Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  Problems

Page 2 of 6
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:45 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 832
Interesting that you're having signal problems with the lower-numbered channels, just like I am. I've had to stop all Toppy recordings on 33 as it crashes the Toppy regularly - here that's most Channel 5 offerings and things like Quest. You're not on Emley Moor, are you?

I need to get a man in, too...

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 11:31 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
I sure am, my saviour is supposed to be here this PM

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 9:06 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 832
Could it be that the temporary replacement at Emley Moor isn't transmitting the lower numbered channels properly? Seems strange that we both have this issue with the same transmitter.

Where are you based? We're near Tadcaster, near the A1/A64 junction

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 10:51 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
I live 6 miles outside Doncaster eastern side. The aerial man didn't come yesterday even though he said he would, now its Tuesday ( until another text says differently )

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 12:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2645
Bad timing.Smile

Better read this......

https://www.freeview.co.uk/help/22-jun-2020-channel-broadcast-changes

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 1:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 4533
@cnile

Although there is a retune event tomorrow, the wording implies that this is just a programme reshuffle rather than a change of MUX numbers. This means that your existing channels should still be receivable for a few days before you are forced to retune.

Should you decide to retune tomorrow, and this also applies to others, I suggest you wait until later in the day. This will give me time to update Freeview.dat to reflect the changes ( TopManager should tell you when a new version is available; use TM| Tools| Install Files| Freeview.dat option to put it on the toppy)

Having said that, it might be worth retuning tomorrow evening to see what that has done to the signals. It is extremely unlikely that they will have improved but one never knows

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+EvEzPfUUuZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; PruneEPG 1.0; fsSave 1.1; QuickJump 1.72; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Bookmark 3.0; Extend v1.7; Font Manager 1.0d; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 29/12/18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kjhskj75
Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 6:35 pm Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 14 Mar 2006 Posts: 79
ccs wrote:


This mostly affects COM7/8, which the Toppy cannot receive anyway.
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 10:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 583
kjhskj75 wrote:


This mostly affects COM7/8, which the Toppy cannot receive anyway.


Perfectly true. About the only effect that it will have on the Mux which Toppys can receive is the arrival of a few obscure channels from Mux 7 or 8 which, unless you are desperate for them, are not worth a retune.
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:39 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
So it all went pear shaped last night once more. I was watching a new prog on BBC1, which was being recorded also as I had set it to series link earlier in the week and the screen froze with a message stating the disk was full which I know not to be true as it was 96% free when I turned on the unit around 5 PM.
As I could not do anything with the remote I just unplugged it and left it.
This morning I replugged the toppy in, but low and behold NO V F & F, and no toppy epg, just the native one, also no file list as it was greyed out in the menu, but the timers list was still intact and even though I took out the plug and tried again, the same outcome was observed. Is it possible no my Stuff archive due to the disk being now empty not full as stated, and am I back to a retune, even though I can scroll thro the channels which are still available fine

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:26 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 583
Sounds like you have had the classic disk wipe caused by a poor quality signal. The Toppy is well known for it (and there is no known fix to prevent it happening) so it comes as no surprise.

Until you get your signal problems sorted out you run the risk of this happening repeatedly.
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:51 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 832

I only found that yesterday (before reading this) as I record the odd thing off Quest. Trying to view or record this channel on the Toppy causes it to crash, so I use Quest HD on the YouView box. The EPG for that ends soon, telling me to retune with a link to Freeview. So I retuned yesterday and it still showed the same Evil or Very Mad I guess I need to wait till after the event...

I wonder if it might fix any of the other issues with signal strength that crash my Toppy

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10
WD10EZRX and Turbosat adaptor added May '16
Noiseblocker XR1 fan added Mar '18
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:59 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
But if it does a disk wipe on "seeing" a weak signal, why did this happen on CH 47 which from my info last Friday shows to be between 93 and 100

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:04 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
Forgot to enquire, why no V F & F and return to status quo, and file list empty. How do I get back to the toppy doing a reset using V F & F

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message
albertd
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:20 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 583
C Nile wrote:
But if it does a disk wipe on "seeing" a weak signal, why did this happen on CH 47 which from my info last Friday shows to be between 93 and 100


Any signal quality value below 98% has been found to cause a risk of disk wipes.
View user's profile Send private message
C Nile
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:34 am Reply with quote
Regular contributor Joined: 28 May 2009 Posts: 55
But can anyone help me get Mystuff running once more, cant get into native archive to find prog files to restart it

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by EMJB's MyInfo.tap on 27/7/20
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 2 of 6
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum