Read about the latest site updates, feedback and support

Moderator: General

Post Reply
Bizman
Frequent contributor
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:46 pm

Festive outage

Post by Bizman »

Don't know hat the forum did at Christmas, but it doesn't appear to have been very well since. Hope it's better for the New Year ! :D
TF5810, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; Extend v1.7; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 3/8/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
gomezz
Frequent contributor
Posts: 4000
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Buckingham
Contact:

Post by gomezz »

Santa forgot to deliver some new knicker elastic? :D
TF5800, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CbCfCtDEgEmEvEzIMPePsVdZ
TAPs: Power Down 0.75; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; TAP Commander 1.34; MyInfo B5.4; EPG2MEI v0.96;
Extend v1.7; EIT Sub v0.6; mei2archive BETA 3.8l6; Font Manager 1.0d; (Power Restore V0.7.3b)
nwhitfield
Site Admin
Posts: 9589
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 10:11 pm
Contact:

Post by nwhitfield »

I've been trying to work out what it is that keeps causing sporadic massive loading on the server, but it's very intermittent, so hard to pin down.

It can go for days at a time, and then suddenly something hammers the CPU and eats up all the memory. Unless I'm looking at the system load when it hits somewhere around the 20 mark (normal load is often well below 1.00), it can be too far gone to allow me access to the command line to do anything other than restart, at which point, of course, it's no longer possible to see where the problem traffic is coming from and what it's doing.

One day earlier this week, the load average was over 230. I've blocked various robots on sites, updated other bits of software, and put in bandwidth limitations too. I hope that will have fixed it, but I can't be 100% sure of course.
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
Post Reply