Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  Problems

Page 3 of 6
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:55 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
It all depends on the nature of your disk wipe.
I'm guessing that it has wiped ProgramFiles (and probably DataFiles)
The disks should only have had a few recordings on it so you shouldn't have lost much.

Run the GCBMyStuffInstaller from my web pages to reinstall MyStuff.. You may as well choose option 1 as the installer only overwrite files in ProgramFiles that differ from those in the install kit.

Having got MS back on the toppy, I suggest you power it off and connect the aerial lead directly to the TV. Should you need the toppy to watch an old TV, disconnect the disk internally. Put cables back as they should be after the signal has been fixed.

Once the signal is improved, measure the signals and post here.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
albertd
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:03 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 583
Quite possibly lost any existing recordings as well. That happened to mine a few years back (when it was still working!). It was caused by interference problems from a distant transmitter due to a lift.

_________________
Now toppyless due to problems with my beloved TF5800 (No, not the capacitors!). 2/4/2018
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 4:30 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
Today's programme shuffle solely consists of moving "CBS Drama" from LCN 71 to LCN 67. There are other changes but they all relate to HD (which the toppy can't process).

As the change is so minor, I've decided not to update the Freeview.dat this time.

If you really want CBS Drama then please edit the file yourself (use TM| Browse| Edit on settings\Freeview.dat)

Cheers
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
C Nile
Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 9:18 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
Well I'm still no nearer getting a man who can, cos they're all too busy. First guy sent a text on the day he was due, last Thursday saying he was sorry but couldn't make it but would come in 5 days, but did the same again on that day so he got the boot, am still waiting for man No 2.
Meanwhile thought I would plug in the toppy for the first time in a week. No V F & F just straight on, with obviously the native toppy menu and EPG, but in the menu the file list is "greyed out", is this the reason I cant get the Top Manager to load on PC. It just goes thro the 3 tries and then its "toppy not found".
I must have had a black cat cross my path.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 9:29 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
Forgot to mention, apart from trying a re-install of top manager, I also went to Z4t (Zadig for topfield) once more just in case. The list had no contents and the advice to reconnect the toppy seemed to recognize the device because it appeared in the list, but only for app 3-4 seconds and the list empties itself again before I have time to download.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 1:12 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2645
File list greyed out means the disc drive hasn't been detected.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:44 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
Hi everyone
So this afternoon I decided to wipe on old 160GB laptop sata HDD on my PC, and then install it into the toppy. Sure enough when plugged in toppy asked if I wanted to format the hard drive, which I did and now the toppy has a file list at 99.33% free along with a programme files which contains the auto start folder.
But even though I can connect to my wifes laptop using Top Manager I cannot get the pc control tap to load successfully and I just get the following,
Firstly opened and connect to the toppy, which shows on the screen as OK
Try to install Pc Control and informed the 2 files will be created or overwritten, do you wish to proceed, clkd on yes and screen starts to scroll with fetching PcContol.zip, then unzipping PcControl.zip, fetching freeview.dat
then missingfile: PcControl.tap and missing file: PcControl Readme.txt
Installation not completed( no files copied to Toppy[/img]

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
@cnile

No idea why that should fail - the PcControl kit hasn't been changed since 2013. You can install it manually using the following procedure

Note: I'm assuming you have TopManager already installed in the laptop
1) Manually download http://www.GeeCeeBee.co.uk/pccontrol/PcControl.zip
2) Run the zipped file and "Extract All"
3) Run TM and connect to the toppy
4) Connection |Browse
5) Select the extracted folder (not the zip file) and press and hold the left mouse button whilst positioned over PcControl.tap
6) Without releasing the mouse button, hover the mouse over the TopManager icon in the task bar (until focus is given to TM)
7) Still without releasing the mouse button, position the mouse over the Auto Start folder in the left pane (it should highlight)
8 ) Release the mouse button to drop the file in Auto Start

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 6:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
One other thing, and this has been mentioned more than once, but have you actually checked that the capacitors are all within the correct voltage ranges (you might have checked but you haven't told us that).

The reason I ask is that you seem to be experiencing problems seeing the disk as well as having a signal problem i.e. you seem to have multiple issues which could mean that you have a psu problem and/or a signal problem.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
C Nile
Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 6:10 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
Got a list of the relevant voltages on the P/S edge connector from Andy and they are all fine he said

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:47 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
Sorry Geoff
although I have managed to extract the zipped file as recommended the next line on your list does not happen as top manager tries to connect to the toppy and gives a failure after searching the list of library links.
Have tried 3 different printer leads and 3 different USB sockets on my PC

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:19 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
TM not connecting means that it can't see the file system on the disk i.e. a problem with the disk and/or USB connection.

You could try to see if Antares can connect

Might be easiest to ship the toppy to Andyfras for him to check out/fix - at least you would then know that the toppy is working as it should

As suggested before, might be worth asking if anyone has a toppy that they no longer want (use a new post to help it stand out).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
C Nile
Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:47 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
So if andyfras is a visitor to the site please PM me regarding me sending in the toppy.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:53 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
Tried to check using antares and as I plug in the toppy with it running on my desktop, the PC makes a two tone sound which I am assume means the PC has "connected" with the toppy, and when this sound happens the header on antares showing as "programme files"appears to blink, but as it does the PC makes another two tone sound meaning goodbye I reckon, all happening in app 2 seconds. Antares header states "no pvr connected"

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 2:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
You can pm andyfras yourself; google for "andyfras toppy" and select the 2nd result
"Toppy.org.uk ~ Viewing profile"; click on the pm button.

Are you sure the toppy can see the disk? e.g. can you press archive and get and Archive display (even if it may be empty)

Both TM and Antares are doing the same thing i.e. connecting to the toppy via USB, detecting that no disk is available and closing down - the implication is that the toppy can't see the disk.

Geoff
PS: Andy does repair Humax (according to his website - in the first search result)

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 3 of 6
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum