Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page

<  TAP and patch development  ~  Idiot's Guide to writing TAPs??

Page 1 of 1
tellyaddict
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 4:40 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 61 Location: Glossop, Derbyshire
Hello, everyone.

Please be nice to me - I debated long and hard on whether or not I should wear my crash helmet before posting this!

I'm not a programmer; I've only toyed around a (very) little bit with Visual Basic 6, and I've managed to compile a (very) few Linux Programs from source. That's all.

But, I'm keen to learn, and it occurs to me that trying to author a simple TAP or two might teach me something about the mysteries of programming, and would, no doubt, bring a certain sense of pride as well.

I believe that one way to learn about almost any computer-related subject is simply to jump in with both feet and experiment. So, I've downloaded Cygwin, gcc_for_tap.zip, and Tap API_ver_1.21. I now have a nice new directory named C:\cygwin complete with all its bits and bobs.

Stumbling already!

Not exactly sure where to unzip gcc_for_tap. The zip file contains the directory tree "gcc_for_tap\local, followed by four sub-directories:bin, include, lib, and mips. Where exactly in the C:\Cygwin directory tree should these go?

The next challenge is that one has to "set the path and parameter for compiler" by placing entries in Autoexec.bat. Fine, but I'm using WinXP - NO autoexec.bat!

After that - er, well - what?

If some generous soul would feel kindly enough to offer a little basic guidance, I guarantee to produce the TAP of everyone's dreams within one or two days/weeks/months/years/millenia (delete as appropriate!).

TIA

Ron, a.k.a. tellyaddict.
Darkmatter
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 5:23 pm Reply with quote
Forum moderator Joined: 21 Mar 2005 Posts: 1237
Take a look at this thread. By all means add a post to that thread if it doesn?t explain well any particular step.