Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Newbie connections

Page 1 of 1
robbogee
Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 11:00 am Reply with quote
Joined: 23 Apr 2005 Posts: 18
Sad I know this is basic stuff to most of you, BUT I am having trouble connecting my 5800 so that I can also watch analogue programmes on my TV. (Welsh BBC1 and BBC2 often have different programmes on digital and analogue)
I also want to archive the occasional recorded TV programme and VCR tape to DVD. The equipment I wish to connect to is:-

TV - Loewe Aventos with 3 scarts
DVD recorder - Panasonic DMR E85 - 2 scarts
VCR - Panasonic NV-HD675 - 2 scarts

Please can someone help me?
View user's profile Send private message
glesgaguy
Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 1:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Mar 2005 Posts: 178
There are probably several ways to connect your equipment, it depends whether your scarts on the vcr/ dvd recorder can receive both input/output, but generally daisy chaining should work, IE. one piece of equiment to the next piece

TV scart on Toppy to Scart 1 onTV
VCR scart on Toppy to Aux scart on DVD recorder
TV scart on DVD recorder to Aux scart on VCR
TV scart on VCR to Scart 2 on TV.

Your analoge Welsh programs should be able to be viewed through the RF channel or I would imagine they are broadcast on your digital channels via the Toppy
View user's profile Send private message
Darkmatter
Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 2:13 pm Reply with quote
Forum moderator Joined: 21 Mar 2005 Posts: 1237
Yep, as glesgaguy says re: the SCART connections.

As for the UHF ? either use a 4-way splitter, or a 4 way splitter/amp, in either case make sure it?s high quality, low noise and digital compatible.
View user's profile Send private message
robbogee
Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 3:28 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 23 Apr 2005 Posts: 18
Thanks for that, guys. I have overcome my inability to receive analogue by plugging the RF cable from TV into RF2 OUT on the Toppy. I also had a dodgy scart connection which was confusing the issue.
View user's profile Send private message
glesgaguy
Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 3:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Mar 2005 Posts: 178
Just a tip for anyone else reading this post and is not familiar with scart connections, always use fully wired scarts (they are usually thicker) good scart cables can make a difference to picture quality, you can get interferance in the siganal from other equipment if the scart cable is not well shielded.
View user's profile Send private message
Beancounter
Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Apr 2005 Posts: 163
I am getting my Toppy delivered tomorrow, just thought i would ask so I can hit the ground running -

I currently have Sky + , a Panasonic Home Cinema player and a Fusion FVRT100 all connected to a Philips video sender so I can use that as a switching box between outputs.

Am a correct in saying that as I am replacing the Fusion with the Toppy (at least until my Sky 12 month sub is up next month) that if I just swap over the connections from the Fusion to the Toppy then I will be ready to roll?

NB: I will eventually replace Sky + with the Fusion again.
View user's profile Send private message
glesgaguy
Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 8:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Mar 2005 Posts: 178
A quick answer would be yes, but others may have a different opinion, just remember to press the TV/SAT(terrestrial) to view the pass through from other equipment
View user's profile Send private message
Beancounter
Posted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 02 Apr 2005 Posts: 163
It has worked ok actually although 1 of the muxes is more or less unwatchable. As I am moving house in 4 weeks I will be getting a new aeriel fitted so will worry about that then. Currently 30 miles from tx site, new house is only 16 so hopefully won't need a booster although if I am keeping the Fusion too maybe a booster will be adviseable?
View user's profile Send private message
twin_decks
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 1:53 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 06 May 2005 Posts: 27 Location: Winchester, UK
Hi,

My TV has only 1 SCART input and I wish to connect a DVD-Player and the TP5800. Can you connect a DVD player to the VCR input of the Toppy, such that it plays through the Toppy to the TV ?

Thanks
View user's profile Send private message
Brava_210
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 2:18 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2005 Posts: 328 Location: Bristol
twin_decks wrote:
Hi,

My TV has only 1 SCART input and I wish to connect a DVD-Player and the TP5800. Can you connect a DVD player to the VCR input of the Toppy, such that it plays through the Toppy to the TV ?

Thanks


yes you can..
View user's profile Send private message
twin_decks
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 4:05 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 06 May 2005 Posts: 27 Location: Winchester, UK
Thanks Brava,

Does this pass through the RGB signal from the DVD Player and then output the RGB

(I think the manual implies this, but I would rather ask and be sure)
View user's profile Send private message
tim
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 4:54 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 30 Mar 2005 Posts: 34
Twin_decks,
The RGB signal seems to be passed through on my setup (DVD --> Toppy --> TV).
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum