Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page

<  Firmwares, enhancements and upgrades  ~  Upgrade using USB 1 failed

Page 1 of 1
woodp
Posted: Sat May 14, 2005 11:25 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 14 May 2005 Posts: 71
I am a Mac user, but I do have an old IBM Thinkpad PC with a USB 1 port. I tried to upgrade but the download does not start. It just continues to display "Wait Download". This has not caused any errors on the Toppy.

Has anyone managed to successfully upgrade with a USB 1 port?

Additional comment - I never touch the Thinkpad normally, and I have never used the USB port before, so the first time I tried to do the upgrade Windows installed its USB drivers.

One of the documents I have states "If you should encounter conflicts with your operating system and the USB port, we strongly recommend to download the Windows USB patch, which can be downloaded on Microsoft?s website (http://www.microsoft.com)".

There are hundreds of USB patches, which one does the document mean? Any help gratefully accepted.

[Chesterfield relay of Emily Moor; TF5800PVR; Firmware 5.12.25; Archive 0.07a; DescriptionExtender 1.3; EPGnavigator 2.0a; EPG Uploader 3.5; QuickJump 1.42; RemoteExtenderMHEG 1.0; TAPCommander 1.0 beta 5; UkOzSurfer 0.11d; ToppyEPG 2.0 Beta 5]
nwhitfield
Posted: Sat May 14, 2005 11:29 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9579
What version of Windows are you running on the Thinkpad?

Did you manage to establish a connection using Altair beforehand? Unless you can even do that, you're not likely to get far with the firmware upgrade.

Nigel.

Posted: Sat May 14, 2005 11:42 am Reply with quote
Thanks for your rapid response.

I am running Windows 98 - as I say, its an old machine, perhaps 7 years old - I don't think USB 2 was invented then.

I have just tried Altair - I get nothing in the left hand side of the window, so it looks like it is my USB interface.