Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  USB Accelerator

Page 12 of 14
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13, 14  Next
aTOPPYuser
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 20 Sep 2008 Posts: 191
The UsbAcceleratorV1_0 tap works great, i am using a 5m passive usb cable

NO TAP USED
505.500 kb file 10.13 turbo off 0.83 mb/s
505.500 kb file 4.13 turbo on 2.00 mb/s

TAP USED
505.500 kb file 6.48 turbo off 1.13 mb/s
505.500 kb file 2.23 turbo on 3.53 mb's

Many thanks
aTOPPYuser

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +Bm
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; MyInfo B5.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
View user's profile Send private message
pol098
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:34 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 05 Jul 2009 Posts: 36
Is the TAP version of the USB_upload patch available anywhere? When I tried to download from a link in a previous page
http://www.r2-d2.sitesled.com/Toppy/usb_upload.zip
I got redirected twice, ending up at the totally irrelevant www.zwinky.com.

Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
jumbo
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:39 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
Should be in http://www.toppy.org.uk/~r2-d2/PatchPackV2.zip
View user's profile Send private message
pol098
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:04 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 05 Jul 2009 Posts: 36
[quote="jumbo"]Should be in http://www.toppy.org.uk/~r2-d2/PatchPackV2.zip[/quote]

Indeed so, many thanks. For the record, as the links in earlier sections aren't working (now, at least):
Both the patches (.tfp) and the TAPs (.tap) for [U]UsbAccelerator and [Uu]usb_upload, together with a great many others, are in the http://www.toppy.org.uk/~r2-d2/PatchPackV2.zip collection.
View user's profile Send private message
jumbo
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
The poor guy has had his paws in so many pies that he can't possibly keep track of all his past links Rolling Eyes If you want the latest for all things Toppy then try http://www.tapworld.net/ first!
View user's profile Send private message
jof
Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:13 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 03 Mar 2009 Posts: 26
DeadBeef wrote:
I heard about other users having problems with random access to Toppy files. It looks like a problem with the version of the DLL file I patched (1.0.0.6). It does not seem to properly support random access to Toppy files. So I also patched the version 1.0.0.5 of TfDll.dll. Would please try this one?


Hi, that link to TfDll v1.0.0.5 patched doesn't work anymore.
Can anyone provide a new link please?

My Altair (the latest I can find) comes with v1.0.0.5. Where did the v1.0.0.6 come from originally?
View user's profile Send private message
RedandBlueArmy
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 7:58 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2008 Posts: 276 Location: Crystal Palace
Little confused after reading through all this thread.
Could someone please confirm/advise on the following to see if I have fully understood this. I wish to send and recieve data between PC and 5810 faster.

1. Am I correct in thinking there are two ways to do this. Either A) installing the two patches or as an alternative B) installing the two TAPS?

2. Assuming I install the two patches, using FWLoad is there anything else I have to install/change ............ I think I read somewhere about changing the .dll file ....if so where do I put that?

3. Assuming I do not install the patches and install the two taps is there anything else I have to install/change ............ likewise I think I read somewhere about changing the .dll file ....if so where do I put that?
As I will be transferring files from my 5800 to my PC WITHOUT first putting my TV on do these Taps go in the AutoStart

4 Roughly can anyone confirm what sort of transfer speeds I can expect (in simple english please Laughing ) e.g Turbo 5810 - PC 2GB in approx 12 mins

I hope the above makes sense and apart from helping e out I am sure in the future it will make it clearer for others

TIA

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PpUUu
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 9:58 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3489
RedandBlueArmy wrote:
Am I correct in thinking there are two ways to do this. Either A) installing the two patches

Correct
Quote:
Assuming I install the two patches, using FWLoad is there anything else I have to install/change ............ I think I read somewhere about changing the .dll file ....if so where do I put that?


Assuming Windows 32 bit, and assuming Altair has been already installed and working, it replaces a .dll of the same name on your PC, possibly somewhere like c:\windows or c:\windows\system32

The replacement DLL can be found in R2D2's patch pack (carefully hidden in one of the folders) from the links given in previous posts.

After unzipping look in
Performance/TAPS/usb_accelerator/ ----- TfDll.dll

Quote:
Assuming I do not install the patches and install the two taps is there anything else I have to install/change ............ likewise I think I read somewhere about changing the .dll file


Same answer as for the patches - the dll replaces one of the same name on your computer.
Quote:
As I will be transferring files from my 5800 to my PC WITHOUT first putting my TV on do these Taps go in the AutoStart

Yes
Quote:
4 Roughly can anyone confirm what sort of transfer speeds I can expect (in simple english please Laughing ) e.g Turbo 5810 - PC 2GB in approx 12 mins

Taking 12 minutes as your reference time, the download with the USB patches may be of the order 8 minutes.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
RedandBlueArmy
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 10:30 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2008 Posts: 276 Location: Crystal Palace
Many Many Thanks ..............

Off to play now.

Thanks for your time

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PpUUu
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
RedandBlueArmy
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:11 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2008 Posts: 276 Location: Crystal Palace
Could not find the file tfdll.dll on my Windows 7 (32 bit) Looked in where you suggested.

Any case I have copied and pasted it now from R2D2's patch pack into windows\system32

I have also put the two Taps into AutoStart and rebooted PVR

When using Altair to transfer from PC to PVR 5810 just quickly looking it would appear about a 40% improvement; however my problem seems to be when trying to transfer using Altair, from PVR to PC it just locks up (hangs on 1%), I cannot even copy MyInfoLog.txt across.

To overcome this I have to reboot PVR and then restart Altair

I guess the problem might be this tfdll.dll file

EDIT:

Found the tfdll.dll in ProgramFiles>Topfield
renamed it to tfdll.dll.old
and now moved it (tfdll.dll) from System32 to ProgramFiles>Topfield


Have just very quickly tested it and Altair now works ..................will test speed later.

Once again thank you


Last edited by RedandBlueArmy on Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:15 am; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PpUUu
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:12 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3489
Just remember that after replacing the DLL (copy/paste) you will/may have to re-boot your computer for it to be picked up.

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Extrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:15 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4377
If you use my TopManager program, you can use the Tools\Display Exes and DLLs option. This will highlight any DLLs on your pc that do not support the accelerator patches/taps. Position to the offending dll, right click and select the replace dll option,

You can do this without using the patches or taps. I would recommend the patches as they do not consume tap slots.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:17 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4377
Don't forget that when turbo is enabled, you can't use the remote and it prevents recordings from starting - there may also be other gotchas!

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RedandBlueArmy
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:18 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2008 Posts: 276 Location: Crystal Palace
To Geoff and Alan

Please see my Edit above.

Thanks for your advice, if the speeds improve greatly I will remove the taps and install the patches

thanks for your time.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PpUUu
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:19 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4377
Just noticed that you copied the dll into Windows\System32.
This was not necessary, you only need it in the folder containing Altair.
Suggest you remove from Windows\System32

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 12 of 14
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13, 14  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum