnt seem worth it...

Any views on Icecrypt as an option ?
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +CpCwDeFmOtReSlTdXl
TAPs: MyStuff 6.2; TF5000 Display v1.43; eit2mei BETA 7.8m8; UK Subtitle 1.82; EPG Uploader 3.15rls2; TAP Commander 1.32; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B4.1a; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 4/7/10
CraigB
Regular contributor
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 4:38 pm

Post by CraigB »

I'm going to answer my own question....having actually read the hummy.tv site now :oops: I'm going to order a Humax!

A helpful toppy-like community actively developing and supporting each other, clear instructions on upgrading to a 2Tb drive, and a web scheduling interface already available/developed.

(and there is at least discussion in their forums on a 14day EPG feed, so there is hope of that for the future!)

Craig
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +CpCwDeFmOtReSlTdXl
TAPs: MyStuff 6.2; TF5000 Display v1.43; eit2mei BETA 7.8m8; UK Subtitle 1.82; EPG Uploader 3.15rls2; TAP Commander 1.32; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MyInfo B4.1a; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 4/7/10
Rich_Enduro
Frequent contributor
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Rich_Enduro »

I think i'm going to try and hang on until next year and see what the youview box brings. I like the fact the platform is open so there's a remote possibility great apps such as mystuff might appear ;)
ezhik
Regular contributor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:43 am

Post by ezhik »

CraigB wrote:I'm going to answer my own question....having actually read the hummy.tv site now :oops: I'm going to order a Humax!

A helpful toppy-like community actively developing and supporting each other, clear instructions on upgrading to a 2Tb drive, and a web scheduling interface already available/developed.

(and there is at least discussion in their forums on a 14day EPG feed, so there is hope of that for the future!)

Craig
Same here, the HDR T2 does everything I'd want from a HiDef PVR, and mixes well with XBMC which we already have installed on the HTPC and laptops and PCs around the house.

One Toppy and Unslung SLUG will soon be up for sale.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; TAP Commander 1.34; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.3; MHEG On/Off A3;
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +EvEzPeUUu
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; TAP Commander 1.34; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.3; MHEG On/Off A3; (FastScanGUI v0.6b);
rjavery
Regular contributor
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: St Albans

Re: Upgrading from a toppy 5800 to freeview HD, recomendatio

Post by rjavery »

Rich_Enduro wrote:just wondering what those of you have done who have opted for a freeview HD box? the Humax seems like the top choice but is it? finding the toppy was a complete fluke and i purchased on the strength of online recommendations, so is there any other secrets i should know about? i loved the fact the toppy could install taps but is there anything as flexible available in the UK with HD?
I have just seen this Echostar HDT-610R is coming to the market. Aren't too sure of the details except it is skinny, only a 500GB drive but it does have ethernet for the new Freeview Broadband stuff coming along the line.

Might be worth finding out about.

Rich
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; toppypal v3.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/4/12
?
birdman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1765
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:03 pm
Location: Hitchin, HERTS Tx: Sandy Heath

Re: Upgrading from a toppy 5800 to freeview HD, recomendatio

Post by birdman »

rjavery wrote:I have just seen this Echostar HDT-610R is coming to the market. Aren't too sure of the details except it is skinny, only a 500GB drive but it does have ethernet for the new Freeview Broadband stuff coming along the line.
A network connexion is a requirement to be able to use the Freeview HD logo, IIRC.

Toppy: TF5800PVR/250 - Black, now 1TB WD10EURX
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmVrXp+BmC0CbFsIPsUUuWfZXl,
Loader: C5.14, Hardware: 1.01
TAPs: SecCache (UK) v0.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FontManager 1.0d; QuickJump 1.71; MhegOnOff(Now1) A3; EIT Sub v0.6; MyStuff 6.6
USB connected: SheevaPlug with Debian wheezy
Sig mostly from MyInfo on 26/10/09
underquark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1793
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:52 pm

Post by underquark »

The Echostar box (technically a box, I suppose, even though it's only 14mm thick) is listed on Amazon as being out end this month.

I note it has an external power supply, as do a few things these days. Scope for someone to manufacture a single power supply for several devices?
A 5800 and a 5810 still in use with various dead ones and bits lying around, one Toppy with UPS and dedicated aerial; MyStuff 6.6; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2 MEI; Various remotes - URC1056B01 (my fav.), URC11-7140 R02 (to learn new codes) programmed using tools from the excellent JP1 site.
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Post by Bizman »

underquark wrote: Scope for someone to manufacture a single power supply for several devices?
There was a move to get this to happen so that the PSUs could be re-cycled. Doubt if manufacturers will take any notice though.
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
ryclark
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1604
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: Shropshire

Post by ryclark »

Provided, of course, that they all run off the same voltage. There is nothing stopping anyone buying a thirdparty higher current PSU and then using a DC cable splitter that can easily be bought online. I often do this for CCTV systems.
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
?
rjavery
Regular contributor
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: St Albans

Re: Upgrading from a toppy 5800 to freeview HD, recomendatio

Post by rjavery »

[Snip]
Edited to remove duplicate post - sorry.
Last edited by rjavery on Tue May 22, 2012 9:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; toppypal v3.4;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/4/12
?
Post Reply