Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Won't start and loops continually-firmware update triggered?

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
gracefrench
Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 2:04 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 15 May 2010 Posts: 2
A few days ago i turned on my Toppy and it worked perfectly well. However when I tried to record a film, the screen went blank and a message appeared saying that firmware had been changed and it is recommended I update all my data. This message box would only appear for about half a second and then the screen would go blank for a while before the message appeared again. I could not select OK or No options as the navigation controls had no effect at all. Now when I turn it on this message no longer appears, but the window on the Toppy says 'loading', 'run', and 'c457' in a loop that repeats the whole time it is on. The screen is usually blank but occasionally channel 29 pops up for a few seconds. If I hold down 'menu' or 'list' buttons then channel 29 appears continuously, but the menu or list does not necessarily appear. Sometimes the menu can be accessed by holding the menu button down, however once on the menu it is completely unresponsive to any navigation commands either from the remote or the front panel. The Toppy does not respond to button presses so the channel cannot be changed, however after a while or on closedown the list would appear. The name for channel 29 (and all channels under 'list') is corrupt, showing 'yyyyyyyyyyyyyyy' with umlauts on top. It takes a very long time for the Toppy to power down, sometimes it has to be turned off at the power socket.
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 6:32 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
I'd suggest searching on EmptySettings in the forum. Download it to your PC, and install as if it was firmware, using TFDN_USB. This will reset any weirdness in the memory (which you definitely have, as there hasn't been an OTA firmware update for over a year or more, and the message you're getting is caused by a memory corruption).

After that, do a Factory Reset and a Channel Scan.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RedandBlueArmy
Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 5:06 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Apr 2008 Posts: 276 Location: Crystal Palace
You may wish to read here:-

http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=217182&highlight=#217182

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +PpUUu
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 27/4/12
View user's profile Send private message
gracefrench
Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 6:33 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 15 May 2010 Posts: 2
thank you so much, I followed your advice and it seems to be working now Smile
View user's profile Send private message
colinobj
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 7:13 am Reply with quote
Joined: 15 Jul 2010 Posts: 6
My 5810 is suffering the false "firmware has changed" and associated "boots into main menu and cant get into mystuff " problems - detailed information elsewhere, but I'm happy to repeat it.

It seems to be cured by a factory reset whiich does not erase recordings, and mystuff then re-builds the timers from its searches so there is a workaround but it took a lot of finding.

It seems that many 5810 users have exactly this problem or a more severe variant of it.

BUT, the Bugs Report doesnt have anything on the 5810 and says that a section will be added later.

It would be helpful to newcomers if there was a 5810 Bugs section - even if it said that this one has a workaround and was awaiting evaluation.

Mine is 5810 with Mystuff and recommended firmware.

_________________
Colinobj

TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: SDS V1.3e; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.2; MyInfo B5.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 16/7/10
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:08 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3524
colinobj wrote:

It would be helpful to newcomers if there was a 5810 Bugs section


The site isn't big enough to detail the bugs on a 5810! There are unlikely to be any work-arounds for your toppy because Topfield have walked awya from supporting a year or more ago.


Last edited by alan_m on Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:33 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2644
alan_m wrote:
colinobj wrote:

It would be helpful to newcomers if there was a 5810 Bugs section


The site isn't big enough to detail the bugs on a 5810! There are unlikely to be any work-arounds for you toppy because Topfield have walked awya from supporting a year or more ago.


There is, and thanks to R2-D2 most have been fixed.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:31 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10804 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Most of the (serious) remaining ones are down to memory corruptions - which, of course, by their nature, can cause all sorts of weird and unpredictable problems. These typically occur when running TAPs and running out of memory.

The solution to that for TAPs that collect EPG data (as posted elsewhere) is to delete all the channels you don't want.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jumbo
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:34 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
@ccs: Colin has the latest recommended firmware (already patched wuth R2-D2's fixes) and yet has problems due to other bugs. You should direct him to the area created by Topfield, where he can solve those issues - and that is here.
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2644
jumbo wrote:
@ccs: Colin has the latest recommended firmware (already patched wuth R2-D2's fixes) and yet has problems due to other bugs. You should direct him to the area created by Topfield, where he can solve those issues - and that is here.

That's really useful - shame you didn't find that link before buying your 5810.

Still, if it was cheap enough it must have been good enough.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3524
juwlz wrote:
Most of the (serious) remaining ones are down to memory corruptions - which, of course, by their nature, can cause all sorts of weird and unpredictable problems. These typically occur when running TAPs and running out of memory.

The solution to that for TAPs that collect EPG data (as posted elsewhere) is to delete all the channels you don't want.

Julie


Ref my recent postings on the subject of a friend's 5810, all the recommended measures don't fix the many bugs on this box. Topfield produced a heap of steaming ~*#! which they now fail to support Sad Despite a few people claiming that there isn't a problem with a 5810 too many posts on this forum suggest otherwise. Perhaps they don't use the box in the way many other people expect it to work!

_________________
Ex Toppy 5800 user - now migrated to Xtrend ET10000 Enigma 2 box with 2 terrestrial and 2 satellite tuners
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:54 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2644
alan_m wrote:

Ref my recent postings on the subject of a friend's 5810, all the recommended measures don't fix the many bugs on this box.

Those recent postings only refer to the OTA message issue.

What are these "many bugs"??

Has your friend added the recommended taps yet?

A myInfo log would also be helpful.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Doct0r
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jun 2010 Posts: 353 Location: Birmingham
Surely the 5800 has to be classed as having issues alongside the 5810 or else this forum wouldn't have many people discussing niggles.

Be thankful that Topfield made a PVR which could be adapted by the good people who re-wrote the firmware, did all the patches and made the programs making the Toppy much more usable.

_________________
TF5810, , F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R2UUuVb
TAPs: EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/5/11
?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jumbo
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 4731
alan_m wrote:
Despite a few people claiming that there isn't a problem with a 5810 too many posts on this forum suggest otherwise.
Funny how even they are "taking the Fifth" nowadays Wink
View user's profile Send private message
colinobj
Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:32 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 15 Jul 2010 Posts: 6
I'd just like to thank julie and ccs for their help - it has got me out of trouble and made me a little more confident as a newcomer in dealing with the 5810.

I'm also pleased to see that R2-D2 has a bug list. BUT when I enetred the Toppy site looking for a solution, up in the top left hand corner (where beginners will tend to start), there is a menu headed by "Bugs". When I clicked that link it took me to a page that deals with 5800s and says "We?ll be adding a page of bug information for the new TF5810 as soon as we?ve been able to evaluate it ? this page will remain solely for the TF5800". It would have been so much more useful if this had pointed to R2-D2s excellent list - even if it had to be qualified to say it was temporary.

Ive noticed a few people having a bit of a rant and now and then the odd negative comment. Just to put it all into perspective, I bought a 5800 about 4-5 years ago and sent it back because it didnt record TV programmes reliably. I then bought an Inverto 7000 which was a big improvement in reliability, but poorly supported, and had only 80Gb. The 5810 with or without MyStuff is far superior, and apart from the "False OTA Upgrade" problem has been great.

Thanks once again all those who've helped.

_________________
Colinobj

TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: SDS V1.3e; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.2; MyInfo B5.1;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 16/7/10
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum